Subject Guide: Literature

Comprehensive history of American women writers from 1650 to 2000.

Seeks to contextualize Swift within the political arena of his day.

Profiles and works of 78 writers from the first 200 years of African American literature.

Essays on the lives and literary achievements of black American writers from the first slave narratives down to contemporary figures.

Includes 1,300 biographies mostly from the U.S.

Includes biographical and critical entries for over 120 American Realistic and Naturalistic novelists, including Henry Adams, Sherwood Anderson, Saul Bellow, Theodore Dreiser, Sinclair Lewis, and Jack London.

Spans from colonial days to the present.

A resource of 35 male and female American writers of diverse ethnic backgrounds.

Concise information on known and little-known European women writers.

Looks at the life of Andrew Marvell from his early employment as a tutor and gentleman's companion to his suspicious death, reputedly a politically fueled poisoning.

From the ravaged streets of Russia to the hard-luck streets of Hollywood, we see how Ayn Rand worked her way up from a poor immigrant girl to a working screenwriter for Cecil B. De Mille, and from a wardrobe girl at RKO to a world-famous author and philosopher.

Recovers the lost lives and poems of British women poets of the Romantic era.

Covers hundreds of writers who have made contributions to British, Irish and Commonwealth literature from the 14th century to the present day.

Learn about the books that boys love to read, uncover the signs that point to the reading gap, find creative new programming ideas to match boys' interests, and establish a strategic blueprint for boys and reading.

Includes concise biographical data on the writer and an original, signed critical essay.

Profiles of 50 modern Southern writers of essays, poems, drama, and novels.

Offers a collection of interviews with America's youngest and first female African American Poet Laureate.

The author essays include coverage of biography and achievements as well as literary and contextual analysis of major works.

Entries have been updated with regard to biographical data, listings of principal works, secondary bibliography, and timeliness of the text.

Entries have been updated with regard to biographical data, listings of principal works, secondary bibliography, and timeliness of the text.

Offers young adult readers a way to appreciate the lives and works of this special group of fiction writers.

The reading habits, intellectual development, and contributions of the cultural giants of the 20th century are traced.

Contains entries on 168 writers of African-American descent writing in all forms.

Provides a comprehensive and wide-ranging resource which includes information on many previously neglected British women writers and topics.

Considers the writings of the British dynasty family, Wollstonecraft, Godwin, and Shelley collectively.

Includes essays of authors, poets, and people from many other walks of life.

Contains brief biographical sketches, reviews of major themes, and criticism and selected bibliographical lists of works by and about 50 Western U.S. writers

Examines southern women writers and explores the craft of writing while tracing her own development from rebellious college student to award-winning author of 19 books.

Tells the story behind the creator and sustainer of the Nancy Drew series.

Offers a reassessment of the novelist and philosopher Ayn Rand and examines her life, her ideas, and her impact on conservative political thought.

Provides lively annotations for over 500 booksfor bablies and toddlers divided into the following categories: Nursery Rhymes, Fingerplays, and Songs; and Picture-Story Books for the Very Young.

Lists the publications, surveys the lives, and examines the literary careers of the major world authors

Recounts the full adventures of Harriet Jacobs, before and after slavery.

Presents career biographies and criticism of Japanese writers from between 1868-1945.

Presents career biographies and criticism of Japanese writers since World War II.

Demonstrates how Johnson's criticism has for long been divided from the issues of modern criticism by historical narratives that have marked the progress of criticism from 'classic to romantic'.

Uses previously unpublished letters by women writers to explore the act and art of writing from diverse perspectives and experiences.

Presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the 16th and 20th centuries.

Traces the literary history of Mexico, Central America, the island republics from colonial times to the present.

Highlights the lives and extraordinary careers of Latina authors, as well as the social and political issues their works address.

Offers analysis of Stael's life and mentality.

Assesses the importance of the 1750s in literary history and argues that women novelists engaged in critical renovation of the novel as a genre and reclaimed it as a proto-feminist project.

Charts Melville's growth from the bawdy storytelling of Typee - the labial melody; of his "indulgent captivity" among the Polynesians; through the spiritual preoccupations building up to Moby-Dick and such later works.

