Subject Guide: Literature

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Uses the motif of the mentor-lover to explore, evaluate and compare the works of Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë and George Eliot as they contend with issues of sexuality, family, selfhood, freedom, conduct and gender.

Uses botanical language to read courtship novels from Jane Austen to George Eliot and Henry James.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Highlights Wayne Booth's contributions to literary and rhetorical studies.

Offers new interpretations that demonstrate the awareness that Austen's awareness of her narrative practice and of the novel's function as a social and political instrument.

Addresses these intriguing questions as What makes a work of literature good or bad? How freely can the reader interpret it? Could a nursery rhyme like Baa Baa Black Sheep be full of concealed loathing, resentment, and aggression?

A study of the history of reading Jane Austen's novels.

Argues that Austen was a writer steeped in the Enlightenment and that her allegiance to a skeptical tradition within it lasted throughout her career.

Investigates how Austen worked with, and played upon, the cracks and faultlines which time had uncovered in the ideals of polite conversation.

Shows how Jane Austen was sometimes wildly venerated for markedly different reasons.

Incorporates the findings of new scholarship to enrich our understanding of Austen and give us the fullest and most revealing view yet of her life and family.

Offers a new way of approaching and reading of Jane Austen through her texts, the development of English Studies, and the role of Oxford University Press in shaping a canon of English texts in the 20th century.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Uses Jane Austen's discovered memoirs to delves into the secrets of Jane Austen's life, giving us untold insights into her mind and heart.

Asserts that Jane Austen's novels allude to actual high-profile politicians and contemporary celebrities as well as to famous historical figures and landed estates.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Presents an original and lucid account of the relationship between philosophy and the novel.

Addresses Willa Cather and Mary Austin as central figures in a women's tradition of the pictured West.

An illustrated and annotated edition of Jane Austen's favorite and most popular work.

Offers a close analysis of novels that are uniquely representative of the 19th century, including the work of Austen, Eliot, Scott, Thackeray, Gaskell, Dickens, Trollope, Braddon, and the Bronte sisters.

Takes as its starting point the wide-ranging work of Marilyn Butler on Romantic literature, and includes contributions by some of the most prominent scholars of Romanticism working today.

With humor and spirit, the author leads readers through landscapes Jane knew and loved and through emotional landscapes in which grace and hope take the place of stagnation and despair.

Tests readers' knowledge of classic and contemporary literature.

Uses the motif of the mentor-lover to explore, evaluate and compare the works of Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë and George Eliot as they contend with issues of sexuality, family, selfhood, freedom, conduct and gender.

Details events in the lives of the Bronte sisters and their associates.

Shows us how the Brontës became cultural symbols almost as soon as their novels were published and how they became notorious even before the veil dropped from their carefully chosen pseudonyms

Dispells the myths about the Brontës, yet provides startling new compelling information about them.

Comprehensive guide to the writings, characters, achievements, and personal history of the Brontes.

Paints a detailed picture of everyday life at Haworth in the 1840s, recounting the Brontes family history and describing the local village and surrounding countryside.

Draws on the latest research and the best available scholarship while offering new perspectives on the writings of the Bront sisters.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Great works and authors of the world are introduced and reviewed artistically, intellectually, and theologically.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Explores the literary dialectic that began with the 1848 publication of Charlotte Bront and novels by American writers that were direct or indirect reactions to it.

Tells of the rise and development of literary tourism in 19th-century Britain, associated with authors from Shakespeare, Gray, Keats and Burns to Scott, the Brontë sisters, and Thomas Hardy.

Provides comprehensive and detailed information about the lives, works, and reputations of the Bronts.

Provides both the theoretical framework and historical background of Brontë's novels and explores how disease and illness work within a larger cultural framework.

Offers a close analysis of novels that are uniquely representative of the 19th century, including the work of Austen, Eliot, Scott, Thackeray, Gaskell, Dickens, Trollope, Braddon, and the Bronte sisters.

Tests readers' knowledge of classic and contemporary literature.

Considers how Byron, Dickens, Tennyson, and Joyce responded to public speakers and examines the ways in which they conceived the relations between political speech and literary endeavor.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Focuses on the distinctive features of literary culture in the years after Water, the years the publishing industry began serving a mass readership, and the novels of Walter Scott, Byron's Don Juan, and the new literary magazines.

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Explores the textual environment of London in the 1380s and 1390s, revealing a language of betrayal, surveillance, slander, treason, rebellion, flawed idealism, and corrupted campaigns.

Surveys the critical literature from the late Middle Ages to the contemporary period to show how editors and critics constructed various voices as a response to Chaucer's work.

Re-examines the linguistic, literary, and cultural identities of England and France within the context of the Hundred Years War.

Includes excerpts from 30 of the greatest works in western literature and essays about those works written by distinguished professors, lecturers, and authors.

