Subject Guide: Literature

Describes the physical surroundings and objects of Shakespeare's world.

Details events in the lives of the Bronte sisters and their associates.

Comprehensive guide to the writings, characters, achievements, and personal history of the Brontes.

More than 10,000 entries explore all aspects of literature from around the world.

Provides a snapshot of the current state of popular American literature, including various types and genres.

Represents a collaborative effort, involving 300 contributors from across the US and Canada.

Comprehensive guide and companion to literature that is by definition British in scope and origin, including surveys of the literatures written in English from the colonial to the postcolonial experience.

Included 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors, covering 150 years of children's literature in many cultures

Aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the development, significant authors, and current trends in Young Adult literature.

Contains 602 essays that discuss individual dramatists and cover overview topics.

Discusses important real and imaginary places that figure into individual literary works.

Contains entries on 168 writers of African-American descent writing in all forms.

Detailed profiles of African American writers, organizations, publications, and topics.

Comprehensive coverage of American literature from the Colonial period through 2007.

Covers contemporary authors and works that have enjoyed commercial success in the United States but are typically neglected by more "literary" guides.

Traces American writers whose roots are in all parts of Asia, including China, Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia, India, the Middle East, and others.

Provides a comprehensive and wide-ranging resource which includes information on many previously neglected British women writers and topics.

Short essays about important British writers of the 19th or the 20th century.

First encyclopedia devoted to Christian writers and books.

Covers the six decades since the end of World War II.

Concise information on known and little-known European women writers.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the major authors and works in fantasy and horror fiction.

Guide to the history and development of feminist literature, from early fairy tales to works by great women writers of today.

Provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

Focuses on English-language literary modernism and the period 1890-1939 along with important precursors and successors of the movement.

Explores the complex relationship between literature and politics.

Comprehensive guide to the literary works, writers, concepts, and terms of the era spanning the years 500 to 1500 from Europe, China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and elsewhere.

Comprehensive information about the literary works, writers, and concepts of literature from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE in Europe, China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, the New World, Africa, and Oceania.

Covers British artistic, literary, and intellectual movements between 1780 and 1830, within the context of European, transatlantic and colonial historical and cultural interaction.

Present history, terminology, and concepts essential to the advanced study of the novel as literary genre.

Covers the most important writers outside of the U.S., Britain, and Ireland since 1800.

American writer with their works and their biographical, historical, literary, and critical contexts.

The basics on the issues, events and people of African American literature.

Includes over 900 alphabetically arranged entries of American poets and poetry from the colonial era to the present, devoting special attention to contemporary poets and their works.

More than 270 alphabetically arranged entries survey the lives and works of Asian American authors and give extensive attention to the historical and social contexts surrounding their writings.

Surveys literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States from the colonial era to the present.

Presents biographies and thematic entries on American writers selected because of their ethnicity.

Offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts.

Includes discussions of all the fundamental issues in Tolkien scholarship written by the leading scholars in the field.

Provides a comprehensive overview of the themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest influence on literature since World War II.

Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.

Presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the 16th and 20th centuries.

The most comprehensive coverage available on all aspects of Shakespeare's life and works.

Provides comprehensive and detailed information about the lives, works, and reputations of the Bronts.

Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present.

Covers the plays, the life of Shakespeare, his world continuing influence on modern culture.

Describe the actions, desires, thoughts, and emotions of nearly 900 characters from American fiction.

Consists of entries related to literature by and about African American women.