Author or Editor
Chicago Manual 14.23, 75-79, 84, 104, 122, 260; 15.9, 37
See examples below for:
No Author or Edictor
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
16. A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation
Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which
It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610).
Bibliography
A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation
Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by
Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Plantation Begun in Virginia 1610)
Reference List
A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation
Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by
Which It Hath Been Advanced. 1610. London.
One Author
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
8. Malcolm Gladwell, The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big
Difference (Boston: Little, Brown, 2000), 64-65.
Bibliography
Gladwell, Malcolm. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference.
Boston: Little, Brown, 2000.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Gladwell 2000, 64-65)
Reference List
Gladwell, Malcolm. 2000. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big
Difference. Boston: Little, Brown.
One Editor
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
10. Joel Greenberg, ed. Of Prairie, Woods, and Water: Two Centuries of
Chicago Nature Writing (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2008), 75-80.
Bibliography
Greenberg, Joel, ed. Of Prairie, Woods, and Water: Two Centuries of Chicago
Nature Writing. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2008.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Greenberg 2008, 75-80)
Reference List
Greenberg, Joel, ed. 2008. Of Prairie, Woods, and Water: Two Centuries of Chicago
Nature Writing. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Two or Three Authors
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
2. Joe Soss, Richard C. Fording, and Sanford F. Schram, Discipling the Poor:
Neoliberal Paternalism and the Persistent Power of Race. (Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 2011), 135-36.
Bibliography
Soss, Joe, Richard C. Fording, and Sanford F. Schram. Discipling the Poor:
Neoliberal Paternalism and the Persistent Power of Race. Chicago: University
of Chicago Press, 2011.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Soss, Fording, and Schram 2011, 135-36)
Reference List
Soss, Joe, Richard C. Fording, and Sanford F. Schram. 2011. Discipling the Poor:
Neoliberal Paternalism and the Persistent Power of Race. Chicago: University
of Chicago Press.
Two or Three Editors
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
1. W.F. Garrett-Petts, James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds., Whose
Culture Is It, Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities (Vancouver, BC:
New Star Books, 2014), 48.
Bibliography
​Garrett-Petts, W.F., James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds. Whose Culture
Is It, Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities. Vancouver, BC: New
Star Books, 2014.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Garrett-Petts, Hoffman, and Ratsoy 2014, 48)
Reference List
​Garrett-Petts, W.F., James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds. 2014. Whose
Culture Is It, Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities. Vancouver,
BC: New Books.
Four or More Authors
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
6. Edward O. Laumann et al., The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual
Practices in the United States (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994), 262.
Bibliography
Laumann, Edward O., John H. Gagnon, Robert T. Michael, and Stuart Michaels.
The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994.
More than 10 authors: List first 7 authors followed by et al.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Laumann et al. 1994, 262)
Reference List
Laumann, Edward O., John H. Gagnon, Robert T. Michael, and Stuart Michaels.
1994. The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United
States. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Four or More Editors
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
6. Jeri A. Schzer et al., eds. Women and Mental Health. (Baltimore: Jones,
Hopkins University Press, 1996) 240.
Bibliography
Sechzer, Jeri A., Sheila M. Pfaffilin, Florence L. Denmark, Anne Griffin, and
Susan J. Blumenthal, eds. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore: Jones,
Hopkins University Press, 1996.
More than 10 editors: List first 7 editors followed by et al.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Schzer et al. 1996, 240)
Reference List
Sechzer, Jeri A., Sheila M. Pfaffilin, Florence L. Denmark, Anne Griffin, and
Susan J. Blumenthal, eds. 1996. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore:
Jones Hopkins University Press.
Author Plus Editor
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
18. Jane Austin, Persuasion: An Annotated Edition, ed. Robert Morrison.
(Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2011), 311-12.
Bibliography
Austin, Jane. Persuasion: An Annotated Edition. Edited by Robert Morrison.
Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2011.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Austen 2011, 311-12)
Reference List
Austin, Jane. 2011. Persuasion: An Annotated Edition. Edited by Robert Morrison.
Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press.
Author Plus Translator
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
22. Sergei Eisenstein, Film Sense, trans. Jay Leyda (London: Faber and Faber,
1968), 14-15.
Bibliography
Eisenstein, Sergei. Film Sense. Translated by Jay Leyda. London: Faber and Faber,
1968.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Eisenstein 1968, 14-15)
Reference List
Eisenstein, Sergei. 1968. Film Sense. Translated by Jay Leyda. London: Faber
and Faber.
Organization as Author
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
52. American Bar Association, The 2010 Federal Rules Book (Chicago: American
Bar Association, 2010), 221.
Bibliography
American Bar Association, The 2010 Federal Rules Book. Chicago: American Bar
Association, 2010.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(American Bar Association 2010, 221)
Reference List
American Bar Association. 2010. The 2010 Federal Rules Book. Chicago: American
Bar Association.
Author & Editor for Each Volume of Multivolume Set
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
40. Barbara E. Mundy, "Mesoamerican Cartography," in The History of Cartography,
ed. J. Brian Harley and David Woodward, vol. 2, bk. 3, Cartography in the
Traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian, and Pacific Societies, ed.
David Woodward and G. Malcolm Lewis (Chicago: University of Chicago Press,
1998), 233.
Bibliography
Harley, Brian, and David Woodward, eds. The History of Cartography, vol. 2, bk.
3, Cartography in the Traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian, and
Pacific Societies, edited by David Woodward and G. Malcolm Lewis. Chicago:
University of Chicago Press, 1998.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Mundy & Woodward 1998, 233)
Reference List
Harley, Brian, and David Woodward, eds. 1998. The History of Cartography, vol.
2, bk. 3, Cartography in the Traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian,
and Pacific Societies. Edited by David Woodward and G. Malcolm Lewis.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
One Author Quoting Another
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
15. Louis Zukofsky, "Sincerity and Objectification," Poetry 37 (February 1931):
269, quoted in Bonnie Costello, Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions (Cambridge,
MA: Harvard University Press, 1981), 78.
Bibliography
Zukofsky, Louis. "Sincerity and Objectification." Poetry 37 (February 1931): 269.
Quoted in Bonnie Costello, Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions. Cambridge,
MA: Harvard University Press, 1981.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(quoted in Zukofsky 1981, 78)
Reference List
Costello, Bonnie. 1981. Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions. Cambridge,
MA: Harvard University Press.