Tells how 30 popular writers were influenced to write.

Essays on the lives, work, and influence of modern American women writers.

Contains 24 essays about writers whose work touched on Japanese youth in the closing decades of the 20th century.

Includes essays and interviews with scholars and authors who reveal that despite pressures of assimilation, personal goals, and in some cases, anti-Semitism, they have never been able to divorce their lives or literature from being Jewish.

Describes the careers of over 50 of the leading authors and editors who wrote for moral, social and political improvement in society.

Features authors from various countries and cultures who have lived in a culture other than their own and written about their experiences.

Profiles 80 significant African American literature writers spanning from the 18th century to the present.

Biographical sketches and analyses of 104 best known English, Scottish, and Irish writers of long fiction from the 15th through the 20th centuries.

Shows that conceptions of privacy in the 19th century became meaningful only when posed in opposition to the encroaching forces of market capitalism and commodification.

Documents Hopkins's early family life and her ancestral connections to 19th-century New England, the African slave trade, and 20th-century race activism in the North.

Offers the 1st full-length biography of the first English-speaking person of African descent to publish a book and only the 2nd woman of any race or background to do so in America.

Includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature.

Aims to put women back on the map of seventeenth-century royalist literature from which they have habitually been marginalized.

Captures and examines sociological insights in 32 essays that discuss scholars and writers not normally associated with any sociological school of thought.

Comprehensive guide to 604 writers from the southern U.S. states.

Highlights some 330 major Spanish American novelists and poets.

Gathers the major and emerging women fiction writers from the Caribbean.

This annotated bibliography of stories for young adults from around the world and throughout the ages.

Contains essays on 116 contemporary supernatural fiction writers.

Profiles 100 writers whose work scholars deem has fundamentally established or changed how readers see the world.

Combines memoir with family history and reflections on the creatures and beings that command Silko's attention and inform her vision of the world, taking readers along on her daily walks through the arroyos and ledges of the Sonoran desert in Arizona.

Research guide for a new generation of undergraduates.

Lists Renaissance writers, a brief descriptive annotation, and relevant websites about them.

Looks at Collins's long and varied career in relation to the changing circumstances of his own life, a changing literary marketplace, and the changing worlds of 19th century Britain.

Enters the consciousness an influential figure in the history of American letters to reveal a complicated and painfully honest figure who came of age in an era of political corruption, industrial greed, and American imperialism.

Essays about the lives and accomplishments of 48 outstanding women in communication.

Women readers, editors, librarians, authors, journalists, booksellers, and others are the subjects in this stimulating new collection on modern print culture.

Collection of a wide variety of works by Spanish women writers of the 16th and 17th centuries.

Contains entries on 74 authors who were actively writing during the renaissance in 19th-century America.

Presents a panoramic view of literary life in Britain from 1870 to 1914, teasing out authors' relations with the reading public and tracing how reputations were made and unmade.

Consists of entries related to literature by and about African American women.

Analyzes the writings of five late medieval Castilian nuns who preceded Saint Teresa as authors, mystics, and individuals reacting to individual circumstances.

Illuminates the ways in which Elizabeth Bishop's Protestant childhood and reading of Christian literature, coupled with her deep commitment to agnosticism, inform the works of this former poet laureate of the U.S.

Presents Lewis's earlier years life when he studied privately and at Oxford, served in the British army, was wounded in France, entered into his affair with Janie Moore, and wrote and published his first book of poems.

The author tells the story of the spiritual transformation that produced a complete change in her literary goals.

Explores G.K. Chesterton's imaginative and spiritual development, from his early childhood in the 1870s to his intellectual maturity in the 1st decade of the twentieth century.

Reviews and critiques the works of many Christian authors who created mythological stories.

Focuses on the critically neglected area of Rossetti's devotional poetry and her prose.

Focuses on contemporary Christian authors who have achieved a wide following through at least one outstanding contribution to the market.

Gives readers the opportunity to listen in on the author's thoughtful conversations with ten contemporary writers,
especially for what they say about "wrestling with the sacred" in their writing.