Uncovers the almost unknown influences of humanism on English literature in the 15th century.

Lists hundreds of places in Britain and Ireland and details their connections with the lives of famous writers.

Analyses of space map a variety of ways medieval narratives encoded meaning.

Provides some of the cultural context that readers need to know in order to understand medieval literature, such as the religious orientation of the people.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Tests readers' knowledge of classic and contemporary literature.

Compares the factual details of an event, political or artistic movement, or life with the literary treatment it inspired.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Tells of the American reception of Joseph Conrad and its crucial role in the formation of American modernism.

Compares the writings of Joseph Conrad, Jean Rhys, and Pramoedya Ananta Toer.

Helps readers to appreciate the full impact of impressionist aesthetics on modern British and Irish writers.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Analyses of literary texts and historical sources to show how a culture return to peace after a war.

Uses the motif of the mentor-lover to explore, evaluate and compare the works of Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë and George Eliot as they contend with issues of sexuality, family, selfhood, freedom, conduct and gender.

Uses botanical language to read courtship novels from Jane Austen to George Eliot and Henry James.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Discusses Darwin as an artist and writer even more influential than his great contemporaries Dickens, George Eliot, and Tennyson.

Includes essays of authors, poets, and people from many other walks of life.

Traces the course of that development from George Eliot's initial Christian culture, through her loss of faith and working out of a humanistic and cautiously progressive world view, to the thought-provoking achievements of her novels.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Moves seamlessly through a wide range of post-Reformation writers encountering and sometimes confronting institutional Christianity.

Places Dickens and Wilkie Collins against such important figures as John Henry Newman and George Eliot in seeking to recover their response to the religious controversies of mid-19th century England.

Argues that Milton's influence in the 19th century was pervasiveness.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Tells of the rise and development of literary tourism in 19th-century Britain, associated with authors from Shakespeare, Gray, Keats and Burns to Scott, the Brontë sisters, and Thomas Hardy.

Insightful study of British fiction in the first half of the 20th century.

Revisits the Bildungsroman genre with a special interest in self-development and identity, as well as the viability of the classical concept of Bildung in the modernist era.

Using a wealth of literary to show that there are seven archetypal themes which recur throughout every kind of storytelling.

Offers an original approach to Hardy's art as a novelist and entirely new readings of certain musical scenes in Hardy's works.

Considers how Byron, Dickens, Tennyson, and Joyce responded to public speakers and examines the ways in which they conceived the relations between political speech and literary endeavor.

Explains the very significant pleasures of reading modernist novels and demonstrates how and why reading modernist fiction can be difficult through the writings of James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Dorothy Richardson, and Djuna Barnes.

Brings together elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art.

Explores the cultural bearings of literary modernism across multiple fields, geographies, symbolic forms, and media.

Re-evaluates the authors and texts generally recognized as the 'canon' of Irish literature in the light of newly-identified famine discourse.

Shows how the jazz of Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Fats Waller, Billie Holiday and Charlie Parker fit into the great tradition of the modern arts and literature between 1920 and 1950.

Tracks the evolution of Modernism from its emergence in the late 19th century to its recent incarnations.

Moves seamlessly through a wide range of post-Reformation writers encountering and sometimes confronting institutional Christianity.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Discussions of T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Rebecca West, and Rose Macaulay that show how their work participated in contemporary debates about journalism.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Insightful study of British fiction in the first half of the 20th century.

Clusters the work of five masters - Anton Chekhov, James Joyce, Ernest Hemingway, Flannery O'Connor, and Raymond Carver - to offer a poetics of the form for students and scholars.

Traces the developing modernist aesthetic in the thought and writings of James Joyce, Dorothy Richardson and Virginia Woolf, Deborah Parsons and considers the cultural, social and personal influences upon the three writers.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Sshows how both modernist and postcolonial writers borrowed metaphors and concepts from geography, advancing theories of space, culture, and community within the formal structures of literary narrative.

Offers a Catholic monk's take on the Harry Potter series.

Exploring children's classics from many eras and relating them to the authors who wrote them.

Proposes new theoretical frameworks for understanding the contradictory ways masculinity is represented in popular texts consumed by boys in the United States.

Draws on a wider range of intellectual traditions to explore the Harry Potter novels, including moral-theological analysis, psychoanalytic perspectives, and philosophy of technology.

A uniquely in-depth study of the crossover novel, Falconer engages with a ground-breaking range of sources, from primary texts, to child and adult reader responses, to cultural and critical theory.

Companion to the Harry Potter books and the life and her literary influences of the author, J. K. Rowling.

Surveys 400 English children's fantasies from 1850 to 2000.

Proposes that far from being 'wicked' or 'Satanic,' the Harry Potter books are in fact narratives of robust faith and morality.

Explores the world of magic and mystery created by J. K. Rowling alongside the stories and grand themes of the Bible.

A guide to the history behind the world of Harry Potter.

Takes readers on a journey through the transformative power of those themes for both the individual and for culture by placing Rowling's series in its literary, historical, and cultural contexts.

Academic philosophers apply their field to the Harry Potter series.

Examination of the Harry Potter series by scholars from various disciplines as both cultural product and social text.

Points out general themes in the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and J.K. Rowling and matches them to the ancient motifs of the biblical writings.

Addresses these intriguing questions as What makes a work of literature good or bad? How freely can the reader interpret it? Could a nursery rhyme like Baa Baa Black Sheep be full of concealed loathing, resentment, and aggression?

Tracks the evolution of Modernism from its emergence in the late 19th century to its recent incarnations.

Gives analysis and criticism on recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Gives analysis and criticism on recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Profiles the censorship of many essential works of literature.

Gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach Christian truth to children.

A distinctive photo essay about the life of J. K. Rowling and the making of Harry Potter

Explains how J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter series not only entertain but also teach deeply held truths about ourselves, others, and the world around us.

Analyzes the social and political implications of the Harry Potter phenomenon.

Considers the psychological and social-developmental experiences of children as mirrored in Rowling's novels, examines the works' literary and historical contexts, and focuses on the social values underlying the Potter series and on issues such as morality, the rule of law, and constructions of bravery.

Examines Rowling's life and work and tackle the controversies, both artistic and moral, surrounding the Harry Potter books.

Scholarly treatment of the Harry Potter series.

Uses the J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series to explore the limits of the formulaic structure of adolescent fantasy fiction and also examines the impulse of exploration, subversion, and resistance contained within the formula.

Introduces the themes and patterns J.K. Rowlings to understand the story behind the stories.

Tests readers' knowledge of classic and contemporary literature.

Tours nearly 200 bestselling books, ferrets out their persistent themes and determines what those say about what we believe and how we relate to one another.

Lists words that appear in Shakespeare's plays and in which play they are found.

Describes the physical surroundings and objects of Shakespeare's world.

Focuses on representative literary works that illustrate turns in the history of individuality and subjectivity and the changes in ones relations with community and society.

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Explores the relationship between the plays of William Shakespeare and the writings of Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle.

Reveals in the works of Shakespeare and his sources the figure of the citizen-saint, who represents at once divine messenger and civil servant, both norm and exception.

Great works and authors of the world are introduced and reviewed artistically, intellectually, and theologically.

Demonstrates that philosophy, history, politics and social theory both influence and are influenced by 18th century literature.

Facts about Shakespeare's life and works.

Draws upon insights from history, theology, philosophy, and literature to connect two of the most glorious and unique truths of Christianity - its hopeful eschatology and its doctrine of a dynamic, personal Trinity.

Highlights Wayne Booth's contributions to literary and rhetorical studies.

Presents thematic groupings of titles built around current young adult literature for use in bridging to the classics.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Includes excerpts from 30 of the greatest works in western literature and essays about those works written by distinguished professors, lecturers, and authors.

Shows how Shakespeare uses Hamlet to comment on the Calvinistic Protestantism predominant around 1600.

Practical and amusing guide to literature that unlocks hidden truths and discovers the world of the works.

Addresses these intriguing questions as What makes a work of literature good or bad? How freely can the reader interpret it? Could a nursery rhyme like Baa Baa Black Sheep be full of concealed loathing, resentment, and aggression?

Traces the process through which Spenser, Shakespeare, Milton, and others adapted, revised, or resisted romance, mapping a world of increasingly uncertain allegiances and affiliations.

Tells of the rise and development of literary tourism in 19th-century Britain, associated with authors from Shakespeare, Gray, Keats and Burns to Scott, the Brontë sisters, and Thomas Hardy.

Collection of psychoanalytic readings of literary texts and literary readings of psychoanalytic texts.

Covers a wide range of films adapted from a variety of sources, including classic and popular literature, drama, biography, and memoir.

Meet Shakespeare, Heine and Hogarth south of the river, find Virginia Woolf in Bloomsbury, discover Blake and Trollope in Westminster, happen on the Carlyles in Chelsea, come across John Keats in beautiful Hampstead, and search for Bacon and Hanif Kureishi in the London suburbs.

Offers a new critical examination of the complex and mutually-sustaining relationship between literature and science - and, more broadly, art and nature - in the early modern period.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Shows how Romantic nationalism in Britain explored irony's potential as a powerful source of civic cohesion.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

The most comprehensive coverage available on all aspects of Shakespeare's life and works.

Acting, clerics, divine right, fidelity, fools, gender, honor, language, love, male friendship, marriage, etc.

Examines the impact of theology on Shakespeare's poetry.

