Subject Guide: Literature

Discusses the use of drama as an intertext in the work of the 2nd century Latin author Apuleius, who wrote the only complete extant Latin novel, the Metamorphoses, in which a young man is turned into a donkey by magic.

Discusses the critical interpretation ofGreek and Roman novels within historical settings, both in antiquity and in the later generations that have been and continue to be inspired by them.

Investigates literary texts, documentary texts, and material culture, spanning the Greek and Roman worlds to address the basic questions of when civil war began in Rome and when it ended.

Surveys the history of poetics and provides an introduction and brief biography for each reading.

Introduces nearly 90 of the world's most entertaining classic books.

Examines the continuing impact of Greek and Roman drama, literature and art on the cultures of societies that have emerged from colonial domination.

Covers poetry from over 40 countries and the history of poetry from antiquity to the 21st century.

Guide to the history and development of feminist literature, from early fairy tales to works by great women writers of today.

Uses well-established methodologies that feminists have developed over the last 30 years to address issues related to women.

.

Excerpts more than 200 feminist primary source documents from Africa to Asia to the Americas to Australia.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Includes excerpts from 30 of the greatest works in western literature and essays about those works written by distinguished professors, lecturers, and authors.

Convincingly shows that our best allies in the struggle for more rigorous thinking, deeper faith, richer experience, and greater peace of mind may well be the imaginative writings sitting on our shelves.

Practical and amusing guide to literature and explores major themes, literary models, narrative devices, and form.

Offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts.

Looks to the ancient Greek and Roman literature and visual art to see how philosophical questions were formulated and answered.

Profiles the censorship of many essential works of literature.

Provides a critical discussion of ancient definitions of allegory and metaphor as merely ornamental 'tropes' and examines metaphor and allegory from a variety of perspectives and compare theory with ancient literary practice.

Surveys the history of Western poetry from the ancient world, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the modern period.

Guide to the classical world and its literary heritage.

Includes the work of more than 130 poets-from Asia and the Middle East to Europe and America, from ancient times to the present-and demonstrates how poetry responds to the challenges of our modern world.

Interprets the last century of the Roman republic on the assumption that the People had a coherent political ideology of its own, and that the People, with their belief in justified murder, were responsible for the breakdown of the republic in civil war.

Demonstrates that the classics are of central importance in Shakespeare's plays and in the structure of his imagination.

Identifies a Virgil who speaks in female tones of the anxieties, exclusions pleasures and threats of the contemporary world.

Captures and examines sociological insights in 32 essays that discuss scholars and writers not normally associated with any sociological school of thought.

Chronicles world literature from the Classical Age through the 20th century, discussing literary developments and the relationship between literature and the political and social climate of each historical period.

Asserts that the classics can be part of a self-conscious, prideful approach to African American culture, esthetics, and identity.

Offers 17 plays with critical commentaries that span the range of Western writing for the theatre from the Greeks to the post-moderns.

Brings together the Romantic and Victorian reception of ancient Greece and Rome and women as writers and readers in the 19th century.

Surveys the Western dramatic tradition from Ancient Greece to modern America.

Humorous tour of the Western literary canon from the ancient Greeks to the Modernists.

Presents a bite-sized piece of literary history that looks at the origins and composition of 50 well-known pieces of literature.

Addresses women's relationship to culture between the 1st century B.C. and the 18th century A.D. by studying women's poetry in Latin.

Offers an in-depth study of the role of literary revision in the compositional practices and representational strategies of Roman authors at the end of the republic and the beginning of the principate.

Presents the 25 most spiritually influential and important books for Christians to read.

Organizes Greco-Roman, Jewish, and pagan primary sources relevant to the New Testament into a comprehensible and manageable format, and points scholars to both the primary sources and the important secondary literature on these texts.

Reliable translation of important early Christian texts not included in the New Testament.

Tours the great literary works of the ages from a Christian perspective.

Looks at Prudentius' lyric poems, the Cathemerinon, Poems for the Day, which were published early in the 5th century AD.

Offers a systematic account of Christian literature between AD 100-400 and its setting.

Draws upon insights from history, theology, philosophy, and literature to connect two of the most glorious and unique truths of Christianity - its hopeful eschatology and its doctrine of a dynamic, personal Trinity.

Introduces the literature of early monasticism.

Argues that the origins of passages in the book of Acts are to be found not in early Christian legends but in the epics of Homer.

Includes earliest Christian works from the 1st to the beginnings of the medieval period along with respected contemporary writings.

Presents the earliest Christian writings in a historically meaningful order and includes writings similar in age and historical importance to the books of the New Testament.

Writings of Evagrius Ponticus, an important figure for Eastern and Western monasticism.

