Included here is a list of some of the medically-related databases. You can search for a specific database using the “Databases” tab on the library website, as well as view a comprehensive list.
Provides articles primarily related to nursing and allied health, with resources dating back to 1937.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
The National Library of Medicine's database that contains more than 30 million journal articles in the areas of life sciences, healthcare, and biomedicine.
MEDLINE® with Full Text, the National Library of Medicine database, contains more than 17 million references to journal articles in the health sciences. The database provides more than 1,370 journals in fulltext, some dating back to 1949. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
PubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. This database is updated quarterly.
A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment
A reference tool that provides information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicines.