Skip to Main Content
Books
Reporting Qualitative Research in Psychology by Heidi M. Levitt
This book shows researchers how to use the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Qualitative Research (JARS--Qual), Mixed Methods Article Reporting Standards (MMARS)---which blend qualitative and quantitative methods---and the Qualitative Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (QMARS). These standards provide much-needed sets of criteria to guide researchers from diverse traditions of inquiry, as well as journal editors, reviewers, and students. They present the critical elements of a qualitative study that researchers need to report, including design choices, participant recruitment strategies, data analysis procedures, and the significance of the results. Author Heidi Levitt explains the purpose and function of these standards, helping researchers strengthen the impact of their work. The book is relevant for varied qualitative methods and includes examples from APA journal articles to illustrate how writers can tailor their reporting style based on their methodologies and goals. Levitt also details other key aspects of reporting qualitative research, such as how to establish a study's methodological integrity by demonstrating its fidelity to the subject matter and the utility of its research contributions.
Call #: 150.72 L666R
ISBN: 9781433830037
Publication Date: 2018
The Process of Research and Statistical Analysis in Psychology by Dawn M. McBride
The Process of Research and Statistical Analysis in Psychologypresents integrated coverage of psychological research methods and statistical analysis to illustrate how these two crucial processes work together to uncover new information. Best-selling author Dawn M. McBride draws on over 20 years of experience using a practical step-by-step approach in her teaching to guide readers through the full process of designing, conducting, and presenting a research study. The text opens with introductory discussions of why psychologists conduct and analyze research before digging into the process of designing an experiment and performing statistical analyses. Each chapter concludes with exercises and activities that promote critical thinking, the smart consumption of research, and practical application. Readers will come away with a complete picture of the role that research plays in psychology as well as their everyday lives.
Call #: 150.72 M118P2
ISBN: 9781544361994
Publication Date: 2019
Critical Thinking about Research by Julian Meltzoff; Harris M. Cooper
To become informed consumers of research, students need to thoughtfully evaluate the research they read rather than accept it without question. This second edition of a classic text gives students what they need to apply critical reasoning when reading behavioral science research. It updates the original text with recent developments in research methods, including a new chapter on meta-analyses. Part I gives a thorough overview of the steps in a research project. It focuses on how to assess whether the conclusions drawn in a behavioral science report are warranted by the methods used in the research. Topics include research hypotheses, sampling, experimental design, data analysis, interpretation of results, and ethics. Part II allows readers to practice critical thinking with a series of fictitious journal articles containing built-in flaws in method and interpretation. Clever and engaging, each article is accompanied by a commentary that points out the errors of procedure and logic that have been deliberately embedded in the article. This combination of instruction and practical application will promote active learning and critical thinking in students studying the behavioral sciences.
Call #: 150.72 M528C
ISBN: 9781433827105
Publication Date: 2017
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology by Harris M. Cooper
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology offers practical guidance for understanding and implementing the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Quantitative Research (JARS-Quant) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS). These standards lay out the essential pieces information researchers need to report, including detailed accounts of the methods they followed, data results and analysis, interpretations of their findings, and implications for future research. This new edition reflects updates to the original JARS and the MARS that meet researchers' developing needs in the behavioral, social, educational, and medical sciences. Author Harris Cooper analyzes examples from APA journals, offering readers easy-to-read advice for implementing these revised standards in their own writing while also conforming with the APA Style guidelines laid out in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual. New and expanded chapters offer more detailed guidelines for reporting statistical analyses and unique elements of different types of research, including replication studies, clinical trials, and observational studies. This book is essential reading for experienced and early career researchers alike, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in research methods classes.
Call #: 808.06615 C777R
ISBN: 9781433829376
Publication Date: 2018
Research Methods in Clinical Psychology by Chris Barker; Nancy Pistrang; Robert Elliott
Fully updated to reflect the latest developments, the third edition of Research Methods In Clinical Psychology offers a comprehensive introduction to the various methods, approaches, and strategies for conducting research in the clinical psychology field. Represents the most accessible, user-friendly introduction to conducting and evaluating research for clinical psychologists and related professionals Ideal for students and practitioners who wish to conduct their own research or gain a better understanding of published research Addresses important issues such as philosophical underpinnings of various methodologies, along with socio-political issues that arise in clinical and community settings Step-by-step guidance through all phases of a clinical psychology research project--from initial concept and groundwork, through to measurement, design, analysis, and interpretation Updates to this edition include new or expanded coverage of such topics as systematic review and literature searching methods, modern psychometric methods, guidance on choosing between different qualitative approaches, and conducting psychological research via the Internet
Call #: Electronic
ISBN: 9781119154082
Publication Date: 2016
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology by Harris M. Cooper; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
The three-volume APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do. At the broadest level, when choosing a method, researchers make decisions about what data or measurement techniques will best capture the thoughts, feelings, and behaviours that interest them; what research design best fits the question that they want to answer; and what strategies for data analysis best match the characteristics of their design and measurements. The simplest choice for organising the presentation of material is the temporal sequence in which they will make these decisions. So, the earliest chapters in the handbook address the broadest questions related to research designs. These involve both (a) which research designs are most appropriate for which question; and (b) how to think about the ethicality and feasibility of the designs that address the question and the measures available. Next, handbook chapters describe the types of data that psychologists most often collect and how to determine whether the measurement techniques are the best ones for the research purpose. Later, the chapters return to issues of research design and present a panoply of options, further divided along more nuanced distinctions in their objectives. Chapters on techniques for data analysis follow, again with special attention to the fit between design, measurement, and analysis. Finally, issues and choices to be considered when writing up research to share with the community of psychologists are discussed in the handbook's concluding chapters.
