Subject Guide: Literature

Offers a provocative look at some of Western civilization's most infamous authors and their literary works and shows how these works have inflicted great evil in the world and still cause suffering.

Contains 100 of the greatest poems written by 48 women in English over the past 150 years.

Comprehensive list of mood-altering stories

Recounts how the work of 19th-century legal historians actually influenced the editing of Old English texts, most notably Beowulf, in ways that are still preserved in our editions.

Looks at the life of Andrew Marvell from his early employment as a tutor and gentleman's companion to his suspicious death, reputedly a politically fueled poisoning.

Explores the relation of Apollonius of Rhodes' poem to the conditions of its writing in 3rd century BCE Alexandria, where a multicultural environment transformed the Greeks' understanding of themselves and the world.

Guide to nearly 800 award-winning historical fiction for Kindergarten through 8th grade will assist all parties in the selection of high quality literature.

Focuses on representative literary works that illustrate turns in the history of individuality and subjectivity and the changes in ones relations with community and society.

Uses the motif of the mentor-lover to explore, evaluate and compare the works of Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë and George Eliot as they contend with issues of sexuality, family, selfhood, freedom, conduct and gender.

Analyses of literary texts and historical sources to show how a culture return to peace after a war.

Argues that whatever its awkwardness, the social mistake--the blunder, the gaffe, the faux pas-is a figure of critical importance to the 19th-century novel.

Reading guide and selection tool for 12,000 fiction and nonfiction teen titles published from 2001 to 2003

Covers over 14,000 titles of some classics, but mostly published between late 1999 and 2003.

Uses botanical language to read courtship novels from Jane Austen to George Eliot and Henry James.

Provides a snapshot of the current state of popular American literature, including various types and genres.

Exploring children's classics from many eras and relating them to the authors who wrote them.

Accounts of the lives of the major and minor British authors of the 19th century.

Recovers the lost lives and poems of British women poets of the Romantic era.

Highlights the ways in which women writers were key to the creation of the worlds of politics and letters in the 18th century.

Covers hundreds of writers who have made contributions to British, Irish and Commonwealth literature from the 14th century to the present day.

Provides high quality critical material on a selection of important classic and contemporary children's books.

Contains nearly 30,000 works from more than 4,000 authors of significant and representative works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and literary scholarship from 1475 to 2000.

Surveys the history of poetics and provides an introduction and brief biography for each reading.

Introduces nearly 90 of the world's most entertaining classic books.

Offers ideas for making Homer's timeless epic come alive for students.

Seeks to provide an inclusive and thorough examination of romance literature in the middle ages.

Demonstrates that philosophy, history, politics and social theory both influence and are influenced by 18th century literature.

Provides new perspectives on the relationships between literature and culture in Britain from 1780 to 1830.

Presents fresh approaches to classic Victorian fiction from 1830-1900.

Uses the study of the writings of men and women in the 17th century to argues that theoretical exclusion of women from the political sphere shaped their relation to it.

Examines plays by Black and Asian women in Britain.

Covers poetry from over 40 countries and the history of poetry from antiquity to the 21st century.

A uniquely in-depth study of the crossover novel, Falconer engages with a ground-breaking range of sources, from primary texts, to child and adult reader responses, to cultural and critical theory.

Describes how the British state and war machine struggled to produce a fully modernized and persuasive war culture in two world wars by freely cannibalizing art and literature in times of crisis.

Offers young adult readers a way to appreciate the lives and works of this special group of fiction writers.

Reexamines the fiction of the great 20th century American author from the interdisciplinary perspective of sociobiology.

Discusses Darwin as an artist and writer even more influential than his great contemporaries Dickens, George Eliot, and Tennyson.

Collection of conversations regarding the development and future of the literary canon.

The reading habits, intellectual development, and contributions of the cultural giants of the 20th century are traced.

Shows how gender bias affected what counted as more valuable among Latin and other clerical modes of literacy and vernacular forms of speech and demonstrates how debates about female literacy were critical to the emergence of imperial nations.