Introduces readers to the great narratives of classical mythology from a Christian perspective.

Survey of the writers and writings of the golden age of Greek patristic theology from the late 3rd century to the mid 5th century.

Explores the roles that women played in the production, reproduction, and dissemination of early Christian books, and how the representation of female characters was contested through the medium of writing and copying.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Examines each of Latin epics in detail, showing how the three authors Juvencus, Sedulius, and Arator repackage the New Testament as epic, and try to make a bridge between two very different cultures.

Examines each of Latin epics in detail, showing how the three authors Juvencus, Sedulius, and Arator repackage the New Testament as epic, and try to make a bridge between two very different cultures.

Covers over 500 classic and contemporary works of Christian fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama, providing a plot summary, analysis of Christian themes, and an annotated bibliography for each title.

Explores the interrelation of religion, cultural identity, politics, literature, myth, and memory by focusing on the cultural dynamics embedded in and surrounding Philostratus’s Heroikos, an early third-century C.E. dialogue about Homer and the heroes of the Trojan War.

Provides a quick and simple introduction to early Christian writings.

Introduces the reader to the primary sources of Church history with commentary.

Engages the field of Gospel studies over the last hundred years, arguing convincingly for viewing the Gospels as biographical documents of the sort common throughout the Graeco-Roman world.

An important collection of post-New Testament writings.

Recounts the story of Rome's legendary origins from the ashes of Troy and proclaims her destiny of world dominion.

Tells the story of Rome's founding by the Trojan prince Aeneas after many years of travel, and it contains many of the most famous stories about the Trojan War.

Tells the legendary story of Aeneas, a Trojan who travelled to Italy, where he became the ancestor of the Romans.

Takes a fresh look at a familiar element of the Homeric epics and uncovers the great variety of functions fulfilled by the catalogue as a manner of speech within very different contexts.

Celebrates the bi-millennium of Ovid's cycle of sophisticated and subversive didactic poems on love which purport to teach young Roman men and women how to be good lovers.

Studies on ancient (especially Latin) poetry and historiography that focuses especially on the impact of rhetoric on both genres and on the importance of the literature illuminating the historical Roman context and the historical context illuminating the literature.

Explores the relation of Apollonius of Rhodes' poem to the conditions of its writing in 3rd century BCE Alexandria, where a multicultural environment transformed the Greeks' understanding of themselves and the world.

Combines close literary analysis of Bacchylides' poetry with detailed discussion of the central role poetry played in a variety of differing political contexts throughout Greece in the early fifth century BC.

Offers a series of detailed and challenging interpretations of some of the most defining authors and texts in the history of ancient Greek poetics

Uses diverse authors to show how the wit, wisdom, and enchantment of the written word can inform and enrich nearly every aspect of life, from education and work to love and death.

Tours the great literary works of the ages from a Christian perspective.

Introduces the surviving fragments of Lewis's translation of Virgil's epic poem, which were rescued from a bonfire.

Examines the continuing impact of Greek and Roman drama, literature and art on the cultures of societies that have emerged from colonial domination.

Presents a wide range of Latin poetry and focuses on the Augustan texts and their language and literary texture.

Invites the reader to consider Roman comedy in the light of history and Roman history in the light of comedy.

Provides a fundamental grounding in Greek tragedy and introduces the various methodologies and the lively critical dialogue that characterize the study of Greek tragedy today.

Offers ideas for making Homer's timeless epic come alive for students.

Explores the genre of love elegy through 33 original essays that offer new and innovative approaches to specific elegists and the discipline as a whole.

Great works and authors of the world are introduced and reviewed artistically, intellectually, and theologically.

Investigates both the literary history of Pasiphae, Ariadne, and Phaedra (the Greek roots, the interactions between Roman versions) and their cultural resonance.

Argues that the origins of passages in the book of Acts are to be found not in early Christian legends but in the epics of Homer.

Investigates the scene of debate or agon in which with varying degrees of formality characters square up to each other and engage in a contest of words-and sets out for the first time to trace its changing representations through Homeric epic, historiography and tragedy.

Surveys the epic tradition from the 8th century BC to the 19th century of our era.

Discusses Eupolis' career, redates the plays, examines how Eupolis was known in the ancient world, explores his relationship with Aristophanes (as both rival and collaborator), and delineates the distinct nature of the comedy that this prizewinning poet created.

Addresses the wider issues of transferring any piece of theatre from a source into a target language.

Introduces readers to the great narratives of classical mythology from a Christian perspective.

Presents thematic groupings of titles built around current young adult literature for use in bridging to the classics.

Analyzes the function of humor in the Roman satirists Horace, Persius, and Juvenal.

Reassesses some of the premises and nature of Plautus' comedies.

