Subject Guide: Literature

Offers a provocative look at some of Western civilization's most infamous authors and their literary works and shows how these works have inflicted great evil in the world and still cause suffering.

Comprehensive list of mood-altering stories

Recounts the story of Rome's legendary origins from the ashes of Troy and proclaims her destiny of world dominion.

Tells the story of Rome's founding by the Trojan prince Aeneas after many years of travel, and it contains many of the most famous stories about the Trojan War.

Tells the legendary story of Aeneas, a Trojan who travelled to Italy, where he became the ancestor of the Romans.

Provides literary history and biographical notes to show the crucial role women played in 19th-century French poetry and to explain why they were criticized and often eclipsed.

Studies on ancient (especially Latin) poetry and historiography that focuses especially on the impact of rhetoric on both genres and on the importance of the literature illuminating the historical Roman context and the historical context illuminating the literature.

Recounts how the work of 19th-century legal historians actually influenced the editing of Old English texts, most notably Beowulf, in ways that are still preserved in our editions.

Discusses the use of drama as an intertext in the work of the 2nd century Latin author Apuleius, who wrote the only complete extant Latin novel, the Metamorphoses, in which a young man is turned into a donkey by magic.

Guide to nearly 800 award-winning historical fiction for Kindergarten through 8th grade will assist all parties in the selection of high quality literature.

Presents a wide-ranging look at how whiteness-defined in terms of race or ethnicity-forms a category toward which people strive in order to gain power and privilege.

First full study of the autobiography, examining both the conditions and the practice of autobiographical writing in Romantic literature.

Combines close literary analysis of Bacchylides' poetry with detailed discussion of the central role poetry played in a variety of differing political contexts throughout Greece in the early fifth century BC.

Reading guide and selection tool for 12,000 fiction and nonfiction teen titles published from 2001 to 2003

Covers over 14,000 titles of some classics, but mostly published between late 1999 and 2003.

Offers a series of detailed and challenging interpretations of some of the most defining authors and texts in the history of ancient Greek poetics

Uses diverse authors to show how the wit, wisdom, and enchantment of the written word can inform and enrich nearly every aspect of life, from education and work to love and death.

Exploring children's classics from many eras and relating them to the authors who wrote them.

Introduces the surviving fragments of Lewis's translation of Virgil's epic poem, which were rescued from a bonfire.

Highlights the energy, variety, and inventiveness of the literature written in response to events in France and the political reaction at home from 1789 to 1799.

Seeks to recover the lives and particular experiences of medieval women by concentrating on various kinds of texts.

Examines all four verse continuations that follow Chrétien's unfinished Grail story, a powerful site of rewriting from the late 12th through the 15th centuries.

Reviews and critiques the works of many Christian authors who created mythological stories.

Examines all four verse continuations that follow Chrétien's unfinished Grail story.

Investigates literary texts, documentary texts, and material culture, spanning the Greek and Roman worlds to address the basic questions of when civil war began in Rome and when it ended.

Surveys the history of poetics and provides an introduction and brief biography for each reading.

Introduces nearly 90 of the world's most entertaining classic books.

Presents a wide range of Latin poetry and focuses on the Augustan texts and their language and literary texture.

Invites the reader to consider Roman comedy in the light of history and Roman history in the light of comedy.

Provides a fundamental grounding in Greek tragedy and introduces the various methodologies and the lively critical dialogue that characterize the study of Greek tragedy today.

Covers important topics in the study of literature and film adaptations and the relationship between world literature and film.

Brings together elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art.

Explores the genre of love elegy through 33 original essays that offer new and innovative approaches to specific elegists and the discipline as a whole.

Uses the study of the writings of men and women in the 17th century to argues that theoretical exclusion of women from the political sphere shaped their relation to it.

Investigates both the literary history of Pasiphae, Ariadne, and Phaedra (the Greek roots, the interactions between Roman versions) and their cultural resonance.

Provides an overview of developments of French children literature from the 17th century to the present day.

Covers poetry from over 40 countries and the history of poetry from antiquity to the 21st century.

Collection of conversations regarding the development and future of the literary canon.

The reading habits, intellectual development, and contributions of the cultural giants of the 20th century are traced.

Shows how gender bias affected what counted as more valuable among Latin and other clerical modes of literacy and vernacular forms of speech and demonstrates how debates about female literacy were critical to the emergence of imperial nations.

John Updike's 6th collection of literary biographies and essays on various topics.

Includes earliest Christian works from the 1st to the beginnings of the medieval period along with respected contemporary writings.

Concise information on known and little-known European women writers.

