Websites
World wide collaborative of over leading scholars devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research in English & American Literature.
Includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published from the 17th century until 1924.
Video
Video series that deals with the foibles of American literature through a "diversity of voices" in a way that is eminently accessible and interesting. Coordinated with the Norton Anthology of American Literature.
10 Books That Screwed up the World: And 5 Others That Didn't Help. Washington, DC: Regnery Pub. by 
13 Ways of Looking at the Novel. New York: Knopf by 
100 Best Books for Children. Boston: Houghton Mifflin by 
100 Essential Modern Poems by Women. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee by 
100 Most Popular Nonfiction Authors: Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, c2008. by 
500 Great Books for Teens. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co. by 
1001 Books for Every Mood: A Bibliophile's Guide to Unwinding, Misbehaving, Forgiving, Celebrating, Commiserating. Avon, MA: Adams Media by 
Activist Sentiments: Reading Black Women in the Nineteenth Century. Urbana: University of Illinois Press by 
After the End of History: American Fiction in the 1990s. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press by 
The Age of Auden - Postwar Poetry and the American Scene. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press by 
The American 1930s: A Literary History. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
American Authors, 1600-1900: A Biographical Dictionary of American Literature. New York: The H. W. Wilson Company by 
The American Classics: A Personal Essay. New Haven: Yale University Press by 
American Culture, Canons, and the Case of Elizabeth Stoddard. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press by 
American Ethnic Writers. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, Rev'd ed., 3 vols.
American Fiction Between the Wars. Philadelphia: Chelsea House Publishers by 
American Fiction of the 1990s: Reflections of History and Culture. New York: Routledge by 
American Literature and Culture, 1900-1960. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub. by 
American Literature in Context after 1929. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell by 
American Literature in Context from 1865 to 1929. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell by 
American Literature in Context to 1865. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell by 
American Naturalistic and Realistic Novelists: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
The American Novel Now: Reading Contemporary American Fiction since 1980. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell by American Novelists Since World War II. Detroit: Gale Research Co. by 
American Postmodernist Fiction and the Past. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
American Sports Fiction. Ipswich, Mass: Salem Press
American Travel Writers 1776-1864. Detroit, MI: Gale Research by 
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present. Detroit: St. James Press, c2000. 2nd ed., 4 vols. by American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present. New York: Ungar, Abridged ed. by 
American Writers. New York: Scribner, 4+ vols. by 
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies. New York: Scribner, 4vols. + 18 supplements by 
Apart from Modernism: Edith Wharton, Politics, and Fiction Before World War I. Madison, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press by 
Approaching the Hunger Games Trilogy: A Literary and Cultural Analysis. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. Publishers by 
Around the World with Historical Fiction and Folktales: Highly Recommended and Award-Winning Books, Grades K-8. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
At Home and Abroad: Historicizing Twentieth-Century Whiteness in Literature and Performance. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press by 
The Aunt Lute Anthology of U. S. Women Writers: 17th - 19th Centuries. San Francisco: Aunt Lute Books by 
Back to Peace: Reconciliation and Retribution in the Postwar Period. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press by 
Best Books for Boys: A Resource for Educators. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited by 
Best Books for High School Readers: Grades 9-12. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited by 
Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers: Grades 6-9. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited by 
Between the Lines: A History of Poetry in Letters, Part II: 1962-2002. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee, Publisher by 
Beyond the Gray Flannel Suit: Books from the 1950s That Made American Culture. London: Continuum by 
Book by Book: Notes on Reading and Life. New York: Henry Holt by 
The Booklover's Guide to the Midwest: A Literary Tour. Cincinnati, OH: Clerisy Press by 
Books and Beyond: The Greenwood Encyclopedia of New American Reading. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 4 vols. by 
Boys and Girls Forever: Children's Classics from Cinderella to Harry Potter. New York: Penguin Books by 
Boys in Children's Literature and Popular Culture: Masculinity, Abjection, and the Fictional Child. New York: Routledge by 
Brave New Words: How Literature Will Save the Planet. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press by 
