Newspaper Article
Chicago Manual 14.191-200; 15.49
See examples below for:
Article from Print Newspaper
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
10. Christopher O. Ward. Letter to the editor, New York Times, March 24,
2011, New York Edition.
Bibliography
Ward, Christopher O. Letter to the editor, New York Times, March 24. New York
Edition, 2011.
Author-Date Style
Parenthetical Note
(Ward 2011)
Reference List
Ward, Christopher O. 2011. Letter to the editor, New York Times, March 24.
New York Edition.
Newspaper Article from Database
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
5. Mark Lepage, "Armageddon, Apocalypse, the Rapture: People Have Been
Predicting the End since the Beginning," Gazette (Montreal), May 21, 2011, Nexis
Uni.
Bibliography
Lepage, Mark. "Armageddon, Apocalypse, the Rapture: People Have Been
Predicting the End since the Beginning." Gazette (Montreal), May 21, 2011.
Nexix Uni.
Author-Date Style
Parenthetical Note
(Lepage 2011)
Reference List
Lepage, Mark. 2011. "Armageddon, Apocalypse, the Rapture: People Have Been
Predicting the End since the Beginning." Gazette (Montreal), May 21. Nexix Uni.
Newspaper Article from Internet
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
8. Associated Press, "Ex-IMF Chief Returns Home to France," USA Today,
September 4, 2011, http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/story/2011-09-04/
Ex-IMF-chief-returns-to-France/50254614/1.
Bibliography
Associated Press. "Ex-IMF Chief Returns Home to France," USA Today,
September 4, 2011. http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/story/2011-09-04
/Ex-IMF-chief-returns-to-France/50254614/1.
Author-Date Style
Parenthetical Note
(Associated Press 2011)
Reference List
Associated Press. 2011. "Ex-IMF Chief Returns Home to France," USA Today,
September 4. http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/story/2011-09-04/Ex-IMF
-chief-returns-to-France/50254614/1.
Newspaper Article from Regular Column
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
19. Marc Jaffe, "Finding Love in Seesawing Libidos," Modern Love, New York
Times, March 6, 2015.
Bibliography
Jaffe, Marc. "Finding Love in Seesawing Libidos." Modern Love. New York Times,
March 6, 2015.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Jaffe 2015)
Reference List
Jaffe, Marc. 2015. "Finding Love in Seesawing Libidos." Modern Love. New York
Times, March 6.
Editorial Newspaper Article
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
2. Phillip Morris, "Father John Kumse and His Hens Aren’t Going Anywhere,"
editorial, December 31, 2018, https://www.cleveland.com/morris/2018/12/father
-john-kumse-and-his-hens-arent-going-anywhere-phillip-morris.html.
Bibliography
Morris, Phillip. "Father John Kumse and His Hens Aren’t Going Anywhere."
Editorial. December 31, 2018. https://www.cleveland.com/morris/2018/12
/father-john-kumse-and-his-hens-arent-going-anywhere-phillip-morris.html.
Author-Date Style
Parenthetical Note
(Associated Press 2011)
Reference List
Morris, Phillip. 2018. "Father John Kumse and His Hens Aren’t Going Anywhere."
Editorial. December 31. https://www.cleveland.com/morris/2018/12/father
-john-kumse-and-his-hens-arent-going-anywhere-phillip-morris.html.
Letter to the Editor
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
2. Maxine Greene, letter to the editor, Xenia Gazette, October 12, 2016.
Bibliography
Greene, Maxine. Letter to the editor. Xenia Gazette, October 12, 2016.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Greene 2016)
Reference List
Greene, Maxine. 2016. Letter to the editor. Xenia Gazette, October 12.