LIT 2090: Literary Analysis (Calhoun)

Step-by-step guidance for reading literature and writing literary analyses. Introduces the core literary theories: Formalism, Psychological, Marxist, Feminist, Reader-Response, Deconstruction, Cultural Studies, Postcolonialism, and Ecocriticism. Each theory includes historical background, key terms, suggested readings, plus example analyses to show how real students have applied the theory. Also contains a history of literary criticism and table outlining purpose/strengths/weakness of each theory.

Provides explanations of the many literary theories: reader response, biographical, historical, psychological, archetypal, genre-based, moral, philosophical, feminist, political, formalist, and postmodern. Gives each theory its own chapter with a brief overview and a history of the approach, along with an in-depth discussion of its benefits and limitations. Designed for teachers, but helpful for students too.

Providing a clear outline of the methodologies employed in twenty-first century literary analysis, it introduces readers to the genres, canons, terms, issues, critical approaches, and contexts that affect the analysis of any text.

An overview of everything to know to succeed: literary terms, historical periods, theoretical approaches, and more. The guide helps students gain the analytical skills that will benefit them in college and as educated citizens after graduation.

An introduction to contemporary critical theory, providing in-depth coverage of the most common approaches to literary analysis today, including: feminism; psychoanalysis; Marxism; reader-response theory; New Criticism; structuralism and semiotics; deconstruction; new historicism and cultural criticism; lesbian, gay, and queer theory; African American criticism and postcolonial criticism.

Begins with historical overview of theory. Organizes all major theories into 6 categories: (1) Forms-Structure-Narrative-Genre, (2) Ideology-Philosophy-History-Aesthetics, (3) Language-Systems-Texts-Readers, (4) Mind-Body-Gender-Identity, (5) Culture-Ethnicities-Nations-Locations, and (6) People-Places-Bodies-Things. Includes biographies of key literary theorists and selected bibliographies. Contains sample readings to illustrate practical application of theory.

Provides concise history of literary theory in introduction. Chapters on all major schools of theory: Structuralism, Deconstruction, Psychoanalysis, Feminist, Queer, Ideology and Discourse, Race and Postcolonialism, Ecocriticism, and Postmodernism. Includes biographies of major literary theorists and bibliographies of their major works. Contains glossary of key terms. (combination of Mary Klages' books Literary Theory: A Guide for the Perplexed and Key Terms in Literary Theory)

Concise guide to the major theories and theorists including: Humanism, Structuralism, Deconstruction, Psychoanalysis, Feminism, Queer Theory, Ideology & Discourse, Race & Postcolonialism, and Postmodernism. Provides suggestions for further reading for each theory.

Introduces the major theoretical approaches: Bakhtinian Criticism, Structuralism, Feminist, Marxist, Reader-Response, Psychoanalytic, Deconstruction, Poststructuralism, New Historicism, Cultural Materialism, Postcolonialism, Cultural Studies and Postmodernism. Each chapter gives a theory overview, readings of a text to show the theory in practice, questions for consideration, an annotated bibliography, and a supplementary bibliography. Contains a glossary of keywords. Adapted from Literary Theories: A Reader and Guide

Introduces the full range of contemporary theories: Formalism, Structuralism, Rhetoric, Deconstruction and Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism, Psychoanalysis, Marxism, Cultural Materialism, Gender Studies, Historicism, Ethnic Studies, and Postcolonialism and Global English. Includes readings of classic literary texts from a variety of theoretical perspectives. Demonstrates how the varying perspectives on texts can lead to different interpretations of the same work. A companion to Literary Theory: An Anthology, Second Edition

Presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and figures ranging from antiquity to present. More than 240 alphabetically-arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also examines developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism.

Covers the major literary theories: Formalism; Structuralism; Political Contexts; Postructuralism, Deconstruction, and Postmodernism; New Historicism; Cultural Materialism; Postcolonialism; and Sexuality. Places each critical movement in its historical and political context. Illustrates theory in practice with examples from much-read texts. Concludes each chapter with a brief summary and suggestions for further reading.

Presents contemporary literary theories while examining those of the past. Arranged topically rather than chronologically in order to highlight the relationships between earlier and most recent theoretical developments. Chapters include: Anglo-American New Criticism; Chicago Formalism; Russian Formalism; Deconstruction; Empathy/Affect Studies; Poststructuralism; Marxism; Postcolonialism; Ethnic; Gender; Psychoanalytic; Cognitive; Evolutionary; Cybernetics and Posthumanism.

Divided into 12 sections covering structuralism, feminism, marxism, reader-response theory, psychoanalysis, deconstruction, post-structuralism, postmodernism, new historicism, postcolonialism, gay studies and queer theory, and cultural studies, Literary Theories introduces the reader to the most challenging and engaging aspects of critical studies in the humanities today.

Introduces over 300 widely-used terms, categories and ideas drawing upon well-established approaches like new historicism, postmodernism, psychoanalysis, Marxism, and narratology as well as many new critical theories of the last twenty years such as Actor-Network Theory, Global Studies, Critical Race Theory, and Speculative Realism. This book is an invaluable introduction covering a wide range of subjects for anyone who is studying or has an interest in critical theory (past and present).

Attempt to create a sense of how theories are built. Provides objective introductions to modern theories including: phenomenological theory, hermeneutical theory, gestalt theory, reception theory, semiotic theory, Marxist theory, deconstruction, anthropological theory, and feminist theory. Uses classic literary texts to illustrate the theories in practice. Includes key statements by the major proponents of each theory. Includes a glossary of technical terms.