Examines the religious background of Shakespeare's works and helps students use his plays to understand religion in Elizabethan England.

Using a wealth of literary to show that there are seven archetypal themes which recur throughout every kind of storytelling.

Applies historical formalism to Shakespeare's works.

Deals with the topic of Shakespeare and religion from the history and postmodern philosophy and theology.

Demonstrates that the classics are of central importance in Shakespeare's plays and in the structure of his imagination.

Brings together 16 original essays by leading scholars who examine Shakespeare's works in light of this new scholarship: their goal is to explore a possible interpretive consensus from Protestant, Catholic, and secular perspectives.

Argues that throughout his career Shakespeare positioned his writing politically and ideologically in relation to the ongoing and changing church-state controversies.

Examines the ways in which William Shakespeare's stories have been adapted for children, particularly in Mary and Charles Lamb's Tales from Shakespeare in 1807.

Explores Shakespeare's understanding and use of the metaphor body politic in a range of plays.

Covers the plays, the life of Shakespeare, his world continuing influence on modern culture.

Captures and examines sociological insights in 32 essays that discuss scholars and writers not normally associated with any sociological school of thought.

Explores Shakespeare's thoroughgoing engagement with the religious culture of his time.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Anthology of the final works of great poets.

Uses works by Shakespeare, Spenser, Jonson, and Donne to show that the seemingly contradictory presence of traditional and subversive elements in their major works actually creates the source of much of their literary achievement.

Shows how understanding the Elizabethan religious and legal context in which Shakespeare lived illuminates many of Shakespeare's works

Tests readers' knowledge of classic and contemporary literature.

The author recounts the story of his life through Shakespeare, and in turn shows us what Shakespeare can tell us about the world.

Considers how Byron, Dickens, Tennyson, and Joyce responded to public speakers and examines the ways in which they conceived the relations between political speech and literary endeavor.

Discusses Darwin as an artist and writer even more influential than his great contemporaries Dickens, George Eliot, and Tennyson.

Explores Tennyson's representation of rapture as a radical mechanism of transformation and as a figure for critical processes in his own poetry.

Studies the the literature and art of the 1890s as an active and controversial participant within debates over morality, aesthetics, politics and science, as Victorian certainties began to break down.

Examines the relationship between theology, faith, religious history and national politics in the works of Oscar Wilde.

Explores the cultural bearings of literary modernism across multiple fields, geographies, symbolic forms, and media.

Thoughtful readings of the works of Irish writers and playwrights, including W. B. Yeats, Seamus Heaney, Oscar Wilde, and Brian Friel.

Explores the meteoric rise, sudden fall, and legendary resurgence of an immensely influential writer's reputation from his hectic 1881 American lecture tour to recent Hollywood adaptations of his dramas.

Revisits the Bildungsroman genre with a special interest in self-development and identity, as well as the viability of the classical concept of Bildung in the modernist era.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Explains the very significant pleasures of reading modernist novels and demonstrates how and why reading modernist fiction can be difficult through the writings of James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Dorothy Richardson, and Djuna Barnes.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Brings together elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art.

Examines the works by Virginia Woolf, T.S. Eliot, and Ezra Pound in light of World War 1.

Tracks the evolution of Modernism from its emergence in the late 19th century to its recent incarnations.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Meet Shakespeare, Heine and Hogarth south of the river, find Virginia Woolf in Bloomsbury, discover Blake and Trollope in Westminster, happen on the Carlyles in Chelsea, come across John Keats in beautiful Hampstead, and search for Bacon and Hanif Kureishi in the London suburbs.

Discussions of T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Rebecca West, and Rose Macaulay that show how their work participated in contemporary debates about journalism.

Explores and celebrates the rise and development of modernist and avant-garde literatures and theories of this particular period, from Imagism to the Apocalypse movement.

Insightful study of British fiction in the first half of the 20th century.

Helps readers to appreciate the full impact of impressionist aesthetics on modern British and Irish writers.

Uses case histories of shell shock and novels by Ford Madox Ford, Rebecca West, and Virginia Woolf to show how the figure of the shell-shocked soldier and the symptoms of war trauma were transformed by the literary imagination.

Traces the developing modernist aesthetic in the thought and writings of James Joyce, Dorothy Richardson and Virginia Woolf, Deborah Parsons and considers the cultural, social and personal influences upon the three writers.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Traces the dynamic emergence of Woolf's art and thought against Bloomsbury's public thinking about Europe's future in a period marked by two world wars and rising threats of totalitarianism.

The story of how a determined young woman with a notebook became one of the greatest writers of all time.

Shows how Virginia Woolf's reading affected her feminism and how her feminism affected her opinions of her reading.

Takes readers through modernism's most famous poems and some of its forgotten highlights to show why modernists thought difficulty and disorientation essential for poetry in the modern world.