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of New York. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
The Cambridge Companion to the Modernist Novel. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press by 
The Cambridge History of English Literature, 1660-1780. Cambridge. MA: Cambridge University Press by 
The Cambridge Introduction to Modernist Poetry. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Cannibal Fictions: American Explorations of Colonialism, Race, Gender and Sexuality. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press by 
Children's Book Award Handbook. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited by 
Children's Literature - Classic Texts and Contemporary Trends. New York: Palgrave Macmillan; Milton Keynes: In association with the Open University by 
Civil Wars: American Novelists and Manners, 1880-1940. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press by 
Claiming the Pen: Women and Intellectual Life in the Early American South. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press by 
Classic Writings on Poetry. New York: Columbia University Press by 
Classics for Pleasure. Orlando: Harcourt by 
Colonial Literature, 1607-1776. New York: Facts On File, New ed., 4 vols. by 
A Community of Inquiry: Conversations Between Classical American Philosophy and American Literature. Kent, OH: Kent State University Press by 
A Companion to Modernist Literature and Culture. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub. by 
Companion to the American Novel. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons by 
A Companion to the Modern American Novel, 1900-1950. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell by 
A Concise Companion to Postwar American Literature and Culture. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub. by 
The Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002 by 
The Concord Quartet: Alcott, Emerson, Hawthorne, Thoreau, and the Friendship That Freed the American Mind. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons by 
Conspiracy and Virtue: Women, Writing, and Politics in Seventeenth-Century England. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Contemporary American Women Poets : An A to Z Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Contemporary Poets, Dramatists, Essayists, and Novelists of the South: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
The Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature. New York: Continuum, 2003. by 
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. New York: Continuum by 
A Critical Dictionary of English Literature and British and American Authors, Living and Deceased, from the Earliest Accounts to the Latter Half of the Nineteenth Century. Temecula, CA: Reprint Services, 6 vols. by 
Critical Survey of Poetry. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 4th ed, 14 vols. by 
Cyclopedia of Young Adult Authors. Pasadena: Salem Press, 3 vols.
Darwin and Faulkner's Novels: Evolution and Southern Fiction. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
David Mamet: A Life in the Theatre. New York: Palgrave Macmilla by 
Debating the Canon: A Reader from Addison to Nafisi. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, by 
Democratic Discourses: The Radical Abolition Movement and Antebellum American Literature. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press by 
Dictionary of American Literary Characters. New York: Facts on File, c2002, 2nd ed., 2 vols. by 
Dictionary of Literary Influences: The Twentieth Century, 1914-2000. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
The Distant Mirror: Reflections on Young Adult Historical Fiction. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Dr. Seuss: American Icon. New York: Continuum by 
Due Considerations: Essays and Criticism. New York: Alfred A. Knopf by 
Edith Wharton and the Politics of Race. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Emerson's Ghosts: Literature, Politics, and the Making of Americanists. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Emerson, Romanticism, and Intuitive Reason: The Transatlantic Light of All Our Day. Columbia: University of Missouri Press by 
Encyclopedia of American Literature. New York, NY: Facts On File, Rev. ed., 4 vols. by 
Encyclopedia of American Popular Fiction. New York, NY: Facts on File by 
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature. New York: Facts On File by 
Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, by 
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature. New York: Facts on File by 
Ernest Hemingway's A Farewell to Arms: A Reference Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
The Essential Wayne Booth. Chicago: University of Chicago Press by 
Exploring the Da Vinci Code: Investigating the Issues Raised by the Book and Movie. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan by 
Expressionism and Modernism in the American Theatre. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Fascinating Rhythm: Reading Jazz in American Writing. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press by 
Faulkner and Welty and the Southern Literary Tradition. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi by 
Feminist Bestseller: From Sex and the Single Girl to Sex and the City. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Feminist Literary Theory and Criticism: A Norton Reader. New York: W.W. Norton by 