Offers a broad view of the writing and careers of 18th-century women poets.

Provides a comprehensive and wide-ranging resource which includes information on many previously neglected British women writers and topics.

Short essays about important British writers of the 19th or the 20th century.

Guide to the history and development of feminist literature, from early fairy tales to works by great women writers of today.

Considers the writings of the British dynasty family, Wollstonecraft, Godwin, and Shelley collectively.

Investigates the scene of debate or agon in which with varying degrees of formality characters square up to each other and engage in a contest of words-and sets out for the first time to trace its changing representations through Homeric epic, historiography and tragedy.

Surveys the epic tradition from the 8th century BC to the 19th century of our era.

Offers an inspired counterpoint to studies that emphasize differences between male and female Romantic-era writers.

Companion for literature surveys of feminist critical and theoretical texts from over 100 writers and scholars are featured.

A study of women playwrights from a feminist perspective.

Tells how rape and seduction came to be distinguished according to measures of women's resistance and consent in low-brow " writing and how amatory fictions interrogated the implications of their own procedures.

Uses film, literature, history, science, and even punk music to help us understand the meaning of this monster made by man.

Analyzes the shrewd perceptions about human life, and especially human language, that emerge from the rich tradition of beast literature.

Surveys 400 English children's fantasies from 1850 to 2000.

Offers a close reading of pivotal passages and critical concerns in 'Paradise Lost' and examines Milton's presentation of Adam and Eve's relationship through the intersections of theology and gender in the poem.

Examines the literary expression and cultural consequences of English women's giving from the 1820s to the First World War.

Explores how character, courage, and human and moral understanding can be fostered by reflecting on the lives of others, through stories.

Examination of the Harry Potter series by scholars from various disciplines as both cultural product and social text.

Offers a detailed evaluative documentary record of the publications, activities and achievements of 20th century British women poets.

Offers a wide-ranging narrative overview of literature in Great Britain between 1830 and 1900.

Evaluates what the Iliad furnishes to readers that makes it comprehensible and engaging.

Introduces Homer and his two great epics, the Iliad and the Odyssey.

Introduction to the world in which the Odyssey was produced, to the text itself, and to its origins in oral poetry.

Argues that the history of the novel and the history of the modern individual are quite literally one and the same.

Convincingly shows that our best allies in the struggle for more rigorous thinking, deeper faith, richer experience, and greater peace of mind may well be the imaginative writings sitting on our shelves.

Practical and amusing guide to literature that unlocks hidden truths and discovers the world of the works.

Emphasizes the complexity, difficulty, and rare pleasures of the Victorian writers' strenuous efforts both to entertain and to teach.

Analyzes the history of Western ideology from its pre-Enlightenment roots to its current incarnations.

Offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts.

Traces the preoccupation in Murdoch's fiction with the way the past makes its mark upon us, haunting us and eluding our attempts to grasp it.

Comprehensive study of the Irish writers of the Victorian age.

Claims that Irish long fictions were plentiful, readable, and illuminating.

Traces the process through which Spenser, Shakespeare, Milton, and others adapted, revised, or resisted romance, mapping a world of increasingly uncertain allegiances and affiliations.

Explores the literary dialectic that began with the 1848 publication of Charlotte Bront and novels by American writers that were direct or indirect reactions to it.

Shows how the jazz of Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Fats Waller, Billie Holiday and Charlie Parker fit into the great tradition of the modern arts and literature between 1920 and 1950.

Demonstrates how Johnson's criticism has for long been divided from the issues of modern criticism by historical narratives that have marked the progress of criticism from 'classic to romantic'.

Explores the relationship of gender and justice represented in English Renaissance drama.

Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.

Uses previously unpublished letters by women writers to explore the act and art of writing from diverse perspectives and experiences.

Provides a comprehensive history of women's writing in Britain from the Restoration to the French Revolution.

Gives analysis and criticism on recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Argues that kinship relations between writers, both literal and figurative, played a central part in the creation of a national tradition of English literature.

Charts the history and confluence of literature and film.