Hill's criticism of poets (including Jonson, Dryden, Hopkins, Whitman, Eliot, and Yeats ) and prose writers (such as Tyndale, Clarendon, Hobbes, Burton, Emerson, and F. H. Bradley).

Brings together elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art.

Thoughtful readings of the works of Irish writers and playwrights, including W. B. Yeats, Seamus Heaney, Oscar Wilde, and Brian Friel.

Explores the personal and professional histories of writers such as, W. B. Yeats, Lady Gregory, John Millington Synge, and Sean O'Casey and examines their relationships with the people, culture, and landscapes of Ireland.

Present six key modernist poem in the light of emergent modernism.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Examines a range of Elizabeth Barrett Browning's poems drawn from across her career, to explore the concern with the search for a meaningful home which underpins much of her writing.

Analyzes the bond between lyric poetry and silence in women's sonnets ranging from the late 18th-century works of Charlotte Smith, Helen Maria Williams, and Anna Maria Smallpiece to Victorian texts by Elizabeth Barrett, Christina Rossetti, Isabella Southern, and other, lesser-known female poets.

Offers a provocative look at some of Western civilization's most infamous authors and their literary works and shows how these works have inflicted great evil in the world and still cause suffering.

Presents the 25 most spiritually influential and important books for Christians to read.

Uses diverse authors to show how the wit, wisdom, and enchantment of the written word can inform and enrich nearly every aspect of life, from education and work to love and death.

The author tells the story of the spiritual transformation that produced a complete change in her literary goals.

Analyzes Gilbert Keith Chesterton and his late 19th and early 20th century fiction.

Explores G.K. Chesterton's imaginative and spiritual development, from his early childhood in the 1870s to his intellectual maturity in the 1st decade of the twentieth century.

This book links the concepts of patriotism, Christianity, and nationhood in the journalistic writings of G.K. Chesterton.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Practical and amusing guide to literature that unlocks hidden truths and discovers the world of the works.

Reveals which books and authors have shaped the author's life—from classic works of English literature to hard-boiled detective novels, and everything in between.

Essays on the major concerns and questions regarding literature and theology.

Show that Christian humanism informs a broad and important literature and encourages a genuine diversity of thought based on reason, nature, and the accomplishments of artistic genius.

Considers how Byron, Dickens, Tennyson, and Joyce responded to public speakers and examines the ways in which they conceived the relations between political speech and literary endeavor.

An overview of the work that features a biographical sketch of the author, a list of characters, a summary of the plot, and critical and analytical views of the work.

Examines the origins of Dickens vision of the French Revolution, the literary power of the text itself, and its enduring place in British culture through stage and screen adaptations.

Great works and authors of the world are introduced and reviewed artistically, intellectually, and theologically.

Uses Dicken's four books - Nicholas Nickelby, Barnaby Rudge, American Notes, and Martin Chuzzlewit - to show how his traditional social philosophy lies at the heart of Dickens's artistic achievement.

A wide-ranging alphabetical companion to Dickens's novels that excavates the hidden links between his characters, themes, and preoccupations, and the minutiae of his endlessly inventive wordplay.

Analyzes novels, nonfiction prose, poetry, paintings, and photographs to examine the ideological contradictions in Victorian representations of men at work.

Examines Dickens the Christian and shows how Christian beliefs and practices permeate his work.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Emphasizes the complexity, difficulty, and rare pleasures of the Victorian writers' strenuous efforts both to entertain and to teach.

Places Dickens and Wilkie Collins against such important figures as John Henry Newman and George Eliot in seeking to recover their response to the religious controversies of mid-19th century England.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Connects social reform to the formal features of literary works and relationships between English and the U.S. through novel-writing.

Lists hundreds of places in Britain and Ireland and details their connections with the lives of famous writers.

Offers a close analysis of novels that are uniquely representative of the 19th century, including the work of Austen, Eliot, Scott, Thackeray, Gaskell, Dickens, Trollope, Braddon, and the Bronte sisters.

Introduces Victorian literature and its context from 1837-1900.

Presents a panoramic view of literary life in Britain from 1870 to 1914, teasing out authors' relations with the reading public and tracing how reputations were made and unmade.

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Offers an understanding of Christianity's key concepts, themes, images, and characters as they relate to English literature up to the present day.

Offers a comprehensive account of the literary and theological background to English devotional poetry of the seventeenth century, concentrating on Donne, Herbert, Vaughan and Crashaw.

Practical and amusing guide to literature that unlocks hidden truths and discovers the world of the works.

Explores Donne's divine poetry, his prose work, the Devotions Upon Emergent Occassions, and his sermons.

