Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: Chicago

    Bible or Classical Book

     Chicago Manual 14.238-252

See examples below for:

 

    Bible

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
           4. John 5:39-40 (New Revised Standard Version).   

       Bibliography
       Not needed for Bible references

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (John 5:39-40 New Revised Standard Version

       Reference List
       Not needed for Bible references

                       Classical Book without Bibliographic Entry

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
           6. Cicero, In Verrem 2.1.21, 2.3.120.

       Bibliography
       Not needed for classical book unless editions differ in wording, line numbering,

       or scene divisions

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Cicero, In Verrem 2.1.21, 2.3.120)

       Reference List
       Not needed for classical book unless editions differ in wording, line numbering,
       or scene divisions

Classical Book with Bibliographic Entry

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
           3. Shakespeare, Hamlet, act 2, scene 1.

       Bibliography
       Shakespeare, William. Hamlet. Edited by Ann Thompson and Neil Taylor.
Arden
           Shakespeare 3. London: Arden Shakepeare, 2006. 

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Shakespeare, Hamlet, act 2, scene 1.)    

       Reference List
       Shakespeare, William. 2006. Hamlet. Edited by Ann Thompson and Neil Taylor.
           Arden Shakespeare 3. London: Arden Shakepeare.