A survey of the interaction between science and Anglo-American literature from the late medieval period to the 20th century, examining how authors, thinkers, and philosophers have viewed science in literary texts, and used science as a window to the future.

Profiles the censorship of many essential works of literature.

Explores the ability of dense and formally interesting literature to respond to the complexities of modern life.

Analyzes the bond between lyric poetry and silence in women's sonnets ranging from the late 18th-century works of Charlotte Smith, Helen Maria Williams, and Anna Maria Smallpiece to Victorian texts by Elizabeth Barrett, Christina Rossetti, Isabella Southern, and other, lesser-known female poets.

Shows that Victorian writers frequently appear to have a more supple and interesting understanding of the relationship between history, causality, and narrative than the one typically offered by readers who are burdened by the new historicism.

Examines figures afflicted with romantic love in early modern literature, provides a historical context for their malady, and discusseshow the literary representation of lovesickness relates to wider issues of gender and identity.

Assesses the importance of the 1750s in literary history and argues that women novelists engaged in critical renovation of the novel as a genre and reclaimed it as a proto-feminist project.

A study of mock-epic poetry in English, French, and German from the 1720s to the 1840s.

Illustrated introductory guide to key British, American and Australian works that shows developments in children's literature over time and across genres.

Discussions of T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Rebecca West, and Rose Macaulay that show how their work participated in contemporary debates about journalism.

Features authors from various countries and cultures who have lived in a culture other than their own and written about their experiences.

Shows how Romantic nationalism in Britain explored irony's potential as a powerful source of civic cohesion.

Explores how ongoing engagements reflected the nature of the 'Turke' in 16th century English literature.

Biographical sketches and analyses of 104 best known English, Scottish, and Irish writers of long fiction from the 15th through the 20th centuries.

Focuses on Oceania's impact on Victorian culture, most notably travel writing, photography, international exhibitions, literature, and the world of children.

Considers the ways in which readers feel when they read, and how they understand ideas of feeling.

Surveys the history of Western poetry from the ancient world, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the modern period.

Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present.

Examines English patriotism in the 16th century to discern its nature and modes of cultural expression and to consider its use in political and religious propaganda.

Treats several important aspects of late 14th-century life: ideological conflict, social upheaval, and the changing role of religious thought.

Includes the work of more than 130 poets-from Asia and the Middle East to Europe and America, from ancient times to the present-and demonstrates how poetry responds to the challenges of our modern world.

Focuses on Andrew Marvell and the things which could unite, rather than divide, poets during the English Civil Wars: friendship, patronage relations, literary admiration, anti-clericalism.

Argues that long-neglected Whig poets were more popular and successful in their own time than they have been since.

Studies and compares the poetry of George Herbert and R.S. Thomas.

Seeks to contextualize Swift within the political arena of his day.

Reads across Scott's complex characters and plots, his many personae, his interventions in his nation's 19th century politics, to reveal the author as an energetic producer of literary and national culture working to prevent a simple or singular message.

Analyzes the criticism of English-language literature from the major regions and countries of the postcolonial world.

Uses various approaches and deals with various texts to show the complexity of Traherne's work by placing it directly within current critical debates and within 16th-century contexts.

Examines what it means to return to works of fiction that have influenced us.

Conveys the breadth and diversity of poetry in the Victorian era.

Promotes reading women's poems, rather than forming theories about them, and tells why until quite recently anthologies of English poetry contained very few poems by women.

Introduces Renaissance literature and its historical, cultural and intellectual background from 1533-1642.

Explores how well-known women writers have influenced us in our writing and in life.

Shows literature undergraduates how to use their research time efficiently and how to locate and evaluate materials.

Demonstrates how Richard Brinsley occupies a significant and unique place in the theatrical and political life of Great Britain.

Argues that Rome is relevant to the Romantic period not as the continuation of an earlier neoclassicism but rather as a concept that is simultaneously transformed and transformative.

Argues that Romanticism, particularly British Romantic poetry, invents psychoanalysis in advance of Freud.

Analyzes several key works that mark the most significant phases in the early evolution of science fiction.

