Research Guides: SPAN 3640: Intro to Hispanic Literature: Home

Welcome

This guide has been designed for Dr. Loach's SPAN 3640 course.

Here you will find links to databases, books, and other resources that will help you in your research this semester.

Recommended Databases

For Background Research:

Estudiantil Hallazhgos en Linea This link opens in a new window
Estudiantil Hallazhgos en Linea is a beginning level Spanish encyclopedia site from World Book, with thousands of articles, illustrations, and maps, and an easy-to-use, bilingual interface.

CultureGrams
Provides information on the history, culture, lifestyle, and government of numerous countries from around the world. Includes country name pronunciation, national anthems, maps and flags
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

For Literary Analysis Research:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A rich full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. LRC also includes full text of selected classic and contemporary poems and short stories, and of classic novels. As reference material, LRC includes full text of a number of literary encyclopedia and guides.

For Spanish-related Research:

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in Spanish, covering many academic areas.
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text from 260 scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.
Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Clase and Periodica is an index of articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.

For Historical Context Research:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It is full-text searchable and includes images. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.

A&HCI also provides access to an article's cited references or the footnotes from an author's bibliography. Cited items may be critical in nature or original creative works (novels, poems, works of philosophy, paintings, musical compositions, etc.).

Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Radio, Television, & Film. Religion. Theater.

Internet Sources

Google España
El objetivo de Google consiste en organizar la información del mundo y hacerla accesible y útil de manera universal.
La Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Historia España
Hispanic Reading Room
The Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to Iberia, Latin America, and the Caribbean; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
From the University of Texas, resources are organized by country and subject, such as agriculture, music, travel, health, etc.)

Journals

Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
The Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies is an international peer-reviewed journal that interrogates cultural production and cultural practices in or related to the nations comprised by the Spanish state.
Hispanic Research Journal
Hispanic Research Journal promotes and disseminates research into the cultures of the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America, from the Middle Ages to the present day.