Feminist Writings from Ancient Times to the Modern World: A Global Sourcebook and History. Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2 vols. by 
Fictions of Autonomy. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Fifty Western Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
From Battlefields Rising: How the Civil War Transformed American Literature. New York: Oxford University Press by 
From Modernism to Postmodernism: American Poetry and Theory in the Twentieth Century. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Front-Page Girls: Women Journalists in American Culture and Fiction, 1880-1930. thaca, NY: Cornell University Press by 
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature. Detroit: Gale by 
Girl in a Library: On Women Writers and the Writing Life. Kansas City, MO: BkMk Press/University of Missouri-Kansas City by 
Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her. Orlando: Harcourt by 
Goddess of the Market: Ayn Rand and the American Right. New York: Oxford University Press by 
The Great War and the Language of Modernism. New York: Oxford University Press by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry 5. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 5 vols. by 
The Gun and the Pen: Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Faulkner, and the Fiction of Mobilization. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Handing One Another Along: Literature and Social Reflection. New York: Random House by 
The Hardy Boys Mysteries, 1927-1979: A Cultural and Literary History. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co by 
A Historical Guide to Edith Wharton. New York: Oxford University Press by 
A Historical Guide to F. Scott Fitzgerald. New York: Oxford University Press by 
How Did Poetry Survive?: The Making of Modern American Verse. Urbana: University of Illinois Press by 
How to Read Literature Like a Professor: A Lively and Entertaining Guide to Reading Between the Lines. New York: Quill by 
Humor in Young Adult Literature: A Time to Laugh. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Ideology. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Improvisation and the Making of American Literary Modernism. New York: Continuum by 
In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination. New York: Nan A. Talese/Doubleday by 
In the Way of Nature: Ecology and Westward Expansion in the Poetry of Anne Bradstreet, Elizabeth Bishop and Amy Clampitt. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. by 
The Influence of Tennessee Williams: Essays on Fifteen American Playwrights. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. by 
Jane Eyre's American Daughters: From the Wide, Wide World to Anne of Green Gables: A Study of Marginalized Maidens and What They Mean. Newark: University of Delaware Press by 
Jazz Modernism: From Ellington and Armstrong to Matisse and Joyce. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press by 
A John Steinbeck Reader: Essays in Honor of Stephen K. George. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
A Jury of Her Peers: American Women Writers from Anne Bradstreet to Annie Proulx. New York: Alfred A. Knopf by 
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Kiddie Lit: The Cultural Construction of Children's Literature in America. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press by 
Kindred Hands: Letters on Writing by British and American Women Authors, 1865-1935. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press by 
Learning from the Left: Children's Literature, the Cold War, and Radical Politics in the United States. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading: Finding and Losing Myself in Books. New York: Random House by 
Life Is Tough: Guys, Growing up, and Young Adult Literature. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Literary Modernism and Beyond: The Extended Vision and the Realms of the Text. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by 
Literary Newsmakers for Students, Vol. 2: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Newsmaking Novels, Nonfiction, and Poetry by 
Literary Newsmakers for Students, Vol. 3: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Newsmaking Novels, Nonfiction, and Poetry. Detroit: Gale Cengage Learning by 
Literary Research and the American Realism and Naturalism Period: Strategies and Sources. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Literary Trails of the North Carolina Mountains: A Guidebook. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press by 
Literature and Film: A Guide to the Theory and Practice of Film Adaptation. Malden, MA: Blackwell by 
Literature and Science: Social Impact and Interaction. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO by 
Literature of the Global Age: A Critical Study of Transcultural Narratives. Jefferson, NC: McFarland by 
Literature Suppressed on Religious Grounds. New York: Facts On File, Rev. ed. by 
The Literature/Film Reader: Issues of Adaptation. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Magill's Survey of American Literature. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, Rev. ed., 6 vols. by 
The Making of T. S. Eliot: A Study of the Literary Influences. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. by Making the "America of Art": Cultural Nationalism and Nineteenth-Century Women Writers. Columbus: Ohio State University Press by 
