Title
Chicago Manual 14.85-99, 116-126; 15.38-39
See examples below for:
Title
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
1. T. Hugh Pennington, When Food Kills: BSE, E coli, and Disaster Science
(New York: Oxford University Press, 2003): 15.
Reference List
Pennington, T. Hugh. When Food Kills: BSE, E coli, and Disaster Science. New
York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Pennington 2003, 15)
Reference List
Pennington, T. Hugh. 2003. When Food Kills: BSE, E coli, and Disaster Science.
New York: Oxford University Press.
Date in Title
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
5. Romain Hayes, Subhas Chandra Base in Nazi Germany: Politics, Intelligence,
and Propaganda, 1941-43 (New York: Columbia University Press, 2011), 151-52.
Bibliography
Hayes, Romain. Subhas Chandra Base in Nazi Germany: Politics, Intelligence, and
Propaganda, 1941-43. New York: Columbia University Press, 2011.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Hayes 2011, 151-52)
Reference List
Hayes, Romain. 2011. Subhas Chandra Base in Nazi Germany: Policitcs, Intelligence,
and Propaganda, 1941-43. New York: Columbia University Press.
Multivolume Book as a Whole
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
27. Aristotle, Complete Works of Aristotle: The Revised Oxford Translation,
ed. J. Barnes, 2 vols. (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1983).
Bibliography
Aristotle, Complete Works of Aristotle: The Revised Oxford Translation. Edited
by J. Barnes. 2 vols. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1983.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Aristotle 1983, 1:1002)
Reference List
Aristotle. 1983. Complete Works of Aristotle: The Revised Oxford Translation.
Edited by J. Barnes. 2 vols. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.
Specific Volume of Multivolume Set
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
36. Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of Chicago
Press, 1981), 4:243.
Bibliography
Byrne, Muriel St. Clare, ed., The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of Chicago
Press, 1981).
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Byrne 1981, 4:243)
Reference List
Byrne, Muriel St. Clare, ed. 1981. The Lisle Letters. Vols. 1 and 4. Chicago:
University of Chicago Press.
Multivolume Set Individually Titled
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
10. Chen Jian, "China and the Cold War after Mao," in The Cambridge History
of the Cold War, ed. Melvyn P. Leffler and Odd Arne Westad (Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 2010), 169-71.
Subsequent Footnotes or Endnotes
12. Jian, "China and the Cold War," 171.
Bibliography
Jian, Chen. "China and the Cold War after Mao." In Endings, ed. Melvyl P. Leffler
and Odd Arne Westad, 181-200. Vol. 3 of The Cambridge History of the Cold
War. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Jian, 2010, 160-71)
Subsequent Parenthetical Notes
(Jian 2010, 171)
Reference List
Jian, Chen. 2010. "China and the Cold War after Mao." In Endings, ed. Melvyl P.
Leffler and Odd Arne Westad, 181-200. Vol. 3 of The Cambridge History of the
Cold War. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Series Title
Notes-Bibliography Style
1st Footnote or Endnote
1. Douglas J. E. Nykolaishen, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther, Teach the Text
Commentary Series (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 2018), 290.
Bibliography
Nykolaishen, Douglas J. E., ed. Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther. Teach the Text
Commentary Series. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 2018.
Author-Date Style
1st Parenthetical Note
(Nykolaishen 2018, 290)
Reference List
Nykolaishen, Douglas J. E., ed. 2018. Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther. Teach the
Text Commentary Series. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books.