Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: Chicago

    Interview

Chicago Manual 14.211-213; 15.53

  See examples below for:

 

     Published Interview

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
           7. McGeorge Bundy, interview by Robert MacNeil, MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour,
       PBS, February 7, 1990.

       Bibliography
       Usually not cited in bibliography.

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Bundy 1990)     

       Reference List
       Bundy, McGeorge. 1990. Interview by Robert MacNeil. MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour.
           PBS (February 7).

   Unpublished Interview

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
           7. David Shields, interview by author, Seattle, February 15, 2011.   

       Bibliography
       Usually not cited in bibliography.

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Shields 2011)     

       Reference List
       Shields, David. 2011. Interview by author. Seattle, February 15.

   Unattributed Interview

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
           10. Interview with a health care worker, March 23, 2010.

       Bibliography      
       Usually not cited in bibliography.

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Interview with a health care worker, March 23, 2010)

       Reference List
       Usually not cited in reference list.