Memory and Myth: The Civil War in Fact and Fiction from Uncle Tom's Cabin to Cold Mountain. West Lafayette, IN: Purdue University Press by 
Mentors, Muses and Monsters: 30 Writers on the People Who Changed Their Lives. New York: Free Press by 
Millennial Literatures of the Americas, 1492-2002. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Minders of Make-Believe: Idealists, Entrepreneurs, and the Shaping of American Children's Literature. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co. by 
A Mirror in the Roadway: Literature and the Real World. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press by 
Modern American Poetry. Philadelphia: Chelsea House Publishers by 
Modern American Women Writers. New York: Scribner; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International by 
Modern Children's Literature: An Introduction. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Modern Jewish Women Writers in America. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
The Modern Novel: A Short Introduction. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub. by 
Modernism and the Ordinary. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Modernism, 1910-1945: Image to Apocalypse. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
The Modernist Papers. New York, NY: Verso by 
Modernity and Progress: Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Orwell. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press by 
The Monstrous Debt: Modalities of Romantic Influence in Twentieth-Century Literature. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press by 
Multicultural and Ethnic Children's Literature in the United States. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Multicultural Children's Literature: A Critical Issues Approach. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications by 
Multicultural Children's Literature: Through the Eyes of Many Children. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson/Merrill Prentice Hall, 2nd ed. by 
Multicultural Picturebooks: Art for Illuminating Our World. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2nd ed. by 
Myths and Fairy Tales in Contemporary Women's Fiction: From Atwood to Morrison. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Naked Reading: Uncovering What Tweens Need to Become Lifelong Readers. Portland, ME: Stenhouse Publishers by 
Nations of Nothing But Poetry: Modernism, Transnationalism, and Synthetic Vernacular Writing. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Native American Fiction: A User's Manual. Saint Paul, MN: Graywolf Press by 
A New Companion to the Gothic. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Blackwell by 
New Deal Theater: The Vernacular Tradition in American Political Theater. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
A New Heartland: Women, Modernity, and the Agrarian Ideal in America. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Novel Destinations: Literary Landmarks from Jane Austen's Bath to Ernest Hemingway's Key West. Washington, DC: National Geographic by 
The Novel of Purpose: Literature and Social Reform in the Anglo-American World. Ithaca: Cornell University Press by 
Of Bread, Blood and the Hunger Games: Critical Essays on the Suzanne Collins Trilogy. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. Publishers by 
On Sympathy. Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press by 
On the Nature of Poetry: An Appraisal and Investigation of the Art Which for 4,000 Years Has Distilled the Spoken Thoughts of Mankind. London: Shepheard-Walwyn by 
One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine l'Engle and Orson Scott Card. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co by 
Our South: Geographic Fantasy and the Rise of National Literature. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press by 
Owning Up: Privacy, Property, and Belonging in U. S. Women's Life Writing, 1840-1890. New York: Oxford University Press by 
The Oxford Handbook of Early American Literature. Oxford University Press: New York: Salem Press. by 
Picturing a Different West: Vision, Illustration, and the Tradition of Cather and Austin. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press by 
Plantation Airs: Racial Paternalism and the Transformations of Class in Southern Fiction, 1945-1971. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by 
Plays in American Periodicals, 1890-1918. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Poe. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi by 
Poet's Choice. Orlando, FL: Harcourt by 
Poetry and Public Discourse in Nineteenth-Century America. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Postcolonial Literature. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Postmodern Humanism in Contemporary Literature and Culture: Reconciling the Void. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Praising It New: The Best of the New Criticism. Athens, OH: Swallow Press/Ohio University Press by 
Promised Land: Thirteen Books That Changed America. New York: Doubleday by 
The Quest for Epic in Contemporary American Fiction: John Updike, Philip Roth and Don DeLillo. New York: Routledge by 
Race and Racism in Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Race, Slavery, and Liberalism in Nineteenth-Century American Literature. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Raising Your Kids Right: Children's Literature and American Political Conservatism. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press by 