Account of a streetwise and cynical newfound faith of a famous screenwriter, and of how he discovers God in the most intimate and routine moments of life.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Hightlights the writers and thinkers who most deeply influence 22 top Christian authors.

Offers a detailed look at C. S. Lewis's enchanting stories and focuses on the extraordinary intellect and imagination of the man behind the Wardrobe.

Reveals Madeleine L'Engle in all her complexity, through a series of incisive interviews with the people who knew her most intimately.

Brings together Lewis's thought from throughout his voluminous writings to provide us a full-orbed look into his beliefs on twenty-five Christian themes.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Collection of his essays and critical reviews organized around the Chronicles of Narnia, Lewis's poetry, Lewis and the two women poets with whom he had lasting relationships, and a critical perspective on the way in which critical interest in Lewis has developed over the last thirty years.

Contains an array of reflections on topics surrounding the often-perilous intersection of writing and faith.

Explores the lives of four Catholic women, Dorothea of Montau, Margery Kempe of Lynn, Mary Ward of Yorkshire, and Elizabeth Cary of Drury Lane, and the fate of their writings.

Approaches the thought of three colonial New England divines--Increase Mather, Jonathan Edwards, and Edward Taylor--from the perspective of literary theory.

Recommendations to build Christian YA collections and prepare booktalks, plan programs, and create reading lists.

Helps the reader understand the growing interest in Lewis and his work.

One reader's long, tumultuous relationship with C.S. Lewis' The Chronicles of Narnia that looks at its creator, Clive Staples Lewis.

Sheds new light on the making of the original Narnian, C. S. Lewis himself.

Organizes the philosophical themes in The Lord of the Rings into 50 categories with over 1,000 references to the text.

Analysis of Tolkien's Roman Catholicism and the role it plays in understanding his writings.

Follows the life of the reclusive classic author's precarious relationship with her parents, her hidden passions and aspirations, her secret views on religion and love, and her interactions with the men in her life, in a story told from the perspective of her younger sister, Lavinia

Offers both a detailed biography and a comprehensive appraisal of the literary achievement of Solzhenitsyn.

Madeleine L'Engle's circle of friends and peers (writers, poets, scholars, theologians) provide an intimate portrait of L'Engle and respond to her writings and mentoring influence.

Tells the full story of how Tolkien embarked on the creation of Middle-earth in his youth as the world around him was plunged into World War I.

Examines the role of war in Tolkien's life and works.

Examines Wendell Berry's main themes of community, place, and conservation in his writings

Explores Dostoevsky's critique and exploitation of the jury trial for his own ideological agenda, both in his journalism and his fiction, contextualizing his portrayal of trials and trial participants in the political, social, and ideological milieu of his time.

Focuses on the work of Mary Sidney Herbert, Lady Mary Wroth and Aemilia Lanyer, Lyn Bennett to show how rhetoric enabled these poets to articulate what the 16th century rhetorician Henry Peacham called 'divine and human things'.

Presents a panoramic view of literary life in Britain from 1870 to 1914, teasing out authors' relations with the reading public and tracing how reputations were made and unmade.

Interviews of detailed and personal stories from veteran screenwriters of the seventies and eighties focusing on their craft, their lives, and their profession.

Interviews of detailed and personal stories from 13 veteran screenwriters of the 90s, focusing on their craft, their lives, and their profession.

Account of a streetwise and cynical newfound faith of a famous screenwriter, and of how he discovers God in the most intimate and routine moments of life.

Examines this Pulitzer Prize winning legend with a meticulously researched, sensitive look at the life and work of a major American screenwriter.

Tells of 13 screenwriters who are internationally renowned and respected for their skill at delineating plot and capturing character make them.

Fifty screenwriters share how they broke into the business, how they transformed their ideas into box-office blockbusters, how their words helped launch the careers of major stars, and how they earned accolades and Academy Awards.

Brings alive Lawson's era of screenwriting and drama in the 1930s and 1940s and features many of his prominent friends and associates.

Traces the art of screenwriting from the era of the studio system and the blacklist through the rise of the writer/director. (Library Journal)

Examines the role played by the men and women who help presidents find the words they hope will define their places in history - from FDR to George W. Bush.