Argues the thesis that John Donne's poetry can now profit from being read in the context of early modern cultural experience, specifically its visual culture.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Develops a history of literacy between the middle of the 16th century and the middle of the 17th century by focusing on how Protestant and Catholic paradigms of the Word affect the understanding of how meaning manifests itself in language.

Provides an introduction to literature and its context from 1603-1688, including: - the historical, cultural and intellectual background.

Anthology of the final works of great poets.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Uses works by Shakespeare, Spenser, Jonson, and Donne to show that the seemingly contradictory presence of traditional and subversive elements in their major works actually creates the source of much of their literary achievement.

Tours the great literary works of the ages from a Christian perspective.

Takes readers through modernism's most famous poems and some of its forgotten highlights to show why modernists thought difficulty and disorientation essential for poetry in the modern world.

Hill's criticism of poets (including Jonson, Dryden, Hopkins, Whitman, Eliot, and Yeats ) and prose writers (such as Tyndale, Clarendon, Hobbes, Burton, Emerson, and F. H. Bradley).

Brings together elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art.

Includes essays of authors, poets, and people from many other walks of life.

Explores the cultural bearings of literary modernism across multiple fields, geographies, symbolic forms, and media.

Analyzes novels, nonfiction prose, poetry, paintings, and photographs to examine the ideological contradictions in Victorian representations of men at work.

Tracks the evolution of Modernism from its emergence in the late 19th century to its recent incarnations.

Moves seamlessly through a wide range of post-Reformation writers encountering and sometimes confronting institutional Christianity.

Provides scholars with the necessary methods and tools for studying literature produced between 1880 and 1945.

Explores and celebrates the rise and development of modernist and avant-garde literatures and theories of this particular period, from Imagism to the Apocalypse movement.

Discussions of T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Rebecca West, and Rose Macaulay that show how their work participated in contemporary debates about journalism.

Examines case studies of British, Caribbean, and American poetries from the 1920s through the 1990s.

Provides a student resource to understand the tradition of Christianity in English literature.

Examines the works by Virginia Woolf, T.S. Eliot, and Ezra Pound in light of World War 1.

Chronological survey of major influences on T.S. Eliot's worldview that covers the poet's spiritual and intellectual evolution in stages.

Offers the idea that the modern "crisis of faith" is not a matter of vanishing spiritual concerns and energy but rather of their disorientation, even as they remain pervasive forces in human affairs.

Lists hundreds of places in Britain and Ireland and details their connections with the lives of famous writers.

Applies interdisciplinary approaches to the long and evolving relationship between English Literature and Theology.

Show that Christian humanism informs a broad and important literature and encourages a genuine diversity of thought based on reason, nature, and the accomplishments of artistic genius.

Argues that Eliot's poetry (and drama and criticism) can be seen as a unified and coherent body of work.

Nuanced, discerning account of a life famously flawed in its search for perfection.

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Offers a comprehensive account of the literary and theological background to English devotional poetry of the seventeenth century, concentrating on Donne, Herbert, Vaughan and Crashaw.

A definitive scholarly edition of Herbert's complete English poems, accompanied by extensive explanatory and textual apparatus.

Studies and compares the poetry of George Herbert and R.S. Thomas.

Presents the 25 most spiritually influential and important books for Christians to read.

Shows how to discover the truest reality in Aslan, the lion in Narnia and Christ in this life.

Explore C.S. Lewis's life, works, and the world of Narnia the fun and easy way.

Introduces the surviving fragments of Lewis's translation of Virgil's epic poem, which were rescued from a bonfire.

Presents Lewis's earlier years life when he studied privately and at Oxford, served in the British army, was wounded in France, entered into his affair with Janie Moore, and wrote and published his first book of poems.

Reviews and critiques the works of many Christian authors who created mythological stories.

Great works and authors of the world are introduced and reviewed artistically, intellectually, and theologically.

Challenges the standard interpretation that Lewis, Tolkien, Charles Williams, Owen Barfield, and the other Inklings had little influence on one another's work.

A uniquely in-depth study of the crossover novel, Falconer engages with a ground-breaking range of sources, from primary texts, to child and adult reader responses, to cultural and critical theory.

Covers the six decades since the end of World War II.

Highlights spiritual treasures below the surface of C. S. Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia.

Shows how Narnia relates to other imaginative worlds and children's literature about the history within the stories of Narnia and how Narnia fits into Lewis's other work.

Explores the deep spiritual themes of redemption and grace found in the popular Chronicles of Narnia series by C. S. Lewis.

Surveys 400 English children's fantasies from 1850 to 2000.

Enables C. S. Lewis enthusiasts to gain access and understanding into the mind of the author of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and the creator of the world of Narnia.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

Explores the great moral themes of Lewis's seven-volume Chronicles of Narnia series, paying particular attention to key vices and virtues.