Reading Life: Books for the Ages. Saint Paul, MN: Graywolf by 
Reading the American Novel, 1780-1865. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell by 
Reading the Middle Generation Anew: Culture, Community, and Form in Twentieth-Century American Poetry. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press by 
Reading Women's Poetry. Portland: Sussex Academic Press by 
The Real Wizard of Oz: The Life and Times of L. Frank Baum. New York, NY: Gotham Books by 
The Realist Short Story of the Powerful Glimpse: Chekhov to Carver. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press by 
Reclaiming Authorship: Literary Women in America, 1850-1900. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press by 
Rediscovering Magical Realism in the Americas. Westport, Conn: Praeger by 
Reid's Read-Alouds: Selections for Children and Teens. Chicago: American Library Association by 
Rereading the New Criticism. Columbus: Ohio State University Press by 
Rereading Women: Thirty Years of Exploring Our Literary Traditions. New York: W.W. Norton & Co. by 
A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2006, 6th ed. by 
Resisting History: Gender, Modernity, and Authorship in William Faulkner, Zora Neale Hurston, and Eudora Welty. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by 
Revolution and the Word: The Rise of the Novel in America. New York: Oxford University Press, Expanded ed. by 
Reworlding America: Myth, History, and Narrative. Athens: Ohio University Press by 
Scars to Prove It: The Civil War Soldier and American Fiction. Kent, OH: Kent State University Press by 
Science Fiction Before 1900: Imagination Discovers Technology. New York: Routledge by 
Secret Histories: Reading Twentieth-Century American Literature. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press by 
A Sense of Shock: The Impact of Impressionism on Modern British and Irish Writing. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Shaped by Stories: The Ethical Power of Narratives. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press by 
Shelf Discovery: The Teen Classics We Never Stopped Reading. New York: Avon by 
Sibylline Sisters: Virgil's Presence in Contemporary Women's Writing. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Singing in a Strange Land: A Jewish American Poetics. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press by 
Sisters, Schoolgirls, and Sleuths: Girls' Series Books in America. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Six Modernist Moments in Poetry. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press by 
A Skeptic's Guide to Writers' Houses. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press by 
Sociological Insights of Great Thinkers: Sociology Through Literature, Philosophy, and Science. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger by 
Southern Writers: A New Biographical Dictionary. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by 
Staging the War: American Drama and World War II. Bloomington: Indiana University Press by 
Stephen Crane's the Red Badge of Courage. New York: Bloom's Literary Criticism by 
Stories from Blue Latitudes: Caribbean Women Writers at Home and Abroad. Emeryville, CA: Seal Press by 
Student's Encyclopedia of American Literary Characters. New York: Facts On File, c2008, 4 vols. by 
Surface and Depth: The Quest for Legibility in American Culture. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Suspended Animation: Children's Picture Books and the Fairy Tale of Modernity. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press by 
T. S. Eliot. New York: Oxford University Press by 
T. S. Eliot: An Imperfect Life. New York: Norton by 
Tears of Rage: The Racial Interface of Modern American Fiction: Faulkner, Wright, Pynchon, Morrison. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by 
Teen Genreflecting: A Guide to Reading Interests. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2nd ed. by 
Thematic Guide to Young Adult Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Through a Glass Darkly: Suffering, the Sacred, and the Sublime in Literature and Theory. Waterloo, Ont: Wilfrid Laurier University Press by 
Through the Looking Glass: Further Adventures and Misadventures in the Realm of Children's Literature. Boston: David R. Godine, Publishe by 
Till I End My Song: A Gathering of Last Poems. New York: Harper by 
Transnational Women's Fiction: Unsettling Home and Homeland. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Truth and Fiction in the Da Vinci Code: A Historian Reveals What We Really Know about Jesus, Mary Magdalene, and Constantine. New York: Oxford University Press by 
The Turquoise Ledge: A Memoir. New York: Viking by 
Twentieth-Century American Fiction on Screen. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Ulysses in Black: Ralph Ellison, Classicism, and African American Literature. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press by 
Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Reading Revolution: Race, Literacy, Childhood and Fiction, 1851-1911. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press by 
Undergraduate's Companion to American Writers and Their Web Sites, The. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited: 2001. by 
Understanding the Literature of World War I: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Unknowing: The Work of Modernist Fiction. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press by 
