Research Guides: GBIO 1000: Principles of Biology: Research Sources

CU Databases

Creation Evolution Literature Database This link opens in a new window
Features mostly young-earth creationist articles pertaining to the creation/evolution debate, with some coverage of other views about creation and evolution.
Established in 2001 in response to the need for a freely-available computerized database of literature pertaining to the creation/evolution controversy, the goal is to archive every periodical ever published about the creation/evolution or religion/science debate.
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and broad index of life science and biomedical research including clinical, experimental, methods, instrumentation, and animal science.
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored, representing virtually every life science discipline. BIOSIS Previews also covers international meetings, review articles, books, and monographs.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need.

Creation Studies Institute
Disseminates information that supports the origins of man and the universe as stated in the literal interpretation of the Genesis account by equipping Christians, the general public, and the scientific community
Answers in Genesis
Answers in Genesis is an apologetics (i.e., Christianity-defending) ministry, dedicated to enabling Christians to defend their faith and to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ effectively.
Institute for Creation Research
Equipping believers with evidence of the Bible's accuracy and authority through scientific research, educational programs, and media presentations, all conducted within a thoroughly biblical framework.
Google Scholar
A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text scholarly literature across an array of formats and disciplines
PLOS Biology
Features works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
Encyclopedia of Life
Database that seeks to increase awareness and understanding of living nature through knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource