Encyclopedia or Dictionary
Chicago Manual 14.232-234
See examples below for:
Encyclopedia
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
16. Encyclopedia Britannica (Dec. 4, 2018), s.v. "Sibelius, Jean," http://www
.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/542563/Jean-Sibelius.
Bibliography
Not needed for well-known encyclopedias
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Encyclopedia Britannica, s.v. "Sibelius, Jean," accessed April 13, 2011,
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/542563/Jean-Sibelius])
Reference List
Not needed for well-known encyclopedias
Encyclopedia with Author-Cited Article
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
3. Meliss Isaacson, "Bulls," in Encyclopedia of Chicago, edited by Janice L.
Reiff, Ann Durkin Keating, and James R. Grossman (Chicago Historical Society,
2005). http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/pages/184.html.
Bibliography
Isaacson, Meliss, "Bulls." In Encyclopedia of Chicago, edited by Janice L. Reiff,
Ann Durkin Keating, and James R. Grossman. Chicago Historical Society,
2005. http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/pages/184.html.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Isaacson 2005)
Reference List
Isaacson, Meliss. 2005. "Bulls." In Encyclopedia of Chicago, edited by Janice L.
Ann Durkin Keating, and James R. Grossman. Chicago Historical Society.
Reiff. http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/pages/184.html.
Dictionary
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
15. Oxford English Dictionary, s.v. "mondegreen," Dec. 2018, http://www.oed
.com/view/Entry/251801.
Bibliography
Not needed for well-known dictionaries
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. "mondegreen," accessed February 1,
2012, http://www.oed.com/view/Entry/251801)
Reference List
Not needed for well-known dictionaries
Dictionary with Author-Cited Article
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
10. Richard Middleton, "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)," in Oxford Dictionary of
National Biography (Oxford University Press, 2019), http://www.oxforddnb.com/view
/10.1093/ref:odnb/9780198614128.001.0001/odnb-9780198614128-e-31351.
Bibliography
Middleton, Richard. "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)." In Oxford Dictionary of
National Biography. Oxford University Press, 2019. http://www.oxforddnb
.com/view/10.1093/ref:odnb/9780198614128.001.0001/odnb-9780198614128
-e-31351.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Middleton 2019)
Reference List
Middleton, Richard. 2019. "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)." In Oxford Dictionary
of National Biography. Oxford University Press, 2019. http://www.oxforddnb.com
/view/10.1093/ref:odnb/9780198614128.001.0001/odnb-9780198614128-e
-31351.