Unknown Masterpieces: Writers Rediscover Literature's Hidden Classics. New York: New York Review Books by 
The Vintage Book of American Women Writers. New York: Vintage Books by 
Voyages of the Self: Pairs, Parallels, and Patterns in American Art and Literature. New York: Oxford University Press by 
War No More: The Antiwar Impulse in American Literature, 1861-1914. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by 
Western Drama Through the Ages: A Student Reference Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2 vols. by 
The Western Lit Survival Kit: An Irreverent Guide to the Classics, from Homer to Faulkner. New York: Gotham Books by 
What America Read: Taste, Class, and the Novel, 1920-1960. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press by 
Whitewashing Uncle Tom's Cabin: Nineteenth-Century Women Novelists Respond to Stowe. Nashville, TN: Vanderbilt University Press by 
Why Does Literature Matter? Ithaca: Cornell University Press by 
Why Not Catch-21?: The Stories Behind the Titles. London: Frances Lincoln by 
Why We Read What We Read: A Delightfully Opinionated Journey Through Contemporary Bestsellers. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks by 
William Dean Howells: A Writer's Life. Berkeley: University of California Press by 
Women in Print: Essays on the Print Culture of American Women from the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press by 
Women's Experience of Modernity, 1875-1945. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press by 
Women's Fiction 1945-2005: Writing Romance. London: Continuum by 
Working Women, Literary Ladies: The Industrial Revolution and Female Aspiration. New York: Oxford University Press by 
World Views: Metageographies of Modernist Fiction. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism. Chicago: American Library Association by 100 Essential Modern Poems by Women. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee by 
American Religious Poems: An Anthology by Harold Bloom. New York: Library of America by 
Bearing the Mystery: Twenty Years of Image. Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans Pub. Co. by 
Believing Again: Doubt and Faith in a Secular Age. Grand Rapids, MI: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. by 
Christian Mythmakers: C. S. Lewis, Madeline L'Engle, J. R. R. Tolkien, and Others. Chicago: Cornerstone Press by Classic Writings on Poetry. New York: Columbia University Press by A Companion to the American Novel. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons by 
Contemporary Fiction and Christianity. New York: Continuum by 
Conversations with American Writers: The Doubt, the Faith, the In-Between. Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans Pub. by 
Crossbearer: A Memoir of Faith. New York: St. Martin's Press by 
Culture and Redemption: Religion, the Secular, and American Literature. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press by 
The Devil's Mousetrap: Redemption and Colonial American Literature. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Drawn to the Light: Poems on Rembrandt's Religious Paintings. Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans by 
Faith and Fiction: Christian Literature in America Today. Westport, CT: Praeger Publishers by Faulkner and Welty and the Southern Literary Tradition. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi by 
Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 6 vols. by 
Flannery O'Connor in the Age of Terrorism: Essays on Violence and Grace. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press by 
Flannery O'Connor's Radical Reality. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press by 
Flannery O'Connor, Walker Percy, and the Aesthetic of Revelation. Columbia: University of Missouri Press by Gold and Dross: A Christian Perspective on Fifteen World-Class Writers. Irving, Tex. : Grace Evangelical Society by 
How Nathaniel Hawthorne's Narratives Are Shaped by Sin: His Use of Biblical Typology in His Four Major Works. Lewiston: Edwin Mellen Press by 
Hymns and Sacred Poems; Published by John Wesley, and Charles Wesley. Madison, NJ: Charles Wesley Society
In the World: Reading and Writing as a Christian. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2nd ed. by 
Inside the Church of Flannery O'Connor: Sacrament, Sacramental, and the Sacred in Her Fiction. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press by 
An Introduction to Religion and Literature. New York: Continuum by 
Invisible Conversations. Waco, TX: Baylor University Press by 
The Librarian's Guide to Developing Christian Fiction Collections for Children. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers by 
Listening for Madeleine: A Portrait of Madeleine l'Engle in Many Voices. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux by 
Literature and Theology. Nashville: Abingdon Press by 
Love and Good Reasons: Postliberal Approaches to Christian Ethics and Literature. Durham: Duke University Press by 
Making Nature Sacred: Literature, Religion, and the Environment in America from the Puritans to the Present. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Masterplots II: Christian Literature. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 4 vols. by 
A More Beautiful Question: The Spiritual in Poetry and Art. Columbia: University of Missouri Press by 