Leads readers into a deeper understanding of Christ and will help them discover how these tales by C. S. Lewis beautifully expose a dynamic, joyful, loving God who wants his creatures to experience deep joy and delight.

Points out general themes in the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and J.K. Rowling and matches them to the ancient motifs of the biblical writings.

Practical and amusing guide to literature and explores major themes, literary models, narrative devices, and form.

Explores symbols, hidden meanings, and easily missed details that swirl in and around Lewis's The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

Offers a detailed look at C. S. Lewis's enchanting stories and focuses on the extraordinary intellect and imagination of the man behind the Wardrobe.

Essays on the major concerns and questions regarding literature and theology.

Helps the reader understand the growing interest in Lewis and his work.

Explains the origins of C.S. Lewis's Narnia.

One reader's long, tumultuous relationship with C.S. Lewis' The Chronicles of Narnia that looks at its creator, Clive Staples Lewis.

Covers over 500 classic and contemporary works of Christian fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama, providing a plot summary, analysis of Christian themes, and an annotated bibliography for each title.

Examines the important ways in which Lewis so clearly echoes Edmund Spenser's The Faerie Queen and John Milton's Paradise Lost in The Chronicles of Narnia.

Sheds new light on the making of the original Narnian, C. S. Lewis himself.

Reveals the spiritual world of Narnia as seen through the main characters' interactions with Aslan the Lion.

Collection of his essays and critical reviews organized around the Chronicles of Narnia, Lewis's poetry, Lewis and the two women poets with whom he had lasting relationships, and a critical perspective on the way in which critical interest in Lewis has developed over the last thirty years.

Examines The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe from Lewis's point of view, shedding light on his imagination and use of literary forms.

Provides a guided tour of Prince Caspian that highlights characters, setting and framework, with rich background details to enhance your reading of the story.

Theologists, psychologists, academics, feminists and fantasists offer humor, insight, and fresh perspectives on the Chronicles of Narnia series.

Unveils a fun-filled world based on intriguing Bible insights for every Narniac!

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Shows that the best way to enter Narnia is to read the Chronicles of Narnia as fairy tales.

Explores Christian themes in C.S. Lewis's children's stories.

Examines this British Victorian writer's employment of female figures to represent Deity.

Reviews and critiques the works of many Christian authors who created mythological stories.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Focuses on representative literary works that illustrate turns in the history of individuality and subjectivity and the changes in ones relations with community and society.

Assesses the complexity and fluidity of Christian identity along with debate about readmission of the Jews in 17th-century England.

Uses the study of the writings of men and women in the 17th century to argues that theoretical exclusion of women from the political sphere shaped their relation to it.

Challenges the widely accepted view of Milton as a poet of absolute, unquestioning certainty.

Offers a close reading of pivotal passages and critical concerns in 'Paradise Lost' and examines Milton's presentation of Adam and Eve's relationship through the intersections of theology and gender in the poem.

Practical and amusing guide to literature that unlocks hidden truths and discovers the world of the works.

Traces the process through which Spenser, Shakespeare, Milton, and others adapted, revised, or resisted romance, mapping a world of increasingly uncertain allegiances and affiliations.

Assesses Milton's significance to the development of early modern English political thought, his conception of the English nation, and his response to pressures exerted by a secular modernity grounded on international commercial activities.

Examines how a literary tradition of dissent against joining the state church after the return of monarchy in 1660 was produced by those who suffered political defeat and religious exclusion in Restoration England.

Challenges many received ideas about Milton's brand of Christianity, philosophy, and poetry.

Re-evaluates claims of Milton as anti-feminist, pointing out that he was not seen that way by contemporaries, but espoused startlingly modern ideas of marriage and the relations between the sexes.

Argues for the necessity of reading Milton's poetry within contemporary theological concerns and debates.

Addresses Milton's treatment of millennial and apocalyptic ideas, topics of major importance in the religious and philosophical thought of his day.

Considers how John Milton's later works demonstrate the intensive struggle of spiritual reading.

Argues that Milton's influence in the 19th century was pervasiveness.

Offers a wide-ranging exploration of how Milton's visions of tolerance reveal deeper movements in the history of the imagination.

Presents extensive information about John Milton.

Highlights the importance of Stanley Fish to Milton studies and provides major insights into the nature of Miltons works.

Examines patterns of ecclesiological and affective imagery in several of Milton's poems, including Lycidas, Paradise Lost, Paradise Regain'd and Samson Agonistes.

Examines the important ways in which Lewis so clearly echoes Edmund Spenser's The Faerie Queen and John Milton's Paradise Lost in The Chronicles of Narnia.

An account of the life, times, politics, loves, and letters of the great English poet John Milton.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Combines commentaries on Milton's Paradise Lost in the last three centuries.

Explains the ways both regional and religious contexts inform the production, circulation and interpretation of Renaissance literary texts.