Tells of 13 screenwriters who are internationally renowned and respected for their skill at delineating plot and capturing character make them.

Helps readers to appreciate the full impact of impressionist aesthetics on modern British and Irish writers.

Provides an introduction to literature and its context from 1603-1688, including: - the historical, cultural and intellectual background.

Explores the ethical implication of the nearly universal human obsession with narratives.

Uses case histories of shell shock and novels by Ford Madox Ford, Rebecca West, and Virginia Woolf to show how the figure of the shell-shocked soldier and the symptoms of war trauma were transformed by the literary imagination.

Identifies a Virgil who speaks in female tones of the anxieties, exclusions pleasures and threats of the contemporary world.

Discusses a wide variety of forgotten novels by Victorian women writers and argues that these once popular but now neglected works deserve greater critical attention.

Analyzes a group of 20th century British playwrights' respective strategies for persuading audiences of the need for radical restructuring of society.

Explores Tennyson's representation of rapture as a radical mechanism of transformation and as a figure for critical processes in his own poetry.

Analysis of Terry Eagleton's influential writings that examines the arguments and implications of his major publications, as well as how they have intervened in wider debates in cultural theory.

Explores how Scott's work became an all-pervasive point of reference for cultural memory and collective identity in the nineteenth century, and why it no longer has this role.

Takes a fresh look at a familiar element of the Homeric epics and uncovers the great variety of functions fulfilled by the catalogue as a manner of speech within very different contexts.

Exploration of the influence of the Roman Augustan aesthetic on English neo-classical poets of the 17th and 18th centuries.

Highlights the energy, variety, and inventiveness of the literature written in response to events in France and the political reaction at home from 1789 to 1799.

Seeks to recover the lives and particular experiences of medieval women by concentrating on various kinds of texts.

Presents new historical perspectives and critical approaches to the classic authors and texts of English literature produced in the late 17th and 18th centuries.

Introduces Victorian literature and discusses influential critical debates and offer illuminating contextual detail to situate authors and works in their wider cultural and historical contexts.

Comprehensive guide and companion to literature that is by definition British in scope and origin, including surveys of the literatures written in English from the colonial to the postcolonial experience.

Tells how biography first developed as a popular form, and how it shaped the reputations of the early 19th-century Romantic poets.

Traces the development of English criticism from an obscure fad into a recognizable institution and a richer understanding of critical practice today.

Encyclopedic guide to British poetry up to the year 1600, featuring approximately 600 entries ranging in length from 300 to 2,500 words.

Encyclopedic guide to British poetry from 1600 to 1800.

Introduction to some of the best-loved 20th and 21st-century British poets and poetry.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Examines the works by Virginia Woolf, T.S. Eliot, and Ezra Pound in light of World War 1.

Charts the development of women's contribution to the world of letters within Great Britain from AD 700 to 1830.

Seeks to convey the original meaning and sounds of Homer's epic poem.

Argues that the English justice system underwent changes in the 16th century that, because of the system's participatory nature, had a widespread effect and a decisive impact on the development of English Renaissance drama.

Tells of the rise and development of literary tourism in 19th-century Britain, associated with authors from Shakespeare, Gray, Keats and Burns to Scott, the Brontë sisters, and Thomas Hardy.

Covers a wide range of films adapted from a variety of sources, including classic and popular literature, drama, biography, and memoir.

Offers a new critical examination of the complex and mutually-sustaining relationship between literature and science - and, more broadly, art and nature - in the early modern period.

Examines the implications of the common Victorian claim that novel reading can achieve the psychic, ethical, and affective benefits also commonly associated with sympathy in married life.

Traces the evolution of what the diaries reveal as Gladstone's central intellectual preoccupations, theology and classical scholarship,as well as the groundwork of his early Conservatism and his mature Liberalism.

Argues that various kinds of influences, inheritances, and indebtedness exist between well-known 20th century authors and canonical Romantic writers.

Connects social reform to the formal features of literary works and relationships between English and the U.S. through novel-writing.