Call #: 150.721 A512
ISBN: 9781433810039
Publication Date: 2012
Research Methods for Social Psychology by Dana S. Dunn
Research Methods for Social Psychology teaches students tothink like an experimental social psychologist. Striking a balancebetween theoretical sophistication and hands-on activities andexercises, this engaging text offers a friendly approach tomethodology and a successful means of motivating students to designand execute their own social psychological research. Active learning activities on social psychology in eachchapter, as well as thought exercises at the end of eachchapter Guidance on developing social psychology research topics,advice on ethics reviews of research projects, instructions on howto design independent and dependent variables, and assistance withperforming a post-experimental interviews with participants A stand alone chapter on basic data analysis, in addition todirections for putting statistical results into words Guidance on writing APA-style summaries of social psychologyexperiments, as well as giving oral and poster presentations;includes a sample annotated APA-style lab report Instructor test bank with questions and answers for eachchapter available at www.wiley.com/go/dunn
Call #: 302.072 D923R
ISBN: 9781405149808
Publication Date: 2008
Research and Evaluation in Education and Psychology by Donna M. Mertens
The Second Edition continues and expands upon the approach that made the first edition an international bestseller. It includes sections and chapters on: the analysis of methodological advances in conducting research in culturally complex communities; coverage of electronic resources now available to researchers and evaluators; an additional emphasis on program evaluation; and, a new chapter on mixed methods research. Each chapter carefully explains a step of the research process from literature review to analysis and reporting. Additionally, sample studies and abstracts are included in each chapter to illustrate the concepts discussed in that section of the book.
Call #: 370.72 M575R2
ISBN: 0761928057
Publication Date: 2004
Qualitative Psychology by Jonathan A. Smith (Editor)
Prompted by the current explosion of interest in qualitative psychology, this book is written in a very accessible manner and is primarily intended as a textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates, though it will also be useful to more advanced researchers. Qualitative Psychology covers all of the main qualitative approaches now used in psychology and each chapter offers the reader a step-by-step guide to carrying out research using that particular method with plenty of pedagogical advice.
Call #: 150.72 Q1
ISBN: 0761972315
Publication Date: 2003
Reporting Qualitative Research in Psychology by
This book shows researchers how to use the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Qualitative Research (JARS--Qual), Mixed Methods Article Reporting Standards (MMARS)---which blend qualitative and quantitative methods---and the Qualitative Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (QMARS). These standards provide much-needed sets of criteria to guide researchers from diverse traditions of inquiry, as well as journal editors, reviewers, and students. They present the critical elements of a qualitative study that researchers need to report, including design choices, participant recruitment strategies, data analysis procedures, and the significance of the results. Author Heidi Levitt explains the purpose and function of these standards, helping researchers strengthen the impact of their work. The book is relevant for varied qualitative methods and includes examples from APA journal articles to illustrate how writers can tailor their reporting style based on their methodologies and goals. Levitt also details other key aspects of reporting qualitative research, such as how to establish a study's methodological integrity by demonstrating its fidelity to the subject matter and the utility of its research contributions.
The Process of Research and Statistical Analysis in Psychology by
The Process of Research and Statistical Analysis in Psychologypresents integrated coverage of psychological research methods and statistical analysis to illustrate how these two crucial processes work together to uncover new information. Best-selling author Dawn M. McBride draws on over 20 years of experience using a practical step-by-step approach in her teaching to guide readers through the full process of designing, conducting, and presenting a research study. The text opens with introductory discussions of why psychologists conduct and analyze research before digging into the process of designing an experiment and performing statistical analyses. Each chapter concludes with exercises and activities that promote critical thinking, the smart consumption of research, and practical application. Readers will come away with a complete picture of the role that research plays in psychology as well as their everyday lives.
