Subject Guide: Literature

Includes 100 selected books and extensive lists of books to meet special needs and interests as well as classics, selected by age.

Descriptions of 500 books based upon interviews with teenagers and divided into 22 topics.

Provides an overview of developments of French children literature from the 17th century to the present day.

Introduces more than 400 recent fiction and nonfiction multicultural resources for preschool through grade 6 and encourages readers to make literature about diversity an integral part of their program of instruction.

Explores the characteristics of American heroes and the ways in which they have influenced our history, our way of life, and the principles upon which our culture has developed in 30 children's picture books.

Addresses Suzanne Collins's work from a number of literary and cultural perspectives in an effort to better understand both its significance and its appeal.

Guide to nearly 800 award-winning historical fiction for Kindergarten through 8th grade will assist all parties in the selection of high quality literature.

Collection of 50 articles by and about contemporary authors of children's books.

Contains 500 entries of books that are interesting and motivating for young male readers.

Highlitghts more than 25,000 in-print titles recommended for children in grades K-6.

Reading guide and selection tool for 12,000 fiction and nonfiction teen titles published from 2001 to 2003

Covers over 14,000 titles of some classics, but mostly published between late 1999 and 2003.

100 reproducible book lists for children, ages 5-14.

Exploring children's classics from many eras and relating them to the authors who wrote them.

Proposes new theoretical frameworks for understanding the contradictory ways masculinity is represented in popular texts consumed by boys in the United States.

Selected essays, articles, columns, and speeches from the author's Campbell's Scoop.

Addresses the genre of childhood writings by major authors, and explore the genesis of genius.

Looks at children's and young adult book awards in depth.

Contains 288 awards and prizes in the following four sections: U.S. Awards Selected by Adults; U.S. Awards Selected by Young Readers; Australian, Canadian, New Zealand, and United Kingdom Awards; and Selected International and Multinational Awards.

Provides high quality critical material on a selection of important classic and contemporary children's books.

Explores the period's vigorous exchange about the nature and identity of black childhood and uncovers the networks of African Americans who worked together to transmit black history and culture to the next generation.

Provides a social and literary overview of the field of English-speaking children's literature, along with its history and genres, current concerns, and possible future directions.

Structured through critics reading individual texts to bring out wider issues that are current in the field.

Surveys the history of poetics and provides an introduction and brief biography for each reading.

Introduces nearly 90 of the world's most entertaining classic books.

Overviews the rich and fascinating world of American children's picture books, including over 400 alphabetically arranged entries on authors, illustrators, works, and such specialized topics as the Caldecott Medal, linoleum cuts, pastels, and printing technology.

Learn about the books that boys love to read, uncover the signs that point to the reading gap, find creative new programming ideas to match boys' interests, and establish a strategic blueprint for boys and reading.

Included 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors, covering 150 years of children's literature in many cultures

Aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the development, significant authors, and current trends in Young Adult literature.

Gives readers the opportunity to listen in on the author's thoughtful conversations with ten contemporary writers,
especially for what they say about "wrestling with the sacred" in their writing.

Connects the critical views expressed in feminist and psychoanalytic interpretations with fictional fairy-tale retellings and illustrations published in Dutch, English, and German since the 1970s.

Explores all facets of creating a vibrant YA reading community.

Explores the global trend of crossover literature and explains how it is transforming literary canons, concepts of readership, the status of authors, the publishing industry, and bookselling practices.

A uniquely in-depth study of the crossover novel, Falconer engages with a ground-breaking range of sources, from primary texts, to child and adult reader responses, to cultural and critical theory.

Provides new perspectives on early children's literary texts and the work of children's literature scholar Mitzi Myers through the use of new historicist, feminist, and cultural studies critiques.

Offers young adult readers a way to appreciate the lives and works of this special group of fiction writers.

Examines various approaches to young adult historical fiction.

Breaks down the dense language of critical theory into clear, lively, and thorough explanations of many schools of critical thought..

Examines the agenda behind the shaping of 19th-century children's perceptions and world views and the transmission of civic duties and social values to children by adults through children's literature.

Children's books that influenced over 100 of our most respected and admired leaders in society.

Provides an annotated bibliography of children's books that contain characters who display positive family oriented values in their relationships with others.

Offer a historical and critical review of this fascinating genre.

Features nearly 500 stories that were volunteered by fifty children between the ages of 2 and 10 and transcribed word for word.

Provides a narrative history of African American children's literature in relation to its social contexts.

Surveys 400 English children's fantasies from 1850 to 2000.

Presents thematic groupings of titles built around current young adult literature for use in bridging to the classics.

Tells the story behind the creator and sustainer of the Nancy Drew series.

Provides lively annotations for over 500 booksfor bablies and toddlers divided into the following categories: Nursery Rhymes, Fingerplays, and Songs; and Picture-Story Books for the Very Young.

Follows the creation and development of the Hardy Boys series through 1979.

Over 500 recommended 'Healing Stories' for any adult looking to help children to cope with their growing pains through reading.

Presents close readings of six classic stories to answer these questions and offer a clear definition of children's writing as a distinct literary form.

Examines humorous young adult literature in light of adolescent developmental issues and theories of comedy.

Offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts.

Provides a solid foundation in the survey of literature text and the literary criticism text and then examines multiple ways of developing children's literary interpretation through talk, through culture, class, and gender, as well as through creative modes of expression, including writing, the visual arts, and drama.

Explores the cultural contents of Barrie's creation and the continuing impact of Peter Pan on children's literature and popular culture today, especially focusing on the fluctuations of time and narrative strategies.

