Skip to Main Content 
Books
Introduction to Competence-Based Social Work: The Profession of Caring, Knowing, & Serving by Michael Sherr & Johnny Jones
Social work is rooted in the values of service, social justice, and strong interpersonal relationships, but as the profession evolves, so must the approach to education. Michael E. Sherr and Johnny M. Jones have created an introductory textbook written for the future of social work. The secondedition integrates the knowledge of practice, policy, research, HBSE, and field work with the skills and practice behaviors necessary for students to become fully competent social workers by the time they graduate.Students are introduced to social work through a "Why We Do, What We Do" model that emphasizes how and why social workers commit to their careers. 41 case vignettes, 16 of which are new, engage students and present a clear picture of the profession to help them become invested in enhancing andrestoring the well-being of individuals, groups, and communities.Visit www.oup-arc.com for student and instructor resources.
Call #: 361.3 S553I2
ISBN: 9780190923037
Publication Date: 2019
SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers: Your Journey to Advocacy by Melissa Bird
The SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers presents first-hand stories from practitioners to help inform, inspire, and guide students to become advocates for social justice issues. With a unique focus on advocacy and social justice, the book covers fundamentals of the social work profession--from coalition building to advocacy engagement and stakeholder outreach--across a range of practice areas, such as mental health, substance abuse, and criminal justice. Students in BSW and MSW programs will gain practical knowledge that will prepare them to successfully navigate their way to a rewarding career. Bundle and Save Bundle the SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers with any SAGE Social Work text for only $5 more! Contact your rep for more information. Also of Interest Introduction to Social Work: An Advocacy-Based Profession, Second Edition: Takes students to the roots of the social work profession by covering its history, practice settings, and career paths within a unique advocacy framework. Bundle the SAGE Career Guide to Social Work Careers with Introduction to Social Work using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3029-7.
Call #: 361.32 B618S
ISBN: 9781544324715
Publication Date: 2018
Introduction to Social Work: The People's Profession (4th Ed.) by Ira Colby & Sophia Dziegielewski
There are certain questions that all students considering social work ask. Who are social workers? What is it that social workers do? How is the social work profession changing? What does it take to become a social worker? Ira Colby and Sophia Dziegielewski bring their decades of experience insocial work practice and education to answer these questions.This engaging text gives readers a practical guide to the many ways in which social workers effect change in their communities and the world. The authors offer an overview and history of the profession; introduce readers to the practice of social work at the micro, mezzo, and macro level; andfinally look closely at the many settings and populations that social workers work with. While realistically portraying the pressures and obstacles that social workers face, Colby and Dziegielewski communicate their own passion for social work.
Call #: 361.32 C686I
ISBN: 9780190615666
Publication Date: 2015
Social Work: A Profession of Many Faces by Bradford Sheafor, Malcolm Scott & Armando Morales
This best-selling text continues to offer a comprehensive introduction to the field of social work with a unique focus on the diverse groups to whom social workers provide services; including children, older adults, disabled persons, and members of minority racial and ethnic groups. It covers the emergence of the profession of social work, career oportunities for social workers, and the values and competencies required of social workers. Timely issues that this edition addresses include the following: the events of 9/11 and their dramatic influence on human services in the United States; the United States involvement in Middle East warfare; the physical and emotional damage to individuals involved in Middle East warfare; and the 2000 Census---how substantial changes in the U.S. population suggest a need for realignment of social services.
Call #: 361.3 S539S
ISBN: 9780205034673
Publication Date: 2011
So You Want to Be a Social Worker: A Primer for the Christian Student (2nd Ed.) by Alan Keith-Lucas, Leslie Gregory & Sandra Bauer
So You Want to Be a Social Worker is an invaluable, concise resource for both students and practitioners who are concerned about the thoughtful integration of their Christian faith and competent, ethical social work practice. This text is a clear distillation of practice wisdom and responsible guidelines regarding perennial questions which arise when Christians in social work take both their Christian faith and their professional social work practice seriously.Especially useful in the classroom or social work trainings, the 2nd edition of So You Want to Be a Social Worker includes most of the chapters from the original edition, though with updated language, case examples and references - plus two new chapters, Hope and Resilience, and Settings for Practice.
Call #: 361.3 K28S
ISBN: 9781952901041
Publication Date: 2021
Development on Purpose: Faith & Human Behavior in the Social Environment by Lisa Hosack
Courses in human behavior and the social environment (HBSE) raise important questions about the nature of persons and our multi-layered social world. The Christian faith offers answers to these deep questions about human nature and our relationships with one another and the world. Also, Christianity privides a compelling purpose for human development. As social workers, this grand prupose can rightly inform the trajectory of our own lives and sustain our work on behalf of those at risk in the world. This book provides both students and seasoned professionals with a coherent framework for considering HBSE from a Christian perspective. The first half of the book outlines a purpose for human development, examining biological, psychological, and social theories through the lens of faith. The second half then uses detailed case examples to illuminate the way that faith can relate to work within persons across the lifespan. The book's chapters can be used interchangeably, making this an excellent supplemental text.
Call #: 261.515 H825D
ISBN: 9780989758154
Publication Date: 2019
Why I Am a Social Worker: 25 Christians Tell Their Life Stories by Diana Richmond Garland
"'Why I am a social worker' describes the rich diversity and nature of the profession of social work through the 25 stories of daily lives and professional journeys chosen to represent the different people, groups and human situations where social workers serve. Many social workers of faith express that they feel 'called' to help people--sometimes a specific population of people such as abused children or people who live in poverty. Often they describe this calling as a way of living out their faith. 'Why I am a social worker' serves as a resource for Christians in social work as they reflect on their sense of calling, and provides direction to guide them in this process. 'Why I am a social worker' employs a narrative, descriptive approach, allowing the relationship between faith and practice to emerge through the professional life stories of social workers who are Christians. As such, it provides a way to explore integration on personal, emotional and practical levels."