Highlights the variety of ways the changing world of 19th-century journalism shaped the period's most popular literary form.

Comprehensive guide to the historical and cultural context of English Literature that covers the core periods of literature and history from the English Renaissance to the present.

Offers a new understanding of Victorian novels through Pre-Raphaelite paintings.

First study of English historical plays about the Turks in relation to their sources and analogues, including histories originating in Greek, Arabic, and Turkish.

Introduction to literature and culture in the Victorian period.

Humorous tour of the Western literary canon from the ancient Greeks to the Modernists.

Tracks the development of the historical novel written by women across the 20th century.

Considers Sheridan's theatrical and political commitments side by side.

Anthology of the final works of great poets.

Uses works by Shakespeare, Spenser, Jonson, and Donne to show that the seemingly contradictory presence of traditional and subversive elements in their major works actually creates the source of much of their literary achievement.

Explores the personal and cultural significances of translating as a distinctive mode of imaginative conduct for the five principal poet-translators of what was the golden age of the art in England.

Argues that the private homes in transnational women's fiction reflect public legacies of colonialism.

With primary documents and critical analysis, situates war fiction and poetry within the historical contexts of WWI and relates it to issues of diplomacy, combat, propaganda, women's perspectives, and the aftermath of war.

Examines commentary and primary documents of the Odyssey and its historical contexts.

Introduces Victorian literature and its context from 1837-1900.

Collection, introductions, and annotations of familiar and unfamiliar primary social, cultural, political and historical documents necessary for contextualising key texts from the Victorian period.

Brings together the Romantic and Victorian reception of ancient Greece and Rome and women as writers and readers in the 19th century.

Traces the dynamic emergence of Woolf's art and thought against Bloomsbury's public thinking about Europe's future in a period marked by two world wars and rising threats of totalitarianism.

The story of how a determined young woman with a notebook became one of the greatest writers of all time.

Shows how Virginia Woolf's reading affected her feminism and how her feminism affected her opinions of her reading.

Surveys the Western dramatic tradition from Ancient Greece to modern America.

Traces the art of screenwriting from the era of the studio system and the blacklist through the rise of the writer/director. (Library Journal)

Defends a rich conception of the space of literature that retains its links to issues of self-formation and metaphysics and does not let that space collapse into just another reflection of social space.

Presents a bite-sized piece of literary history that looks at the origins and composition of 50 well-known pieces of literature.

Examines the legacy of both traditional literary history and second-wave history of women's writing, challenges the standard form of reading women's writing in isolation from men's, and contests the project of recovering "lost" women writers."

Addresses women's relationship to culture between the 1st century B.C. and the 18th century A.D. by studying women's poetry in Latin.

Examines the self-conscious and complex ways in which Mary Elizabeth Braddon, Ellen Wood, and Florence Marryat used sensation as both authors and magazine editors.

Contributes to current feminist scholarship on the "gender of modernism" and challenges the assumption that modernism rose naturally or inevitably to the forefront of the cultural landscape at the turn of the 20th century.

Analyses novels written by and for women from 1945 to the present.

Examines writing in English, Irish, and Spanish by women living in Ireland and by Irish women living on the continent between 1574 and 1676.

Helps students and researchers make connections between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves.

Presents a panoramic view of literary life in Britain from 1870 to 1914, teasing out authors' relations with the reading public and tracing how reputations were made and unmade.

Examines case studies of British, Caribbean, and American poetries from the 1920s through the 1990s.

Highlights the significance of English writing between 1530 and 1580 to the formation of English nationhood and examines the impact of the break with Rome on the development of a national language, literary style, and canon.

Spans the boundaries between literary studies and history and looks at the impact of tyrannical government on the work of poets, playwrights, and prose writers of the early English Renaissance.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Opens a window onto exile in the years 1640-1680, as it is experienced across a broad spectrum of political and religious allegiances, and communicated through a rich variety of genres.

