Congressional Document
Chicago Manual 14.281-287
See examples below for:
Debate
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
17. Senator Kennedy of Massachusetts, speaking for the Joint Resolution
on Nuclear Weapons Freeze and Reductions, on March 10, 1982, to the Committee
on Foreign Relations, SJ Res. 163, 97th Cong., 1st sess., Cong. Rec. 128, pt.
3: 3832-34.
Bibliography
US Congress. Congressional Record. 97th Cong., 1st sess., 1982. Vol. 128, pt. 3.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
Cited in text or in the following format as a supplementary footnote or
endnote
1. US Congress. Congressional Record. 1982. 97th Cong., 1st sess., Vol. 128,
pt. 3: 3832-34.
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.
Report or Document
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
13. Select Committee on Homeland Security, Homeland Security Act of
2002, 107th Cong., 2d sess., 2002, HR Rep. 107-609, pt. 1, 11-12.
Bibliography
US Congress. House. Select Committee on Homeland Security. Homeland
Security Act of 2002. 107th Cong., 2d sess., 2002. HR Rep. 107-609,
pt. 1.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
Cited in text or in the following format as a supplementary footnote or
endnote
3. US Congress, House, 2002, Select Committee on Homeland Security,
Homeland Security Act of 2002, 107th Cong., 2d sess., 2002, HR Rep. 107-609,
pt. 1, 11-12.
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.
Bill or Resolution
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
6. Save and Accurate Food Labeling Act of 2015, H.R. 1599, 114th Cong.
(2015).
Bibliography
Usually not cited in bibliography.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
Cited in text or in the following format as a supplementary footnote or
endnote
10. Save and Accurate Food Labeling Act of 2015, 2015, H.R. 1599, 114th
Cong.
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.
Hearing
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
13. Hearing before the Select Committee on Homeland Security, HR 5005,
Homeland Security Act of 2002, day 3, 107th Cong., 2d sess., July 17, 2002,
119-20.
Bibliography
US Congress. House. Hearing before the Select Committee on Homeland Security.
HR 5005. Homeland Security Act of 2002, day 3, 107th Cong., 2d sess.,
July 17,2002.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
Cited in text or in the following format as a supplementary footnote or
endnote
21. US Congress.House, 2002, Hearing before the Select Committee on
Homeland Security, HR 5005, Homeland Security Act of 2002, day 3, 107th
Cong., 2d sess., July 17, 119-20.
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.
Law or Statute
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
18. Homeland Security Acts of 2002, Pub. L. No. 107-296, 116 Stat. 2135 (2012).
Bibliography
Usually not cited in bibliography.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
Cited in text or in the following format as a supplementary footnote or
endnote:
9. Homeland Security Acts of 2002, Public Law 107-296, US Statutes at Large
f116 (2002): 2163-64, Codified at US Code 6 (2002), §§ 101 et seq., 2163-64.
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.
Legal Case
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
11. Fyodor Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment, trans. Constance Garnett.
(Project Gutenberg, 2011), pt. 6, chap. 1, accessed September 13, 2011,
http://gutenberg.org/files/2554/2554-h/2554-h.htm.
Bibliography
Dostoevsky, Fyodor. Crime and Punishment. Translated by Constance Garnett.
(Project Gutenberg, 2011), pt. 6, chap. 1, accessed September 13, 2011,
http://gutenberg.org/files/2554/2554-h/2554-h.htm.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
Cited in text or in the following format as a supplementary footnote or endnote:
3. Fyodor Dostoevsky, 2011, Crime and Punishment. translated by Constance
Garnett, Project Gutenberg, pt. 6, chap. 1. Accessed September 13, 2011,
http://gutenberg.org/files/2554/2554-h/2554-h.htm.
Reference List
Usually not cited in reference list.