Research Guides: Research Starter: Pharmacy: Home

Jess Elder | Health Sciences Liaison

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to pharmacy references, curriculum topics, drug and herb/supplement databases, and the latest pharmacy news.
AccessPharmacy provides access to pharmacy references, curriculum topics, drug and herb/supplement databases, and the latest pharmacy news as well as offering virtual cases, integrated case studies and care plans to encourage the development of important decision making skills. Some of the titles included are: Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 7e; Pharmacotherapy Casebook, 7e; Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 11e; Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17e; Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 11e; Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, 5e; Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 3e; and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 5e.
APHA PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
Contains content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. This database is updated quarterly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Pharmacy Resources Guide
A more extensive list of pharmacy resources the library provides, as well as approved links to other resources from the school of pharmacy.

CDC: Center for Disease Control
Provides nationally established treatment guidelines for commonly diseases and conditions.
National Institute of Health
The NIH is one of the world's foremost medial research centers. An agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

AMA Manual of Style, 11th EDITION by JAMA Network Editors
Call #: MAIN & REF 808.06661 A479
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020

Purdue Owl | AMA
These resources can help you find more information on AMA citation and format style.