Meet Shakespeare, Heine and Hogarth south of the river, find Virginia Woolf in Bloomsbury, discover Blake and Trollope in Westminster, happen on the Carlyles in Chelsea, come across John Keats in beautiful Hampstead, and search for Bacon and Hanif Kureishi in the London suburbs.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Lists hundreds of places in Britain and Ireland and details their connections with the lives of famous writers.

Explores the personal and professional histories of writers such as, W. B. Yeats, Lady Gregory, John Millington Synge, and Sean O'Casey and examines their relationships with the people, culture, and landscapes of Ireland.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Thoughtful readings of the works of Irish writers and playwrights, including W. B. Yeats, Seamus Heaney, Oscar Wilde, and Brian Friel.

Highlights Wayne Booth's contributions to literary and rhetorical studies.

Comprehensive guide to the literary works, writers, concepts, and terms of the era spanning the years 500 to 1500 from Europe, China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and elsewhere.

Provides some of the cultural context that readers need to know in order to understand medieval literature, such as the religious orientation of the people.

Tests readers' knowledge of classic and contemporary literature.

Comprehensive information about the literary works, writers, and concepts of literature from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE in Europe, China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, the New World, Africa, and Oceania.

Uses readings of prose and poetry from both the U. S. and abroad to highlight the variety of ways modernist writers represented the quotidian details of modern life, even during times of political crisis and war.

Discusses modernist poetics and explores the peculiarities of the American literary field.

Several of today's finest writers introduce little-known treasures of literature that they count among their favorite books.

Tracks the evolution of Modernism from its emergence in the late 19th century to its recent incarnations.

Focuses on English-language literary modernism and the period 1890-1939 along with important precursors and successors of the movement.

Sshows how both modernist and postcolonial writers borrowed metaphors and concepts from geography, advancing theories of space, culture, and community within the formal structures of literary narrative.

Brings together elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art.

Anthology of Romantic authors in the 18th and 19th centuries.

Helps readers to appreciate the full impact of impressionist aesthetics on modern British and Irish writers.

Explains the very significant pleasures of reading modernist novels and demonstrates how and why reading modernist fiction can be difficult through the writings of James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Dorothy Richardson, and Djuna Barnes.

Traces the developing modernist aesthetic in the thought and writings of James Joyce, Dorothy Richardson and Virginia Woolf, Deborah Parsons and considers the cultural, social and personal influences upon the three writers.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Studies the the literature and art of the 1890s as an active and controversial participant within debates over morality, aesthetics, politics and science, as Victorian certainties began to break down.

Examines eight contemporary novels from eight cultures.

Uses contemporary poetry, essays, fiction, scientific papers, textbooks, and journalism in the first half of the 19th century to give a new account of this literature's relationship with science.

Reinterprets Stendhal's metaphor and tracks the different worlds of a wide array of 20th-century writers.

John Updike's 6th collection of literary biographies and essays on various topics.

Collection of psychoanalytic readings of literary texts and literary readings of psychoanalytic texts.

Explores contemporary feminist, postmodernist, and postcolonial women writers' use and revisions of fairy tales and myths.

Excerpts more than 200 feminist primary source documents from Africa to Asia to the Americas to Australia.

Explains the ways both regional and religious contexts inform the production, circulation and interpretation of Renaissance literary texts.

Introduction to British literature challenging traditional 18th century and Romantic studies and exploring the development of literary genres and modes in a period of rapid change.

Traces evolving treatments of female adolescence through popular women's literature.

First extended study to take seriously the relationships between literary forms and those more complex discourses of Victorian high finance.

Analyzes novels, nonfiction prose, poetry, paintings, and photographs to examine the ideological contradictions in Victorian representations of men at work.

Uses readings of a variety of novels, poems, and play to guide readers through all the major concepts, themes and issues that characterize Victorian literature.

Discusses traditional and new resources for researching this period of British literature and the ways in which those resources can be used in conjunction with one another.

Anthologies of the prose, poetry, drama, letters, diaries, court reports, newspapers, and journals of Irish writers.

Treats translations wherever appropriate as literary works in their own right from the Middle Ages to the year 2000, and reveals the vital part played by translators and translation in shaping the literary culture of the English-speaking world, both for writers and readers.