More Than Words: Contemporary Writers on the Works That Shaped Them. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books by Nations of Nothing But Poetry: Modernism, Transnationalism, and Synthetic Vernacular Writing. New York: Oxford University Press by One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine l'Engle and Orson Scott Card. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co by 
A Poet's High Argument: Elizabeth Bishop and Christianity. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press by Reading Life: Books for the Ages. Saint Paul, MN: Graywolf by Reading Women's Poetry. Portland: Sussex Academic Press by The Realist Short Story of the Powerful Glimpse: Chekhov to Carver. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press by 
Religious Liberties: Anti-Catholicism and Liberal Democracy in Nineteenth-Century U.S. Literature and Culture. New York: Oxford University Press by 
The Return of Christian Humanism: Chesterton, Eliot, Tolkien, and the Romance of History. Columbia: University of Missouri Press by 
Romancing God: Evangelical Women and Inspirational Fiction. Chapel Hill NC: University of North Carolina Press by 
Shouts and Whispers: Twenty-One Writers Speak about Their Writing and Their Faith. Grand Rapids, MI: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co. by 
Style and Faith. New York: Counterpoint by 
The Swiftly Tilting Worlds of Madeleine L'Engle. Wheaton, IL: Harold Shaw Publishers by 
There Before Us: Religion, Literature, and Culture from Emerson to Wendell Berry. Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans Pub. by 
Three American Poets: Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, and Herman Melville. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, by 
Truth's Ragged Edge: The Rise of the American Novel. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux by 
Uncertain Chances: Science, Skepticism, and Belief in Nineteenth-Century American Literature. New York: Oxford University Press by Voyages of the Self: Pairs, Parallels, and Patterns in American Art and Literature. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Wendell Berry and the Cultivation of Life: A Reader's Guide. Grand Rapids, MI: Brazos Press by 
Words Made Fresh: Essays on Literature and Culture. Wheaton, IL: Crossway by 
25 Books Every Christian Should Read: A Guide to the Essential Spiritual Classics. New York: HarperOne by 
Backstory 4: Interviews with Screenwriters of the 1970s And 1980s. Berkeley: University of California Press by 
Backstory 5: Interviews with Screenwriters of the 1990s. Berkeley: University of California Press by 
Collected Critical Writings. New York: Oxford University Press by Crossbearer: A Memoir of Faith. New York: St. Martin's Press by 
The Final Victim of the Blacklist: John Howard Lawson, Dean of the Hollywood Ten. Berkeley: University of California Press by From Battlefields Rising: How the Civil War Transformed American Literature. New York: Oxford University Press by 
The Librarian's Guide to Developing Christian Fiction Collections for Adults. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers by Modernism, 1910-1945: Image to Apocalypse. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Moss Hart: A Prince of the Theater. New York: Back Stage by Poetry and Public Discourse in Nineteenth-Century America. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Presidential Speechwriting: From the New Deal to the Reagan Revolution and Beyond. College Station: Texas A&M University Press by 
Presidents Words: Speeches and Speechwriting in the Modern White House. Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas by 
Religious Experience and the Modernist Novel. New York: Cambridge University Press by 
Screenwriting. Burlington, MA: Focal by 
Speechwright: An Insider's Take on Political Rhetoric. East Lansing: Michigan State University Press by 
Tales from the Script: 50 Hollywood Screenwriters Share Their Stories. New York: Itbooks by 
What Happens Next: A History of American Screenwriting. New York: Harmony Books by 
White House Ghosts: Presidents and Their Speechwriters. New York: Simon & Schuster by A Critical Dictionary of English Literature and British and American Authors, Living and Deceased, from the Earliest Accounts to the Latter Half of the Nineteenth Century. Temecula, CA: Reprint Services, 6 vols. by A Jury of Her Peers: American Women Writers from Anne Bradstreet to Annie Proulx. New York: Alfred A. Knopf by 
A Political Biography of Jonathan Swift. London: Pickering & Chatto by 
African American Authors, 1745-1945: Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
African-American Writers. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2nd ed., 2 vols. by American Authors, 1600-1900: A Biographical Dictionary of American Literature. New York: The H. W. Wilson Company by American Naturalistic and Realistic Novelists: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present. Detroit: St. James Press, c2000. 2nd ed., 4 vols. by American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies. New York: Scribner, 4vols. + 18 supplements by An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers. New York: Garland Pub., 2 vols. by 
Andrew Marvell: The Chameleon. New Haven: Yale University Press by 
Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life. Layton, Utah: Gibbs Smith by 
British Women Poets and the Romantic Writing Community. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press by 
British Writers. New York: Scribner, 8 vols. + 14 suppl.
