Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: Chicago

     Court Decision

      Chicago Manual 14.277-279

 See examples below for:

 

US Supreme Court

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
               21. AT&T Corp. v. Iowa Utilities Bd., 525 US 366 (1999).

       Bibliography
      
Usually not cited in bibliography.


Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (AT&T v. Iowa Utilities 1999)

       Reference List
       AT&T Corp. v. Iowa Utilities Bd. 525 US 366 (1999).

       Lower Federal Court

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
               3. United States v. Dennis, 183 F. 201 (2d Cir. 1950).  

       Bibliography
      
Usually not cited in bibliography.


Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (United States v. Dennis 1950)      

       Reference List
       United States v. Dennis. 183 F. 201 (2d Cir. 1950).

State or Local Court

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
               6. Williams v. Davis, 27 Cal. 2d 746 (1946).

       Bibliography
      
Usually not cited in bibliography.


Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Williams v. Davis 1946)   

       Reference List
       Williams v. Davis. 27 Cal. 2d 746 (1946).