Research Guides: Subject Guide: Literature: Ebooks

Ebooks - Subscription Databases

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS - Go to database list on the library website and select a database. Enter the 14 digit barcode number from your ID.

3000 poems by African-American poets in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.

40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century.

English Poetry
Full text of over 160,000 poems written in English 600-1900.

English Verse Drama
Full text of over 2200 works of poetry intended for the stage.

Literary Reference Center
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
12,000 poems and with biographical profiles by more than 100 African-American poets.

Twentieth Century American Poetry
Over 52,000 works from more than 316 poets.

Twentieth Century English Poetry
Over 44,000 poems by 288 poets.

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS - Go to database list on the library website and select a database. Enter the 14 digit barcode number from your ID.

American & English Literature
Contains books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print.
ARTFL (French Literature)
Full text of 2000 works in French.
more...less...
ARTFL (French Literature) -- Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language -- is a cooperative project between the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. The full-text database contains nearly 2,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
Bartleby.com
Preeminent publisher of literature, reference, and verse
Christian Classics Etheral Library
Seeks to build up the church by making classic Christianity available and to promote its use for edification and study by interested Christians, seekers and scholars.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Full text of 11 major editions of Shakespeare's works, and related works.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies
Includes scholarly works by leading classical scholars on Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Literature
Contains literary works from the perspective of Medieval history to all-but Contemporary times with a powerful grouping in the Renaissance/Early Modern literature.