Connecting Boys with Books 2: Closing the Reading Gap. Chicago: American Library Association by Contemporary Foreign Language Writers. New York: St. Martin's Press by Contemporary Poets, Dramatists, Essayists, and Novelists of the South: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Conversations with Rita Dove. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi by 
Critical Survey of Long Fiction. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2010. 4th ed., 10 vols. by 
Cyclopedia of World Authors. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2004, rev. 4th ed. 5 vols. by Cyclopedia of World Authors. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2004, rev. 4th ed. 5 vols. by Cyclopedia of Young Adult Authors. Pasadena: Salem Press, 3 vols.Dictionary of Literary Influences: The Twentieth Century, 1914-2000. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2 vols. by 
Encyclopedia of British Women's Writing, 1900-1950. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
England's First Family of Writers: Mary Wollstonecraft, William Godwin, Mary Shelley. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press by 
Essays in Biography. Mount Jackson, VA: Axios Press by Fifty Western Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by Girl in a Library: On Women Writers and the Writing Life. Kansas City, MO: BkMk Press/University of Missouri-Kansas City by Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her. Orlando: Harcourt by Goddess of the Market: Ayn Rand and the American Right. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Great Books for Babies and Toddlers: More Than 500 Recommended Books for Your Child's First Three Years. New York: Ballantine Books by 
Great Foreign Language Writers. New York: St. Martin's Press by 
Harriet Jacobs: A Life. New York: Basic Civitas Books by 
Japanese Fiction Writers 1868-1945. Detroit, MI: Gale Research by 
Japanese Fiction Writers since World War II. Detroit: Gale Research by 
Johnson's Critical Presence: Image, History, Judgment. Aldershot, Hampshire, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate by Kindred Hands: Letters on Writing by British and American Women Authors, 1865-1935. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press by 
Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia. New York: Routledge by 
Latin American Writers. New York : Scribner, 3 vols. by 
Latina Writers. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Madame de Staël:The Dangerous Exile. Oxford: Oxford University Press by 
Masters of the Marketplace: British Women Novelists of the 1750s. Bethlehem: Lehigh University Press by 
Melville: His World and Work. New York: Knopf by Mentors, Muses and Monsters: 30 Writers on the People Who Changed Their Lives. New York: Free Press by Modern American Women Writers. New York: Scribner; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International by 
Modern Japanese Writers. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, by Modern Jewish Women Writers in America. New York: Palgrave Macmillan by 
Muckrakers: A Biographical Dictionary of Writers and Editors. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press by 
Multicultural Writers since 1945: An A-to-Z Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Notable African American Writers. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 3 vols.
Notable British Novelists. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 3 vols. by Owning Up: Privacy, Property, and Belonging in U. S. Women's Life Writing, 1840-1890. New York: Oxford University Press by 
Pauline Elizabeth Hopkins: Black Daughter of the Revolution. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press by 
Phillis Wheatley: Biography of a Genius in Bondage. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press by 
Reference Guide to World Literature. Detroit: St. James Press, 3rd ed., 2 vols. by 
Royalist Women Writers, 1650-1689. Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press by Sociological Insights of Great Thinkers: Sociology Through Literature, Philosophy, and Science. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger by Southern Writers: A New Biographical Dictionary. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press by Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century. New York: Wilson by Stories from Blue Latitudes: Caribbean Women Writers at Home and Abroad. Emeryville, CA: Seal Press by 
Storytelling for Young Adults: A Guide to Tales for Teens. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2nd ed. by 
Supernatural Fiction Writers. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons: Thomson/Gale, 2nd ed., 2 vols. by 
The Literary 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential Novelists, Playwrights and Poets of All Time. New York: Facts on File by The Turquoise Ledge: A Memoir. New York: Viking by The Undergraduate's Companion to American Writers and Their Web Sites, The. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited: 2001. by 
The Undergraduate's Companion to English Renaissance Writers and Their Web Sites. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited by 
Wilkie Collins. New York: Oxford University Press by William Dean Howells: A Writer's Life. Berkeley: University of California Press by 
Women in Communication: A Biographical Sourcebook. by Women in Print: Essays on the Print Culture of American Women from the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press by 
Women Writers of Early Modern Spain: Sophia's Daughters. New Haven: Yale University Press by 
Writers of the American Renaissance: An A-to-Z Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press by 
Writers, Readers, and Reputations: Literary Life in Britain 1870-1918. Oxford: Oxford University Press by 
Writing African American Women: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2 vols. by Writing Women in Late Medieval and Early Modern Spain: The Mothers of Saint Teresa of Avila. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press by