Call #: 361.32 G233W
ISBN: 9780989758109
Publication Date: 2015
Introduction to Competence-Based Social Work: The Profession of Caring, Knowing, & Serving by
Social work is rooted in the values of service, social justice, and strong interpersonal relationships, but as the profession evolves, so must the approach to education. Michael E. Sherr and Johnny M. Jones have created an introductory textbook written for the future of social work. The secondedition integrates the knowledge of practice, policy, research, HBSE, and field work with the skills and practice behaviors necessary for students to become fully competent social workers by the time they graduate.Students are introduced to social work through a "Why We Do, What We Do" model that emphasizes how and why social workers commit to their careers. 41 case vignettes, 16 of which are new, engage students and present a clear picture of the profession to help them become invested in enhancing andrestoring the well-being of individuals, groups, and communities.Visit www.oup-arc.com for student and instructor resources.
SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers: Your Journey to Advocacy by
The SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers presents first-hand stories from practitioners to help inform, inspire, and guide students to become advocates for social justice issues. With a unique focus on advocacy and social justice, the book covers fundamentals of the social work profession--from coalition building to advocacy engagement and stakeholder outreach--across a range of practice areas, such as mental health, substance abuse, and criminal justice. Students in BSW and MSW programs will gain practical knowledge that will prepare them to successfully navigate their way to a rewarding career. Bundle and Save Bundle the SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers with any SAGE Social Work text for only $5 more! Contact your rep for more information. Also of Interest Introduction to Social Work: An Advocacy-Based Profession, Second Edition: Takes students to the roots of the social work profession by covering its history, practice settings, and career paths within a unique advocacy framework. Bundle the SAGE Career Guide to Social Work Careers with Introduction to Social Work using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3029-7.
Introduction to Social Work: The People's Profession (4th Ed.) by
There are certain questions that all students considering social work ask. Who are social workers? What is it that social workers do? How is the social work profession changing? What does it take to become a social worker? Ira Colby and Sophia Dziegielewski bring their decades of experience insocial work practice and education to answer these questions.This engaging text gives readers a practical guide to the many ways in which social workers effect change in their communities and the world. The authors offer an overview and history of the profession; introduce readers to the practice of social work at the micro, mezzo, and macro level; andfinally look closely at the many settings and populations that social workers work with. While realistically portraying the pressures and obstacles that social workers face, Colby and Dziegielewski communicate their own passion for social work.
Social Work: A Profession of Many Faces by
This best-selling text continues to offer a comprehensive introduction to the field of social work with a unique focus on the diverse groups to whom social workers provide services; including children, older adults, disabled persons, and members of minority racial and ethnic groups. It covers the emergence of the profession of social work, career oportunities for social workers, and the values and competencies required of social workers. Timely issues that this edition addresses include the following: the events of 9/11 and their dramatic influence on human services in the United States; the United States involvement in Middle East warfare; the physical and emotional damage to individuals involved in Middle East warfare; and the 2000 Census---how substantial changes in the U.S. population suggest a need for realignment of social services.
Christianity and Social Work: Readings on the Integration of Christian Faith & Social Work Practice (6th Ed.) by
Christianity and Social Work is written for social workers whose motivations to enter the profession are informed by their Christian faith, and who desire to develop faithfully Christian approaches to helping.
So You Want to Be a Social Worker: A Primer for the Christian Student (2nd Ed.) by
So You Want to Be a Social Worker is an invaluable, concise resource for both students and practitioners who are concerned about the thoughtful integration of their Christian faith and competent, ethical social work practice. This text is a clear distillation of practice wisdom and responsible guidelines regarding perennial questions which arise when Christians in social work take both their Christian faith and their professional social work practice seriously.Especially useful in the classroom or social work trainings, the 2nd edition of So You Want to Be a Social Worker includes most of the chapters from the original edition, though with updated language, case examples and references - plus two new chapters, Hope and Resilience, and Settings for Practice.
Development on Purpose: Faith & Human Behavior in the Social Environment by
Courses in human behavior and the social environment (HBSE) raise important questions about the nature of persons and our multi-layered social world. The Christian faith offers answers to these deep questions about human nature and our relationships with one another and the world. Also, Christianity privides a compelling purpose for human development. As social workers, this grand prupose can rightly inform the trajectory of our own lives and sustain our work on behalf of those at risk in the world. This book provides both students and seasoned professionals with a coherent framework for considering HBSE from a Christian perspective. The first half of the book outlines a purpose for human development, examining biological, psychological, and social theories through the lens of faith. The second half then uses detailed case examples to illuminate the way that faith can relate to work within persons across the lifespan. The book's chapters can be used interchangeably, making this an excellent supplemental text.
Why I Am a Social Worker: 25 Christians Tell Their Life Stories by
"'Why I am a social worker' describes the rich diversity and nature of the profession of social work through the 25 stories of daily lives and professional journeys chosen to represent the different people, groups and human situations where social workers serve. Many social workers of faith express that they feel 'called' to help people--sometimes a specific population of people such as abused children or people who live in poverty. Often they describe this calling as a way of living out their faith. 'Why I am a social worker' serves as a resource for Christians in social work as they reflect on their sense of calling, and provides direction to guide them in this process. 'Why I am a social worker' employs a narrative, descriptive approach, allowing the relationship between faith and practice to emerge through the professional life stories of social workers who are Christians. As such, it provides a way to explore integration on personal, emotional and practical levels."