Subject Guide: Literature

Offers a provocative look at some of Western civilization's most infamous authors and their literary works and shows how these works have inflicted great evil in the world and still cause suffering.

Collection of essays and extracts for the study of critical and cultural theory, as well as communications and popular culture.

Introduces students to the full range of contemporary approaches to the study of literature and culture.

Offers an introduction to literary criticism that allows readers to develop their own ideas once first principles and concepts have been grasped.

Argues that humanists need to revive the liberal arts as a progressive cultural force that offers workable ideas and inspiration in the real-world struggle to achieve social and environmental justice.

Discusses important real and imaginary places that figure into individual literary works.

Breaks down the dense language of critical theory into clear, lively, and thorough explanations of many schools of critical thought..

Provides academics and general readers with a collection of essays representing the range of feminist literary criticism.

Uses well-established methodologies that feminists have developed over the last 30 years to address issues related to women.

.

Companion for literature surveys of feminist critical and theoretical texts from over 100 writers and scholars are featured.

Comprehensive introduction to feminist theory.

Explores how character, courage, and human and moral understanding can be fostered by reflecting on the lives of others, through stories.

Introduction to modern theories of literature and the arts that demonstrates how each theory is built and what it can accomplish.

Practical and amusing guide to literature that unlocks hidden truths and discovers the world of the works.

Provides a solid foundation in the survey of literature text and the literary criticism text and then examines multiple ways of developing children's literary interpretation through talk, through culture, class, and gender, as well as through creative modes of expression, including writing, the visual arts, and drama.

Questions whether the 'theory wars' of recent years have lost sight of literature itself, and makes surprising connections between criticism and a range of subjects.

Designed for students and researchers studying the specific works representative of various literary movements.

Provides an advanced introduction to literary theory from basic information and orientation for the uninformed leading on to more sophisticated readings.

Introduces the current state of theory by placing it in its social, historical, and institutional contexts.

Definitive collection of classic statements in criticism and new theoretical work from the past few decades.

Complete, critical coverage of the careers and works of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras.

Considers crucial topics and controversies involving the field of Comparative Literature, including subjectivity, Bartolome de Las Casas, and globalization.

Explores the study of literature and literary history in light of global changes, looking at what defines world literature in the 21st century.

Commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.

Collection of essays and addresses delivered over the course of Umberto Eco's illustrious career that displays his diversity of interests and the depth of knowledge.

Considers the ways in which readers feel when they read, and how they understand ideas of feeling.

An anthology of New Criticism of American poetry which is marked by a rigorously close textual reading detached from biographical or other extra-textual material.

Reevaluates the New Critical corpus, traces its legacy, and explores resources it might offer for the future of theory, criticism, and pedagogy.

Explores how well-known women writers have influenced us in our writing and in life.

Explores the ways in which modern writers from the 1870s to the 1930s experimented with forms of life-writing - biography, autobiography, memoir, diary, journal - increasingly for the purposes of fiction.

Applies historical formalism to Shakespeare's works.

Analysis of Terry Eagleton's influential writings that examines the arguments and implications of his major publications, as well as how they have intervened in wider debates in cultural theory.

Argue for literature as a universal human endeavor rather than one defined and limited by national boundaries.

Discusses the art of the novel.

Highlights Wayne Booth's contributions to literary and rhetorical studies.

Examines the value of eudaimonic readings for interpreting texts in rich new ways and for understanding human thriving in all its forms.

Lists authors, critics, literary characters, and works from all times and places, mostly Western.

Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, & Other Creative Writers Who Died Between 1900 & 1999

Offers an overview of the most exciting area of research in contemporary cognitive psychology known as "Theory of Mind" and discusses its implications for literary studies.

Tours nearly 200 bestselling books, ferrets out their persistent themes and determines what those say about what we believe and how we relate to one another.

Instructs students in the preparation of literature reviews.

Designed for students and researchers studying the specific works representative of various literary movements.

Includes over 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

Presents a broad range of accessible, precise and authoritative definitions of the most significant terms and concepts currently used in psychoanalytic, poststructuralist, Marxist, feminist, and postcolonial literary studies.

Seeks a clearer understanding of what historicism can and cannot teach us about literary narrative.

Explores the place of the literary in theory.

Offers a compendium of key terms, concepts, and arguments necessary for the study of literature in a critical-theoretical context.

Uses extracts from the works of the leading thinkers in the field of literary criticism to introduce the main ideas at the center of today's literary and cultural debates.

Offers 185 pieces by 148 authors to help readers understand the development and current state of literary theory.

Excerpts more than 200 feminist primary source documents from Africa to Asia to the Americas to Australia.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature of British modernism between 1880 and 1945.

Discusses traditional and new resources for researching this period of British literature and the ways in which those resources can be used in conjunction with one another.

Discusses resources for both primary and secondary research of the British Romantic Era.

Seeks a clearer understanding of what historicism can and cannot teach us about literary narrative.

The author takes on his own Jewish and Hispanic upbringing with an autobiographical focus that explores the relationship between the two cultures from his own and others' experiences.

Overview of developments in literary theory after 1950.

Detailed overview of the most important thinkers and topics in the field.

Introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories.

Explores the cultural bearings of literary modernism across multiple fields, geographies, symbolic forms, and media.

Studies the relationship between literature and life and shows that literature's great cultural and cognitive value is inseparable from its fictionality and inventiveness.

Argues for a transgeographical perspective from which to study the literary and cultural histories of the Americas.

Tours the great literary works of the ages from a Christian perspective.

Shows how Shakespeare uses Hamlet to comment on the Calvinistic Protestantism predominant around 1600.

Equips readers to become better writers by introducing quality writing with over 60 classic and contemporary selections from numerous writers.

Examines patterns of ecclesiological and affective imagery in several of Milton's poems, including Lycidas, Paradise Lost, Paradise Regain'd and Samson Agonistes.

Uses the the Apostles' Creed to show that fiction and film can lead Christians to a deeper knowledge of their faith.

Brings together in a single source the best that has been written about the relationship between literature and the Christian faith.

States the case for a contemporary literary theory whose principles derive from Christian theology.

Examines Wendell Berry's main themes of community, place, and conservation in his writings

Seeks to answer the question, "What has Jesus Christ to do with English literature?"

Introduces readers to the great narratives of classical mythology from a Christian perspective.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Equips readers to become better writers by introducing quality writing with over 60 classic and contemporary selections from numerous writers.

Seeks to bring to light the vital role that religion has played in the literature of the U.S.

Moves seamlessly through a wide range of post-Reformation writers encountering and sometimes confronting institutional Christianity.

Essays on the major concerns and questions regarding literature and theology.

Uses the the Apostles' Creed to show that fiction and film can lead Christians to a deeper knowledge of their faith.

Brings together in a single source the best that has been written about the relationship between literature and the Christian faith.

Applies interdisciplinary approaches to the long and evolving relationship between English Literature and Theology.

Show that Christian humanism informs a broad and important literature and encourages a genuine diversity of thought based on reason, nature, and the accomplishments of artistic genius.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

States the case for a contemporary literary theory whose principles derive from Christian theology.

Seeks to define and explain the archetypal pattern of redemption that underlies our whole notion of resolution in literature and to demonstrate, through multiple examples, that successful literature uses this pattern in specific ways.