Critical Thinking about Research by
To become informed consumers of research, students need to thoughtfully evaluate the research they read rather than accept it without question. This second edition of a classic text gives students what they need to apply critical reasoning when reading behavioral science research. It updates the original text with recent developments in research methods, including a new chapter on meta-analyses. Part I gives a thorough overview of the steps in a research project. It focuses on how to assess whether the conclusions drawn in a behavioral science report are warranted by the methods used in the research. Topics include research hypotheses, sampling, experimental design, data analysis, interpretation of results, and ethics. Part II allows readers to practice critical thinking with a series of fictitious journal articles containing built-in flaws in method and interpretation. Clever and engaging, each article is accompanied by a commentary that points out the errors of procedure and logic that have been deliberately embedded in the article. This combination of instruction and practical application will promote active learning and critical thinking in students studying the behavioral sciences.
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology by
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology offers practical guidance for understanding and implementing the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Quantitative Research (JARS-Quant) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS). These standards lay out the essential pieces information researchers need to report, including detailed accounts of the methods they followed, data results and analysis, interpretations of their findings, and implications for future research. This new edition reflects updates to the original JARS and the MARS that meet researchers' developing needs in the behavioral, social, educational, and medical sciences. Author Harris Cooper analyzes examples from APA journals, offering readers easy-to-read advice for implementing these revised standards in their own writing while also conforming with the APA Style guidelines laid out in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual. New and expanded chapters offer more detailed guidelines for reporting statistical analyses and unique elements of different types of research, including replication studies, clinical trials, and observational studies. This book is essential reading for experienced and early career researchers alike, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in research methods classes.
Research Methods in Clinical Psychology by
Fully updated to reflect the latest developments, the third edition of Research Methods In Clinical Psychology offers a comprehensive introduction to the various methods, approaches, and strategies for conducting research in the clinical psychology field. Represents the most accessible, user-friendly introduction to conducting and evaluating research for clinical psychologists and related professionals Ideal for students and practitioners who wish to conduct their own research or gain a better understanding of published research Addresses important issues such as philosophical underpinnings of various methodologies, along with socio-political issues that arise in clinical and community settings Step-by-step guidance through all phases of a clinical psychology research project--from initial concept and groundwork, through to measurement, design, analysis, and interpretation Updates to this edition include new or expanded coverage of such topics as systematic review and literature searching methods, modern psychometric methods, guidance on choosing between different qualitative approaches, and conducting psychological research via the Internet
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology by
The three-volume APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do. At the broadest level, when choosing a method, researchers make decisions about what data or measurement techniques will best capture the thoughts, feelings, and behaviours that interest them; what research design best fits the question that they want to answer; and what strategies for data analysis best match the characteristics of their design and measurements. The simplest choice for organising the presentation of material is the temporal sequence in which they will make these decisions. So, the earliest chapters in the handbook address the broadest questions related to research designs. These involve both (a) which research designs are most appropriate for which question; and (b) how to think about the ethicality and feasibility of the designs that address the question and the measures available. Next, handbook chapters describe the types of data that psychologists most often collect and how to determine whether the measurement techniques are the best ones for the research purpose. Later, the chapters return to issues of research design and present a panoply of options, further divided along more nuanced distinctions in their objectives. Chapters on techniques for data analysis follow, again with special attention to the fit between design, measurement, and analysis. Finally, issues and choices to be considered when writing up research to share with the community of psychologists are discussed in the handbook's concluding chapters.
Research Methods for Social Psychology by
Research Methods for Social Psychology teaches students tothink like an experimental social psychologist. Striking a balancebetween theoretical sophistication and hands-on activities andexercises, this engaging text offers a friendly approach tomethodology and a successful means of motivating students to designand execute their own social psychological research. Active learning activities on social psychology in eachchapter, as well as thought exercises at the end of eachchapter Guidance on developing social psychology research topics,advice on ethics reviews of research projects, instructions on howto design independent and dependent variables, and assistance withperforming a post-experimental interviews with participants A stand alone chapter on basic data analysis, in addition todirections for putting statistical results into words Guidance on writing APA-style summaries of social psychologyexperiments, as well as giving oral and poster presentations;includes a sample annotated APA-style lab report Instructor test bank with questions and answers for eachchapter available at www.wiley.com/go/dunn
Research and Evaluation in Education and Psychology by
The Second Edition continues and expands upon the approach that made the first edition an international bestseller. It includes sections and chapters on: the analysis of methodological advances in conducting research in culturally complex communities; coverage of electronic resources now available to researchers and evaluators; an additional emphasis on program evaluation; and, a new chapter on mixed methods research. Each chapter carefully explains a step of the research process from literature review to analysis and reporting. Additionally, sample studies and abstracts are included in each chapter to illustrate the concepts discussed in that section of the book.
Qualitative Psychology by
Prompted by the current explosion of interest in qualitative psychology, this book is written in a very accessible manner and is primarily intended as a textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates, though it will also be useful to more advanced researchers. Qualitative Psychology covers all of the main qualitative approaches now used in psychology and each chapter offers the reader a step-by-step guide to carrying out research using that particular method with plenty of pedagogical advice.