Discusses resources for both primary and secondary research of the British Romantic Era.

Examines the literary response to Sir Philip Sidney (1554-86), author of the Arcadia, Astrophil and Stella, and The Defence of Poesy, and the most immediately influential writer of the Elizabethan period.

Argues that Milton's influence in the 19th century was pervasiveness.

Defense of Victorian literature's enduring impact and importance for readers interested in the relationship between literature and life and between reading and thinking.

Re-evaluates the authors and texts generally recognized as the 'canon' of Irish literature in the light of newly-identified famine discourse.

Takes as its starting point the wide-ranging work of Marilyn Butler on Romantic literature, and includes contributions by some of the most prominent scholars of Romanticism working today.

Brings together the Romantic and Victorian reception of ancient Greece and Rome and women as writers and readers in the 19th century.

First full study of the autobiography, examining both the conditions and the practice of autobiographical writing in Romantic literature.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Covers British artistic, literary, and intellectual movements between 1780 and 1830, within the context of European, transatlantic and colonial historical and cultural interaction.

Provides students and scholars with historical and up-to-date critical and theoretical contexts for the study of Romanticism.

Introduction to British literature challenging traditional 18th century and Romantic studies and exploring the development of literary genres and modes in a period of rapid change.

Focuses on the role played by Laurence Sterne's fiction and its adaptations.

Seeks to provide an inclusive and thorough examination of romance literature in the middle ages.

Aims to put women back on the map of seventeenth-century royalist literature from which they have habitually been marginalized.

Using a wealth of literary to show that there are seven archetypal themes which recur throughout every kind of storytelling.

Focuses on the role played by Laurence Sterne's fiction and its adaptations.

Examines the intricate and unusual relationship between the sacred and secular spheres of English medieval culture.

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Seeks to recover the lives and particular experiences of medieval women by concentrating on various kinds of texts.

Examines the ways in which Catholic writers between the reigns of Mary Tudor and James I fashioned their own competing discourses of national and cultural identity.

Demonstrates the effects of the word-centeredness of the Tudor-Stuart Church of England on the literature produced during and immediately after the reigns of Elizabeth and the early Stuarts.

Assesses the complexity and fluidity of Christian identity along with debate about readmission of the Jews in 17th-century England.

Offers an understanding of Christianity's key concepts, themes, images, and characters as they relate to English literature up to the present day.

Examines the relationship between the Christianity of the medieval world and romance.

Hill's criticism of poets (including Jonson, Dryden, Hopkins, Whitman, Eliot, and Yeats ) and prose writers (such as Tyndale, Clarendon, Hobbes, Burton, Emerson, and F. H. Bradley).

Provides both background information on and new assessments of Middle English lyrics chapter by chapter according to their kinds.

Uses the study of the writings of men and women in the 17th century to argues that theoretical exclusion of women from the political sphere shaped their relation to it.

Argues against the idea that postmodernism has undermined the association between religious practice and literature and suggests that the novel has become an increasingly vital, dynamic and problematic space for engaging with the sacred.

Draws upon insights from history, theology, philosophy, and literature to connect two of the most glorious and unique truths of Christianity - its hopeful eschatology and its doctrine of a dynamic, personal Trinity.

Posits new ways of understanding the relations between devotional literature and early modern English culture.

Explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times.

Examines Dickens the Christian and shows how Christian beliefs and practices permeate his work.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Argues for the life-long influence of Catholicism on Greene's literary works.

Suggests that graveyard poetry is closely connected to the mid-century aesthetic revision of poetics.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Works chronologically through the entire text of Piers Plowman and is designed to be read alongside it.

Shows how Shakespeare uses Hamlet to comment on the Calvinistic Protestantism predominant around 1600.

Uncovers the almost unknown influences of humanism on English literature in the 15th century.

Equips readers to become better writers by introducing quality writing with over 60 classic and contemporary selections from numerous writers.