Comprehensive guide to the literary works, writers, concepts, and terms of the era spanning the years 500 to 1500 from Europe, China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and elsewhere.

Comprehensive information about the literary works, writers, and concepts of literature from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE in Europe, China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, the New World, Africa, and Oceania.

Investigates the scene of debate or agon in which with varying degrees of formality characters square up to each other and engage in a contest of words-and sets out for the first time to trace its changing representations through Homeric epic, historiography and tragedy.

Discusses Eupolis' career, redates the plays, examines how Eupolis was known in the ancient world, explores his relationship with Aristophanes (as both rival and collaborator), and delineates the distinct nature of the comedy that this prizewinning poet created.

Highlights Wayne Booth's contributions to literary and rhetorical studies.

Contains 75 Fables in original French with new English line-for-line literal translations.

Excerpts more than 200 feminist primary source documents from Africa to Asia to the Americas to Australia.

Addresses the wider issues of transferring any piece of theatre from a source into a target language.

Analyzes the shrewd perceptions about human life, and especially human language, that emerge from the rich tradition of beast literature.

Presents thematic groupings of titles built around current young adult literature for use in bridging to the classics.

Demonstrates that Chrétien, who is credited with inventing the modern novel, and his contemporaries learned the importance of translation from the Mediterranean-centered classical tradition.

Analyzes the function of humor in the Roman satirists Horace, Persius, and Juvenal.

Reassesses some of the premises and nature of Plautus' comedies.

Argues that the rich range of complex poetical texts in c.39-19 BC in Rome was the way in which different poetic genres or kinds interacted with each other and that that interaction itself was a prominent literary subject.

Describes the ideological, intellectual, and literary role of ghost stories in early modern French culture.

Examines the specific connections between contemporary cultural meta-narratives (the stories humans typically tell about themselves) and the ideas of hope found in Christianity.

Evaluates Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, the Bronte sisters, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville, G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, Mark Twain, and Ralph Ellison from an orthodox Christian perspective.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Includes excerpts from 30 of the greatest works in western literature and essays about those works written by distinguished professors, lecturers, and authors.

Asserts that it was the theatre of Ancient Greece, first appearing around 500 BC, that prompted the development of formalized rhetoric, which evolved soon thereafter.

One of the finest Hellenists of the second half of the 20th century deals mainly with Greek lyric poetry (Stesichorus, Pindar, Bacchylides) and Tragedy.

Discusses every surviving ancient Greek tragedy play in detail and provides all the background information necessary for understanding the context and content of the plays.

Introduces ancient Greek drama, which flourished principally in Athens from the sixth century BC to the third century BC.

Argues that tragedy is a medium that fuses the conceptual with the provoking and exciting of emotion, neither of which can be ignored if the texts are to be fully understood.

Celebrates Martin West's achievement with 25 papers on different areas of Greek poetry which he has illuminated.

Investigates the relationship between the chorus of Greek tragedy and other types of choral song in Greek society.

Examines the span of Spanish and Latin American arts.

Convincingly shows that our best allies in the struggle for more rigorous thinking, deeper faith, richer experience, and greater peace of mind may well be the imaginative writings sitting on our shelves.

Practical and amusing guide to literature and explores major themes, literary models, narrative devices, and form.

Addresses these intriguing questions as What makes a work of literature good or bad? How freely can the reader interpret it? Could a nursery rhyme like Baa Baa Black Sheep be full of concealed loathing, resentment, and aggression?

Offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts.

Argues that the significance of Coetzee's fiction lies in the acuity with which it both explores and develops the tradition of the novel as part of a sustained attempt to rethink the relationship between writing and politics.

Tracks the evolution of Modernism from its emergence in the late 19th century to its recent incarnations.

Paints a picture of the Russia through its most important literary sites, including the works of Tolstoy, Bulgakov, Pushkin, and Mayakovsky.

Collection of psychoanalytic readings of literary texts and literary readings of psychoanalytic texts.

Examines eight contemporary novels from eight cultures.

Profiles the censorship of many essential works of literature.

Provides an introduction to the process and art of literature-to-film adaptations.

Explores the ability of dense and formally interesting literature to respond to the complexities of modern life.

Give extensive background information of Greek tragedy drama.

Offers a new critical examination of the complex and mutually-sustaining relationship between literature and science - and, more broadly, art and nature - in the early modern period.

Offers analysis of Stael's life and mentality.

Overviews the historical, political, and cultural background of Greek drama and provides detailed discussions of 10 widely studied plays.

Examines the Russian literary circle, a feature of Russian intellectual and cultural life from tsarist times into the early Soviet period, through the life story of the poet Maximilian Voloshin.