Argues that the rich range of complex poetical texts in c.39-19 BC in Rome was the way in which different poetic genres or kinds interacted with each other and that that interaction itself was a prominent literary subject.

Includes excerpts from 30 of the greatest works in western literature and essays about those works written by distinguished professors, lecturers, and authors.

Asserts that it was the theatre of Ancient Greece, first appearing around 500 BC, that prompted the development of formalized rhetoric, which evolved soon thereafter.

One of the finest Hellenists of the second half of the 20th century deals mainly with Greek lyric poetry (Stesichorus, Pindar, Bacchylides) and Tragedy.

Offers an interdisciplinary investigation of the historical evidence for the presence of ancient Greek tragedy in the post-Restoration British theatre.

Discusses every surviving ancient Greek tragedy play in detail and provides all the background information necessary for understanding the context and content of the plays.

Introduces ancient Greek drama, which flourished principally in Athens from the sixth century BC to the third century BC.

Argues that tragedy is a medium that fuses the conceptual with the provoking and exciting of emotion, neither of which can be ignored if the texts are to be fully understood.

Celebrates Martin West's achievement with 25 papers on different areas of Greek poetry which he has illuminated.

Investigates the relationship between the chorus of Greek tragedy and other types of choral song in Greek society.

Evaluates what the Iliad furnishes to readers that makes it comprehensible and engaging.

Traces the lineage of the poems from their inception, considers the original purpose of the poems, surveys the challenges the pagan Homer presented to the early Christian world, and shows how they spread after the Reformation.

Introduces Homer and his two great epics, the Iliad and the Odyssey.

Introduction to the world in which the Odyssey was produced, to the text itself, and to its origins in oral poetry.

Seeks to convey the original meaning and sounds of Homer's epic poem.

Examines each of Latin epics in detail, showing how the three authors Juvencus, Sedulius, and Arator repackage the New Testament as epic, and try to make a bridge between two very different cultures.

Give extensive background information of Greek tragedy drama.

Overviews the historical, political, and cultural background of Greek drama and provides detailed discussions of 10 widely studied plays.

Combines a close fidelity to Ovid's text with verse that catches the speed and liveliness of the original.

Traces the evolution of what the diaries reveal as Gladstone's central intellectual preoccupations, theology and classical scholarship,as well as the groundwork of his early Conservatism and his mature Liberalism.

Uses readings of prose and poetry from both the U. S. and abroad to highlight the variety of ways modernist writers represented the quotidian details of modern life, even during times of political crisis and war.

Offers an accessible account of some of the most common metrical shapes in Roman poetry, and explains how the poets can exploit them to support, supplement, or indeed drive the meaning of the poems they carry.

Discusses all the key ancient sources for pantomime and includes an appendix of selected source texts with translations keyed to the essays.

Combines three different versions of the tragedy of the house of Atreus - A iskhylos' Agamemnon, Sophokles' Elektra and Euripides' Orestes.

Tells the story of how a classic like the Aeneidcan say different things to different people.

Provides a new reading of Metamorphoses, examining the text in light of circumstances surrounding the final years of Augustusrsquo's reign.

Offers a radical revision of the Greek myth of the first woman and argues that Pandora embodies the very idea of the ancient literary text.

Argues that comic impossibility should not be ignored in political readings or, conversely, used as a reason for excluding comedy from political interventions.

Seeks ways to isolate, characterize, and release the female voice and experience within Ovid's male-authored text.

Identifies a Virgil who speaks in female tones of the anxieties, exclusions pleasures and threats of the contemporary world.

Brings together 14 studies on Aristophanes and his fellow comic dramatists, some of which have not previously appeared in print.

Guide to the classical world and its literary heritage.

Provides an overview of each of the major poets, dramatists, prose stylists, and historians of ancient Greece and Rome.

Collection of studies about various aspects of ancient Greek tragedy.

Brings the latest scholarship to bear on the contexts, theory, and practice of the use, and abuse, of the texts, ideas, images, and material culture of ancient Greece and Rome.

Explores different ways we can understand the relationship between the real, social world in which the Athenians lived and the theatrical roles that they invented.

Asserts that the classics can be part of a self-conscious, prideful approach to African American culture, esthetics, and identity.

Offers 17 plays with critical commentaries that span the range of Western writing for the theatre from the Greeks to the post-moderns.

Examines commentary and primary documents of the Odyssey and its historical contexts.

Examines the 12 mythological and secular Virgilian centos that survive from antiquity.

Collection of 14 essays and six short responses that reconsiders Greek tragedy as a reflection of Athenian political culture.

Addresses women's relationship to culture between the 1st century B.C. and the 18th century A.D. by studying women's poetry in Latin.