Focuses on Christian theology and post-1800 British literature, but also refers to earlier writers, texts from North America and mainland Europe, and other faith positions.

Moves seamlessly through a wide range of post-Reformation writers encountering and sometimes confronting institutional Christianity.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Places Dickens and Wilkie Collins against such important figures as John Henry Newman and George Eliot in seeking to recover their response to the religious controversies of mid-19th century England.

Profiles the censorship of many essential works of literature.

Focuses on the Book of Common Prayer's importance in England's political, intellectual, religious, and literary history.

Demonstrates ways of reading novels and stories from a Christian perspective.

Explores the complex interplay between iconoclasm against images of the Virgin Mary in post-Reformation England and stage representations that evoke various 'Marian moments' from the medieval, Catholic past.

Re-evaluates claims of Milton as anti-feminist, pointing out that he was not seen that way by contemporaries, but espoused startlingly modern ideas of marriage and the relations between the sexes.

Argues that Milton's influence in the 19th century was pervasiveness.

Traces the evolution of what the diaries reveal as Gladstone's central intellectual preoccupations, theology and classical scholarship,as well as the groundwork of his early Conservatism and his mature Liberalism.

Discussions of T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Rebecca West, and Rose Macaulay that show how their work participated in contemporary debates about journalism.

Offers the idea that the modern "crisis of faith" is not a matter of vanishing spiritual concerns and energy but rather of their disorientation, even as they remain pervasive forces in human affairs.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Asks why these ancient divisions between Catholics and Protestants were so deep, why they continued into the 19th century and how novelists and poets, theologians and preachers, historians and essayists reinterpreted the religious debates.

The Old English poems in this volume are among the first retellings of scriptural texts in a European vernacular.

Applies interdisciplinary approaches to the long and evolving relationship between English Literature and Theology.

Celebrates the work of the Welsh poet R S Thomas and illuminates the theological implications of this famous poet-priest's pilgrimage.

Systematically grounds Augustine's theological reception in the history of reading and the material culture of books and manuscripts, offers a cross-confessional account of Augustine's appropriation in early modern Europe, and and provides crucial insight into the nature of intellectual authority in the early modern period.

Offers a close analysis of novels that are uniquely representative of the 19th century, including the work of Austen, Eliot, Scott, Thackeray, Gaskell, Dickens, Trollope, Braddon, and the Bronte sisters.

Conveys the breadth and diversity of poetry in the Victorian era.

Promotes reading women's poems, rather than forming theories about them, and tells why until quite recently anthologies of English poetry contained very few poems by women.

Explains the ways both regional and religious contexts inform the production, circulation and interpretation of Renaissance literary texts.

Develops a history of literacy between the middle of the 16th century and the middle of the 17th century by focusing on how Protestant and Catholic paradigms of the Word affect the understanding of how meaning manifests itself in language.

Considers the development of modernism in the novel in relation to changing attitudes to religion.

Show that Christian humanism informs a broad and important literature and encourages a genuine diversity of thought based on reason, nature, and the accomplishments of artistic genius.

Provides an introduction to literature and its context from 1603-1688, including: - the historical, cultural and intellectual background.

Explores the lives of four Catholic women, Dorothea of Montau, Margery Kempe of Lynn, Mary Ward of Yorkshire, and Elizabeth Cary of Drury Lane, and the fate of their writings.

Shows us that in most instances style and faith remain apart, but that when the two are in accord the work are are witnesses against the enemies of truth.

Explores the complex relationships between literary intentions and theological concerns of authors writing in the second half of the 18th century.

Shows how understanding the Elizabethan religious and legal context in which Shakespeare lived illuminates many of Shakespeare's works

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Introduces Victorian literature and its context from 1837-1900.

Focuses on the work of Mary Sidney Herbert, Lady Mary Wroth and Aemilia Lanyer, Lyn Bennett to show how rhetoric enabled these poets to articulate what the 16th century rhetorician Henry Peacham called 'divine and human things'.

Positions Sayers' diverse writings within the critical climate of high modernism.

Contains the great Separatist's solus writings from 1590-1591.