Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks

Here we cover how to use RefWorks Citation Manager for Google docs. 

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.  Note:  Changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

1) Open a blank Google doc. then Select the Add-ons tab and click "Get Add-ons".  Search for "ProQuest RefWorks" 

2) You’ll be asked to allow certain conditions of using the add-on and then “ProQuest RefWorks” will be added to your list of available tools.

3) Now you are ready to open and use RCM for in-text citations and creation of a bibliography. Start by Selecting a Folder and then simply cite the source you wish to add.

Changing Your Output Style

There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:

1) In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the “options” icon  and select “Change citation style”

 

2) Or you can select any reference from the list and click the Cite and edit button and change the style:

Note:  Custom output styles are currently not accessible.

Deleting or Changing Citations

  • Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  • Insert the new citation (if applicable)
  • Click on the "options" icon and select "Update document". Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation). 

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.

Note:  changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Collaborating with Others

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper.  Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.   

There are two ways you can share your document with others:

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account:

1.  Click the share icon ​.

2.  Enter the email address of the person you want to share with

3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the “can edit” permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting "can comment" or "can view"). 

 

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

 

To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:

1. Click the  button in the upper right-hand corner. The "Share Settings" box will open with access to several options: 

 

2. Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is "specific people"). 

 

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

 

Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with.  If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

 Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.