Handbook of Drug Use Etiology: Theory, Methods, & Empirical Findings
by
Comprehensive guide to the study of elements leading to drug use from a variety of perspectives.
PDR Guide to Drug Interactions, Side Effects, and Indications
by
Cross referenced to the 2007 PDR and designed to be highly accessible for busy healthcare professionals, this edition (formerly the PDR Companion Guide) covers all the bases by ensuring safe drug management. Its an all-in-one resource that contains eight critical checkpoints in a single easy-to-use volume.
Pharmaceutical Calculations
by
Retaining the successful previous editions' programmed instructional format, this book improves and updates an authoritative textbook to keep pace with compounding trends and calculations - addressing real-world calculations pharmacists perform and allowing students to learn at their own pace through examples. Connects well with the current emphasis on self-paced and active learning in pharmacy schools Adds a new chapter dedicated to practical calculations used in contemporary compounding, new appendices, and solutions and answers for all problems Maintains value for teaching pharmacy students the principles while also serving as a reference for review by students in preparation for licensure exams Rearranges chapters and rewrites topics of the previous edition, making its content ideal to be used as the primary textbook in a typical dosage calculations course for any health care professional Reviews of the prior edition: "...a well-structured approach to the topic..." (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy) and "...a perfectly organized manual that serves as a expert guide..." (Electric Review)
Poisoning & Drug Overdose
by
When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Speed is crucial when dealing with toxicologic and drug-related emergencies. Finding answers quickly is easier than ever with this streamlined eighth edition of Poisoning and Drug Overdose. This instant-answer guide provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, the guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is divided into four sections: Section I. Provides a stepwise approach to the evaluation and treatment of coma, seizures, shock, and other complications of poisoning and the proper use of gastric decontamination and dialysis procedures. Section II. Lists specific poisons and drugs, as well as the pathophysiology, toxic dose and level, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and specific treatment associated with each substance. Section III. Covers descriptions of therapeutic drugs and antidotes, including pharmacology indications, adverse effects, drug interactions, and recommended dosage. Section IV. Describes the approach to hazardous materials incidents; the evaluation of occupational exposures; and the toxic effects, physical properties, and workplace limits for over 500 common industrial chemicals. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is enhanced by numerous tables and charts, as well as a user-friendly index. This trusted resource has consistently been relied upon by front line professionals responding to drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures.
Prescription Drugs
by
Part I: Overview of the topic. Introduction to prescription drugs ; The law and prescription drugs ; Chronology ; Biographical listing ; Glossary -- Part II: Guide to further research. How to research prescription drugs ; Annotated bibliography ; Organizations and agencies -- Part III: Appendices. Appendix A. Guidance for industry: consumer-directed broadcast advertisements ; Appendix B. Guidance: drug safety information - FDA's communication to the public ; Appendix C. NIDA infofacts: prescription and over-the-counter medications ; Appendix D. The FDA's drug review process: ensuring drugs are safe and effective ; Appendix E. Inside clinical trials: testing medical products in people ; Appendix F. Strategies to reduce medication errors: working to improve medication safety.
Alternative Medicine
by
The origins of alternative medicine -- The theories underlying alternative medicine -- The business of alternative medicine -- Why consumers seek alternative treatments -- Do alternative therapies work? -- Should alternative medicine be regulated by the government? -- Should managed care provide coverage for alternative therapies? -- Pharmaceuticals versus alternative therapies -- Culture and health : who bears responsibility for health and healthcare? -- The future of health and healthcare -- Annotated primary source documents -- Alternative medicine timelines -- Glossary
Complementary Medicine in Clinical Practice: Integrative Practice in American Healthcare
by
Perspectives on integrative practice -- Who uses complementary medicine? -- Four levels of integrative practice -- Phasing in integrative medicine -- Strategic business planning for your practice -- Preventable causes of disease -- Lifestyle and disease management -- Creating a virtual group integrative practice -- Clinical nutrition -- Research on nutritional therapy for anemia -- Laboratory testing for food allergies -- Testing for nutritional and digestive status -- Nutrition from a functional perspective -- Behavioral nutrition coaching -- Research on clinical nutrition -- Resources in clinical nutrition -- Exercise therapy in medicine -- Exercise is medicine -- Medically supervised exercise -- Physiology of qigong, tai chi, and yoga -- Mind-body medicine -- Group support -- Biofeedback applications -- HeartMath -- Health coaching -- Imagery -- Hypnosis -- Spiritual counseling -- Patient self-care -- Prescribing relaxation techniques -- Recommending meditation -- Breathing exercises -- Referring patients to clinical massage -- An overview of clinical massage -- Definitions of clinical massage and bodywork -- Research on the effectiveness of massage -- Clinical massage resources -- Overview of clinical acupuncture -- Research on acupuncture safety -- Controlled clinical trails in acupuncture -- Six-center study of acupuncture outcomes -- Acupuncture analgesia: basic research -- Referring patients to acupuncture -- Acupuncture training for physicians -- Acupuncture resources -- Overcoming barriers to the integration of chiropractic -- Overview of the chiropractic profession -- Safety of chiropractic spinal mainpulation -- Efficacy of spinal manipulation -- Biomechanical mechanisms of chiropractic -- Research on spinal physiology -- Referring patients to chiropractic care -- Six perspectives on herniated disc treatment -- Chiropractic resources -- Access to botanical therapy -- Overview of botanical therapy -- Whole complex herbs -- Interactions of pharmaceuticals and botanical medicines -- Botanical treatment strategies: migraine case studies -- Assessing the effectiveness of naturopathic medicine -- Enhancing anti-inflammatory drug effects with botanicals -- The healing power of relationship-centered care -- Completing your patient referral network -- Credentialing complementary practitioners -- Health promotion, wellness, and complementary medicine -- Evolution of an integrative practice -- Functional medicine in integrative practice -- Interprofessional referral protocols -- Programs in integrative medicine, University of Arizona -- Implementing and evaluating optimal healing environments
Mosby's Complementary & Alternative Medicine: A Research-Based Approach
by
Physiologic pathways of mind-body communication -- Research on mind-body effects -- Psychoneuroimmunology and conditioning of immune function -- How relationships and life events affect health : human studies -- Relaxation therapy -- Meditation -- Biofeedback -- Hypnosis -- Imagery -- Chiropractic -- Acupuncture -- Homeopathy : like cures like -- Massage therapy -- Aromatherapy -- Herbs as medical intervention -- Exercise as an alternative therapy -- Spirituality and healing -- Therapeutic touch : healing with energy -- Reiki : an ancient therapy in modern times -- Measurement of the human biofield and other energetic instruments -- The future of ethnomedicine
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Guide: An Evidence - Based Reference
by
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements and Herbs
by
Stockley's Herbal Medicines Interactions
by
Trick or Treatment: The Undeniable Facts About Alternative Medicine
by
In this groundbreaking analysis, over thirty of the most popular treatments--acupuncture, homeopathy, aromatherapy, reflexology, chiropractic, and herbal medicines--are examined for their benefits and potential dangers. Questions answered include: What works and what doesn't? What are the secrets, and what are the lies? Who can you trust, and who is ripping you off? Can science decide what is best, or do the old wives' tales really tap into ancient, superior wisdom? In their scrutiny of alternative and complementary cures, authors Simon Singh and Edzard Ernst also strive to reassert the primacy of the scientific method as a means for determining public health practice and policy