Social Media
Chicago Manual 14.205-206, 209, 214; 15.52-53
See examples below for:
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
13. Comment on Sarah Palin's Facebook page, April 1, 2011, 3:21 p.m.,
https://www.facebook.com/sarahpalin.
Bibliography
Usually not cited in bibliography.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Comment on Sarah Palin's Facebook page 2011)
Reference List
Comment on Sarah Palin's Facebook page. 2011. Facebook, April 1, 2011.
https://www.facebook.com/sarahpalin.
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
12. Obama for America (@OFA). Twitter, September 4, 2011, 6:53 a.m.,
https://www.twitter.com/barackobama.
Bibliography
Usually not cited in bibliography.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Obama for America 2011)
Reference List
Obama for America (@OFA). 2011. Twitter, September 4, 2011, 6:53 a.m.
https://www.twitter.com/barackobama.
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
16. National Geographic (@natgeo), “Photo of Bering Sea by Corey Arnold,”
Instagram photo, April 2, 2017, http://www.instagram.com/p/BSaisVuDk7S/?taken
-by+natgeo.
Bibliography
Usually not cited in bibliography.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(National Geographic 2017)
Reference List
National Geographic (@natgeo). 2017. “Photo of Bering Sea by Corey Arnold.”
Instagram photo, April 2, 2017. http://www.instagram.com/p/BSaisVuDk7S
/?taken-by+natgeo)
Text
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
3. Joseph Black, text message to author, April 23, 2012.
Bibliography
Usually not cited in bibliography.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Joseph Black, text message to author, April 23, 2012)
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.