Combines a close fidelity to Ovid's text with verse that catches the speed and liveliness of the original.

Provides a critical discussion of ancient definitions of allegory and metaphor as merely ornamental 'tropes' and examines metaphor and allegory from a variety of perspectives and compare theory with ancient literary practice.

Traces the evolution of what the diaries reveal as Gladstone's central intellectual preoccupations, theology and classical scholarship,as well as the groundwork of his early Conservatism and his mature Liberalism.

Reinterprets Stendhal's metaphor and tracks the different worlds of a wide array of 20th-century writers.

A study of mock-epic poetry in English, French, and German from the 1720s to the 1840s.

Uses German writing since 1750 to study literature as a cultural and spiritual resource in modern societies.

Uses readings of prose and poetry from both the U. S. and abroad to highlight the variety of ways modernist writers represented the quotidian details of modern life, even during times of political crisis and war.

Discusses modernist poetics and explores the peculiarities of the American literary field.

Tells how classic literature inspired Christian authors.

Offers an accessible account of some of the most common metrical shapes in Roman poetry, and explains how the poets can exploit them to support, supplement, or indeed drive the meaning of the poems they carry.

Discusses all the key ancient sources for pantomime and includes an appendix of selected source texts with translations keyed to the essays.

Tells of over 500 literary locales across the United States and Europe.

Combines three different versions of the tragedy of the house of Atreus - A iskhylos' Agamemnon, Sophokles' Elektra and Euripides' Orestes.

Tells the story of how a classic like the Aeneidcan say different things to different people.

Provides a new reading of Metamorphoses, examining the text in light of circumstances surrounding the final years of Augustusrsquo's reign.

Guide to the classical world and its literary heritage.

Offers a radical revision of the Greek myth of the first woman and argues that Pandora embodies the very idea of the ancient literary text.

Compares the writings of Joseph Conrad, Jean Rhys, and Pramoedya Ananta Toer.

Explores the interrelation of religion, cultural identity, politics, literature, myth, and memory by focusing on the cultural dynamics embedded in and surrounding Philostratus’s Heroikos, an early third-century C.E. dialogue about Homer and the heroes of the Trojan War.

Argues that comic impossibility should not be ignored in political readings or, conversely, used as a reason for excluding comedy from political interventions.

Examines how six female authors employed images of daily life to depict women's experience in Russian culture from the 1960s to the present.

Journeys through The Divine Comedy to discover what Dante reveals about love in his literary masterpiece.

Seeks ways to isolate, characterize, and release the female voice and experience within Ovid's male-authored text.

Focues on the role of the acts of reading depicted in Proust's novel, A la recherche du temps perdu.

Examines what it means to return to works of fiction that have influenced us.

Provides some of the cultural context that readers need to know in order to understand medieval literature, such as the religious orientation of the people.

Clusters the work of five masters - Anton Chekhov, James Joyce, Ernest Hemingway, Flannery O'Connor, and Raymond Carver - to offer a poetics of the form for students and scholars.

Interprets the last century of the Roman republic on the assumption that the People had a coherent political ideology of its own, and that the People, with their belief in justified murder, were responsible for the breakdown of the republic in civil war.

Explores how well-known women writers have influenced us in our writing and in life.

Provides a comprehensive, conceptually challenging history of Russian literature, including prose, poetry and drama.

Analyzes several key works that mark the most significant phases in the early evolution of science fiction.

Tells of 13 screenwriters who are internationally renowned and respected for their skill at delineating plot and capturing character make them.

Identifies a Virgil who speaks in female tones of the anxieties, exclusions pleasures and threats of the contemporary world.

Present six key modernist poem in the light of emergent modernism.

Captures and examines sociological insights in 32 essays that discuss scholars and writers not normally associated with any sociological school of thought.

Offers both a detailed biography and a comprehensive appraisal of the literary achievement of Solzhenitsyn.

Provides an overview of each of the major poets, dramatists, prose stylists, and historians of ancient Greece and Rome.

Brings together 14 studies on Aristophanes and his fellow comic dramatists, some of which have not previously appeared in print.

Collection of studies about various aspects of ancient Greek tragedy.

Brings the latest scholarship to bear on the contexts, theory, and practice of the use, and abuse, of the texts, ideas, images, and material culture of ancient Greece and Rome.

Explores different ways we can understand the relationship between the real, social world in which the Athenians lived and the theatrical roles that they invented.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Essays on Sendak, Steig, Gorey, L. Frank Baum, Tomi Ungerer, Jack Keats, Margot Zemach, and Ursula Nordstrom that show the integration of text and image, the abilities of authors and artists of picture books to somehow change our perceptions.