Provides an introduction to literature and its context from 1603-1688, including: - the historical, cultural and intellectual background.

Traces the path of friendship through Miltons epistolary friendship with Charles Diodati, his elegies, divorce pamphlets and poems.

Studies the figure of God as a literary character in the writings of John Milton.

Focuses on Paradise Lost and Samson Agonistes and uses feminist and relational psychoanalytic theory to study the challenge intersubjective experience poses to doctrinal formulations of difference.

Anthology of the final works of great poets.

Argues for a new way of reading the figure of Milton's God, contending that Milton rejects kings on earth and in heaven.

Focuses on the critically neglected area of Rossetti's devotional poetry and her prose.

Analyzes the bond between lyric poetry and silence in women's sonnets ranging from the late 18th-century works of Charlotte Smith, Helen Maria Williams, and Anna Maria Smallpiece to Victorian texts by Elizabeth Barrett, Christina Rossetti, Isabella Southern, and other, lesser-known female poets.

Explores the Bible's role and influence on individual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblical themes and literary theory through the ages.

Traces the process through which Spenser, Shakespeare, Milton, and others adapted, revised, or resisted romance, mapping a world of increasingly uncertain allegiances and affiliations.

Examines the important ways in which Lewis so clearly echoes Edmund Spenser's The Faerie Queen and John Milton's Paradise Lost in The Chronicles of Narnia.

Uses works by Shakespeare, Spenser, Jonson, and Donne to show that the seemingly contradictory presence of traditional and subversive elements in their major works actually creates the source of much of their literary achievement.

Argues that Swift turned his back on the elite to write for a popular audience and that he annexed scandals to his fictionalized print alter ego, creating a continual demand for works by or about this self-mythologized figure.

Draws on discoveries made over the past 30 years to tell the story of Swift's life.

Seeks to contextualize Swift within the political arena of his day.

Uncover the theological currents that lie just under the surface of Tolkien's epic tale.

Reviews and critiques the works of many Christian authors who created mythological stories.

Gives a balanced treatment of Tolkien by discussing Christian elements in the Hobbits without finding Christian elements everywhere and introduces a side of Tolkien that is rarely explored but vitally important to his writings.

Challenges the standard interpretation that Lewis, Tolkien, Charles Williams, Owen Barfield, and the other Inklings had little influence on one another's work.

Complete guide to the lands, legends, histories, languages, and people of J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle Earth.

Traces the evolution of J.R.R. Tolkien's literary world, stories, and characters from their earliest written forms to the final revisions Tolkien penned shortly before his death in 1973.

Examines the specific connections between contemporary cultural meta-narratives (the stories humans typically tell about themselves) and the ideas of hope found in Christianity.

Examines biblical and Christian themes that are found in the works of J. R. R. Tolkien.

Shows how a Christian worldview and Christian themes undergird Tolkien's Middle-earth writings and how they are fundamentally important to understanding his vision.

Points out general themes in the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and J.K. Rowling and matches them to the ancient motifs of the biblical writings.

Attempts to illuminate the structure of Tolkien's work, allowing the reader to appreciate its broad, overarching design and its careful, painstaking construction.

Includes discussions of all the fundamental issues in Tolkien scholarship written by the leading scholars in the field.

Examines the source and style of Tolkien's Catholic imagination, from Bibilical typology to personal relationships.

Essays on the major concerns and questions regarding literature and theology.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Takes us on the road with Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, and selected classic works of literature to show how great stories bring us so much more than entertainment.

Organizes the philosophical themes in The Lord of the Rings into 50 categories with over 1,000 references to the text.

Illuminates the multifaceted appeal of Tolkien's prose style in dimensions ranging from his fantastic realism to his revitalizing imagery to his dynamic narrative to his expansive characterization to his engaging language.

Provides a comprehensive, informed, critical and theoretical analysis of both the book and film trilogies.

Show that Christian humanism informs a broad and important literature and encourages a genuine diversity of thought based on reason, nature, and the accomplishments of artistic genius.

Analysis of Tolkien's Roman Catholicism and the role it plays in understanding his writings.

Surveys the predecessors of and influences on Tolkien and explores the web of elements that make up Tolkienian fantasy.

Tells the full story of how Tolkien embarked on the creation of Middle-earth in his youth as the world around him was plunged into World War I.

Examines Tolkien's modern world fantasy with its postmodern implications and and its significance in understanding the intersection between traditionalist and counter-culture criticisms of the modern.

Examines the theological relationship between creation and creativity in the works of J.R.R. Tolkien.

Gathers together what the editors believe is the best criticism on the Lord of the Rings over the past 50 years.

Examines heroic qualities in the women and other beloved, though less-celebrated, characters in the The Lord of the Rings books and movies.

Examines the role of war in Tolkien's life and works.