Explores the marginalization of children's literature in America.

Historic overview of radical and progressive writers, illustrators, editors, librarians, booksellers, and teachers who cooperated to create and disseminate children's books that challenged the status quo.

Recommends a core collection of Christian fiction for young readers and their families.

Recommendations to build Christian YA collections and prepare booktalks, plan programs, and create reading lists.

Suggested books for young men as aids in navigating adolescence, pleasure (or free reading assignment) reading, and tools to improve literacy.

Gives analysis and criticism on recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Gives analysis and criticism on recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Profiles the censorship of many essential works of literature.

Illustrated introductory guide to key British, American and Australian works that shows developments in children's literature over time and across genres.

Describes the history and characteristics of ethnic and multicultural children's literature in the U.S.

Addresses the social, cultural, and critical issues of our times through the use of multicultural children's books.

Guide to selecting high-quality examples of multicultural literature.

Reviews and evaluates picturebooks with a multicultural theme for grades K-4.

Loaded with specific titles that will interest 4th - 9th graders in books and keep them reading during this crucial period.

Provides a quick reference to all Newbery and Caldecott books.

Probes the trilogy's meaning using several literary theories.

Presents the genre of mythopoeic fantasy from a holistic perspective, arguing that this central genre of fantasy literature is largely misunderstood as a result of decades of incomplete and reductionist literary studies.

Analyzes the way the girls discuss pleasure in becoming "the eye" of the reader, use film to decode the genres of literature, master forms such as fantasy and Gothic, describe the differences between reading and viewing films, and identify only with animal rather than human characters.

Guide to the world of children's literature that covers every genre from fairy tales to chapbooks; school stories to science fiction; comics to children's hymns.

Lists hundreds of places in Britain and Ireland and details their connections with the lives of famous writers.

Defines postmodernism, compares and contrasts it with modernism, and places it in its historical context, and discusses the major theorists of postmodernism.

Delves deeply into children's responses to literature, and in particular, to works of fantasy.

Explores how children's writers have treated the theme and concept of time.

Uses conservative-themed children's books to study such diverse fields as cultural studies, literary criticism, political science, childhood studies, brand marketing, and the cult of celebrity.

Identifies and explores a prevalent trend within the last thirty to forty years for re-visioning and rewriting the past according to modern social and political ideological assumptions.

Examines what it means to return to works of fiction that have influenced us.

Explores the eventful times in which Baum lived, which influenced nearly every aspect of the Oz tales.

Presents critical annotations for 1300 books published between 2000 and 2004, including reference, nonfiction, and fiction.

Contains selected titles in high-interest topics and provides context to spotlight passages.

Takes as its starting point the wide-ranging work of Marilyn Butler on Romantic literature, and includes contributions by some of the most prominent scholars of Romanticism working today.

Exploration of children's literature in all its manifestations.

Identifies a "schoolroom canon" that some older Americans will still recognize, composed of poems by Longfellow, Whittier, Field, Riley, Dickinson, and others.

Examines the ways in which William Shakespeare's stories have been adapted for children, particularly in Mary and Charles Lamb's Tales from Shakespeare in 1807.

Looks at the importance and, for many adolescent girls, life-changing nature of young adult literature.

Provides a social history of girls' series fiction published in America from the mid-nineteenth century through the early twenty-first century.

This annotated bibliography of stories for young adults from around the world and throughout the ages.

Analyzes the phenomenon of American picture books and what their imaginative form and content reveal about the modern nation.

Covers over 2,000 popular Young Adult titles in a wide variety of genres.

Provides an overview of the field of Young Adult literature, focusing primarily on fiction.

Focuses on selecting and evaluating quality literature to share with children and guiding them to appreciate and respond to that literature.

Essays on Sendak, Steig, Gorey, L. Frank Baum, Tomi Ungerer, Jack Keats, Margot Zemach, and Ursula Nordstrom that show the integration of text and image, the abilities of authors and artists of picture books to somehow change our perceptions.

Includes recommendations from teen reviewers and favorite authors for over 700 books.

Provides advice on how to share books with young children and includes annotated lists of best-selling books organized by suggested reading levels, from infants to ages 7-8, and arranged by subject, theme, and genre.

Addresses enduring issues, such as: 1. What do highly engaged, adolescent readers DO as they read? 2. What is it about traditional schooling and reading instruction that deters engaged reading and serves to disenfranchise young readers? and 3. What types of interventions can be used in the classroom to help all students, especially reluctant ones, to become successful readers?

Survey of YA literature that deals with a variety of topics.

Tours the great literary works of the ages from a Christian perspective.

Examines the history of graphic narrative all over the world and broader conceptual developments that preceded the origins of comics and graphic novels.

Contains 130 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series, with a focus on the hero/superhero genre.

Contains over 65 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels, including genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship.

Examines over 215 graphic novels that were self-published or independently published graphic novels.

Provides in-depth insight for over 55 of the most popular manga graphic novels, ranging from metaseries to stand-alone books.

Provides an overview of graphic novels.

Features graphics novels and extracts from a wide range of books and examines the specific language of the medium, the history and pioneers of the form, and recent masterpieces.

Examines the use of autobiography within graphic novels.

Provides information on all of the major manga and anime formats and genres, covering publications from the early 1990s to the present.

Contains 15 essays that investigate comic books and graphic novels, beginning with the early development of these media.

Explores the graphic novel's reception in both popular and scholarly arenas and how the conceptual relationship between images and words affects the reading experience.