Argues for a relationship between Thucydides and Pindar.

Explores the modernist commitment to "unknowing" by addressing the work of three supreme experimental writers: Franz Kafka, Marcel Proust, and William Faulkner.

Several of today's finest writers introduce little-known treasures of literature that they count among their favorite books.

Examines novels of youth by Oscar Wilde, Olive Schreiner, Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, and Elizabeth Bowen that cast doubt on the ideology of progress through the figure of stunted or endless adolescence.

Examines the 12 mythological and secular Virgilian centos that survive from antiquity.

A humorous tour through the Western literary canon.

Collection of 14 essays and six short responses that reconsiders Greek tragedy as a reflection of Athenian political culture.

Presents a bite-sized piece of literary history that looks at the origins and composition of 50 well-known pieces of literature.

Addresses women's relationship to culture between the 1st century B.C. and the 18th century A.D. by studying women's poetry in Latin.

Collection of a wide variety of works by Spanish women writers of the 16th and 17th centuries.

Offers an in-depth study of the role of literary revision in the compositional practices and representational strategies of Roman authors at the end of the republic and the beginning of the principate.

Helps students and researchers make connections between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves.

Analyzes the writings of five late medieval Castilian nuns who preceded Saint Teresa as authors, mystics, and individuals reacting to individual circumstances.

Presents the 25 most spiritually influential and important books for Christians to read.

Explores the cultural consequences of the rather sudden 19th century emergence of unbelief as a widespread social and intellectual option in the English-speaking world.

Includes a description of the manuscript, complete textual and explanatory notes, and a detailed critical introduction that explains the place of Tolkien's Anglo-Saxon scholarship in his book, Beowulf and the Critics.

Uses diverse authors to show how the wit, wisdom, and enchantment of the written word can inform and enrich nearly every aspect of life, from education and work to love and death.

Tours the great literary works of the ages from a Christian perspective.

Seeks to recover the lives and particular experiences of medieval women by concentrating on various kinds of texts.

Great works and authors of the world are introduced and reviewed artistically, intellectually, and theologically.

Looks at Prudentius' lyric poems, the Cathemerinon, Poems for the Day, which were published early in the 5th century AD.

Shows how gender bias affected what counted as more valuable among Latin and other clerical modes of literacy and vernacular forms of speech and demonstrates how debates about female literacy were critical to the emergence of imperial nations.

Includes earliest Christian works from the 1st to the beginnings of the medieval period along with respected contemporary writings.

Introduces readers to the great narratives of classical mythology from a Christian perspective.

Examines the specific connections between contemporary cultural meta-narratives (the stories humans typically tell about themselves) and the ideas of hope found in Christianity.

A journey through 2 1/2 millennia of classical books as powerful, thrilling, erotic, politically astute, and awe-inspiring as any modern bestseller.

Includes excerpts from 30 of the greatest works in western literature and essays about those works written by distinguished professors, lecturers, and authors.

Equips readers to become better writers by introducing quality writing with over 60 classic and contemporary selections from numerous writers.

Focuses on Christian theology and post-1800 British literature, but also refers to earlier writers, texts from North America and mainland Europe, and other faith positions.

Examines each of Latin epics in detail, showing how the three authors Juvencus, Sedulius, and Arator repackage the New Testament as epic, and try to make a bridge between two very different cultures.

Covers over 500 classic and contemporary works of Christian fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama, providing a plot summary, analysis of Christian themes, and an annotated bibliography for each title.

Systematically grounds Augustine's theological reception in the history of reading and the material culture of books and manuscripts, offers a cross-confessional account of Augustine's appropriation in early modern Europe, and and provides crucial insight into the nature of intellectual authority in the early modern period.

Provides some of the cultural context that readers need to know in order to understand medieval literature, such as the religious orientation of the people.

Considers the development of modernism in the novel in relation to changing attitudes to religion.

Provides a comprehensive, conceptually challenging history of Russian literature, including prose, poetry and drama.

Explores the lives of four Catholic women, Dorothea of Montau, Margery Kempe of Lynn, Mary Ward of Yorkshire, and Elizabeth Cary of Drury Lane, and the fate of their writings.

Addresses the ways literature and theory have engaged with literary criticism, philosophy, and history and related concerns.

Explores Dostoevsky's critique and exploitation of the jury trial for his own ideological agenda, both in his journalism and his fiction, contextualizing his portrayal of trials and trial participants in the political, social, and ideological milieu of his time.

Engages the field of Gospel studies over the last hundred years, arguing convincingly for viewing the Gospels as biographical documents of the sort common throughout the Graeco-Roman world.