It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PPHR 1012: The Pharmacy Profession
A research guide students of PPHR 1012: The Pharmacy Profession.
Navigating the "real world" after pharmacy school is smoother if you're equipped with the right advice and resources. In this book, Jennifer Askew draws on her experience as a student, resident, hospital and community pharmacist, preceptor, supervisor, and volunteer to guide new pharmacists through actions, behaviors, and decisions that lead to a successful career. Askew shares her own lessons and the perspectives of other pharmacists while covering key topics in the transition from student to pharmacist: gaining board licensure, choosing a career path, preparing resumes, managing interviews, handling job offers, fitting into the workplace, and achieving personal and professional success.
This collection of more than 100 stories reveals the many facets of pharmacy practice--the joys and sadness, achievements and setbacks. In their diverse and engaging voices, the authors explore their profession with honesty, insight, and humor. Their personal accounts encompass day-to-day life, professional training, military service, ethics, working with patients, humorous experiences, death and dying, and lessons learned.
This is an easy-to-follow handbook that introduces readers to entry-level clinical job opportunities and explains how to qualify for them, with a particular emphasis on how to gain clinical experience that a hiring manager will accept. Each chapter covers one of the clinical specialties involved in conducting pharmaceutical clinical trials: for example, clinical research associate, clinical data manager, biostatistician, and clinical drug safety specialist. The chapters are written as personalized narratives, allowing the reader to follow the daily work of a clinical specialist as he or she supports a clinical study and interacts with the other study team members. The descriptions of these specialists are composite profiles that incorporate the true-to-life experiences of typical clinical study team members. A list of career options available to workers after mastering their entry-level clinical position, as well as a tool box for those seeking a position, are included.
Pharmacy in Public Health: Basics and Beyond outlines what public health is and why it is so important for today's pharmacists to know. This practical textbook covers key areas like the foundations of public health, concepts and tools of policy, and model
AccessPharmacy provides access to pharmacy references, curriculum topics, drug and herb/supplement databases, and the latest pharmacy news as well as offering virtual cases, integrated case studies and care plans to encourage the development of important decision making skills.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides indexing for more than 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
The Educational Resource Information Center, this database provides access to education literature and resources. ERIC offers full text access to more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
This database covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals.